We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, relaxing and immaculate hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A friendly, relaxing and immaculate hotel.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our week spent at Cordial Mogan Playa was super. Although a 5minute stroll to the beach & pretty marina area with its inviting restaurants, the hotel's pool and immaculate garden environment provided a relaxing and peaceful area. The restaurant provided an excellent choice of self-service menu. Our room was a 'smaller' one as we had changed from a larger garden view room so that we could have one facing the pool which got some late afternoon sun-for our G&T on the balcony. All the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Guess we will be returning for a week of winter sun, or maybe longer, next year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dilzeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    792
    151
    28
    12
See reviews for
1,076
2,359
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just back from a week at the Mogan Playa. It is a huge hotel with nearly 500 rooms and not what we would normally go for, but we wanted a bit of winter sun, not too far from the UK so we thought we would give Puerto Mogan and the Cordial a try. We can only agree with the vast majority of reviews on here, it really is a first rate hotel. We opted for a standard double room and were surprised at how spacious it was, with seats and tables both in the room and on the balcony and more storage space than we needed. We also opted for half board and were again impressed by the range of food provided at breakfast and for dinner. The only downside was having to to choose between a 1800 or 2015 sitting for dinner. It wouldn't be right to to leave this review without mentioning the staff, who were without exception very friendly and efficient. Just watching them at breakfast or dinner was tiring !

The guests last week were predominately Scandinavian with a sprinkling of Brits and Germans and even some Americans. Apart from a few couples with children, I'd say we were in the bottom of the age range at the hotel with most people being retired I would guess. This makes the hotel and indeed the resort a fairly quite and slow paced destination. If you are looking for bars with thumping disco music then you had best head off down the coast !

The only downside was that the beds were a bit hard for our tastes, but you can rent extra mattresses.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just back from a week's stay here - this was actually the third time for us in less than 3 years. The transfers from/to the airport are now much swifter, thanks to the opening of the new section of the motorway all the way to Mogan.

Reception and checking in were very efficient. The rooms were very good, the gardens and pools are wonderful and the atrium area around reception is just stunning. There is a short cut through the gardens to the main area of Puerto de Mogan.

We chose the 2nd dinner sitting starting at 20:15 so we didn't need to rush to get ready: this suited us fine as we had a lovely private patio/garden to sit in before dinner with a drink or several. We were on half board and the food was uniformly excellent. As returning guests, we also benefitted from a discount on the drinks we purchased. We used the reception bar and also the Fataga bar downstairs next to the main restaurant for drinks, and the evening entertainment was much better than some places we have been to. We found all the staff in the restaurant, bars and animation/entertainment team very friendly and noticed some familiar faces from our previous visits, which is always a good pointer to a hotel that evidently manages to hold on to its staff.

Puerto de Mogan has changed over the years but still retains its charm. We utilized the boat service to Puerto Rico (half an hour each way): the trip was very pleasant but Puerto Rico is very busy in comparison and it was nice to get back to our peaceful home-from-home. We also visited the famous Friday market, where all the leather bags and belts in the whole wide world seem to be on display!

Chatting to fellow guests, we were impressed by the number who visit regularly, in some cases several times a year. 'Nuff said, I think.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tescotogs_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namsos, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa two weeks last February (2014).It was an relaxing holday. Everything abort this hotel is first class. We will choose this Hotel again! We are just waiting for a chance to returnere.

Room Tip: Chiles rooms no hiver floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inger Mari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the cordial Mogan Playa in February half term with our 4 year old daughter. Highly recommended. Excellent food considering the numbers they are catering for -eg suckling pig and other roast meats always available, fish freshly cooked, 2 salad bars, huge selection of side dishes and most importantly lots of authentic Spanish dishes. Wonderful service, very accommodating, friendly and hardworking, nothing was too much trouble. Everywhere is immaculately clean and our room was cleaned each day and then tidied and turned down in the evening. Kids club/mini disco - lovely staff, great playroom, but the mini disco was slightly lacking in atmosphere compared to others we have been to. My only other minor niggle was that the drinks waiter service in the bar area was extremely slow. We would happily have ordered at the bar but this is not allowed so you have to sit and wait for a good 10 minutes. Evening entertainment was good for all the wrong reasons, so bad it was hilarious! Very enthusiastic entertainment team but I'm not sure how seeing the films Aladdin and Mamma Mia mimed to on stage is classed as entertainment? As I say, however, it was amusing and our 4 year old loved it! We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this excellent hotel and we LOVED Puerto Mogan. It is a very pretty, upmarket small town and we found some excellent restaurants on the beach front and at the harbour. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are not enormous, with a pull out bed for our daughter a standard room was a bit of a squeeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunther80_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Our taxi, arranged by Six Star Holidays, failed to meet us at the airport, after a very fraught journey the reception staff calmed me down. Our room was very good, but to begin with I was comparing it with apartments we usually have with the Holiday Property Bond. We booked a Suite as we were there for 4 weeks. The very few niggles I had were quickly resolved by Marcus, a Sub Director. The hotel and staff are very good with ways of making you comfortable and happy. The hotel is very clean, maybe the best I have ever seen. We had a meal each saturday in the A-La-Carte restaurant, it was so good and the service impeccable, how I long for another Saturday night there. I now rate this hotel with my 2 favourites, The Shangri-La and The Centara hotels. We are just waiting for a chance to return. We were there from 13th January until 10th February.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risskov, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed 15 days at Cordial Playa in Feb. 2014. It was a wonderful holiday - everything in the hotel functioned so well. The staff was kind and helpful. Everything was clean and nice. My husbond rented a bike to go to the mountains - he was so happy. Remember to book the bike in advance! The beds was rather hard, but we borrowed topmadrasses and we slept very good.
I have only a few small things to mention that could be better and it is the iron chairs at the buffet terrasse - they were so cold to sit on during breakfast!!
And - I know - all good hotels tell the guests not to put their towells at the sun chairs around the pool to make reservations - the guests didn't listen. You cannot blame the hotel for that - the guests are obviously very egoistic!
But anyway - a wonderful hotel and gourmet restaurant!
Best regards Mona Jensen
Risskov DK

Room Tip: Rooms at the south side - higher floors - facing the promenade and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing