We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but let down by the dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Mirfield
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good hotel but let down by the dining experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I sit here writing this review on the balcony of room 7104 on a wonderfully warm evening. Overall the hotel is excellent, the room is large, with a good size bathroom and a shower with very good water pressure, the beds although a little on the hard side are comfortable. Our room overlooks the spa and is as it has been said in earlier reviews, very quiet with a large balcony.
The grounds are wonderful and the staff very pleasant.
The walk to Morgan centre is only 5 minutes away. You will find quite a busy centre with shops and restaurants. Apparently this is now the quiet season so some of the restaurants are closed.
The only issue with this hotel is the dining in an evening. They have two set dining times, which interestingly they changed today. Being on the early sitting we can now dine between 18:00hrs and 19:45hrs. The problem is that regardless of which sitting you go for its a bit like a rugby scrum. The layout of the food stations has been given no thought and you have starters in two locations and the mains in two further different locations. We were on our second night before we discovered that there was a fresh fish station. What you end up with is a lot of people wandering around with plates, everyone getting in everyone else's way. Chaos ensues and it spoils the dining experience. I can't understand why you simply can't book a time slot for your dinner like every other restaurant I have ever been in. If there is no time slot available then you have to pick another time. Towards the end of our first sitting the staff are already laying up tables for the second sitting so why is there a need for a half hour break between sittings....beyond me.
Having said all that the food is good, especially the fish and meat station where it is cooked / carved while you wait although the chefs need to replenish the vegetables a lot quicker than they do.
Would I stay here again. Yes I would. Once you accept the system at dinner, although I don't agree it's the best, the rest of the hotel lives up to expectations and I would agree what previous reviews have said.
If they could sort out the fine details over the dinner this would go from being a very good hotel to being excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,051
    801
    153
    29
    12
See reviews for
1,100
2,376
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 11 days on half board in May. We found the hotel excellent with amazing grounds,plenty of sunbeds, terrific room, excellent resort, two good sizes pools and friendly staff.
The one issue is for the hotel to sort out the evening meal times! We elected for the later sitting at 8.15 as the 6.00pm time for first sitting was too early as in May it was still sunny at that time. After 4 days during our stay the second sitting was put back to 8.45 which was too late for us. The reason for this I was told was that the hotel was full and they needed to delay the second sitting. However this was the only issue and if the hotel reverts back to its original 8.15second sitting its a 5 out of 5 without doubt!

Room Tip: Higher floor provides better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A relaxing week at this resort hotel. Within easy walking distance, on the flat, from the small town of Mogan where there were numerous restaurants. However, most times we ate at the buffet restaurant which had numerous choices and is not a place to go if you want to lose weight!
There is also an excellent al la carte restaurant with more individual service.
Rooms spacious and comfortable. Beautiful swimming pools. Good evening entertainment. Thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Higher rooms for better views and possibly quieter as away from the public paths
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from Mogan after my third week at the Cordial. The weather was perfect, the hotel as beautifully kept as always, the food excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wychemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very good hotel in a really fantastic place. The hotel is well run,clean efficient,friendly, relaxing. Puerto Mogan is picturesque and relatively unspoilt. All in all a wonderful place for a holiday in the sunshine.

Room Tip: High floor block 2 got sun on balcony from mid afternoon until sunset in April
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobthetarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed in Cordial Mogan Playa from 28 April-5 May 2014. It is advertised as a 4 star + and does deserve it. On checking in, the staff were friendly, I was given a glass of champagne and a pool towel.
The inside and outside of the hotel is very well kept. There are palm trees inside and out and waterfalls near/in the dining area. There is a cactus garden which is certainly worth a visit.

I was allocated room 7214, in a block in the middle of the hotel, on the second floor. (There were two lifts always working) The room was large, the bathroom was massive, lots of towels, bath sheets not postage stamp size. The room and bathroom was clean and well equipped. Good hair dryer.

The balcony easily fitted the table and two chairs, the main view was of the walk way to shops/beach, (no issue as quiet resort) side view of the pool, it got the sun from 1pm to 7pm, which was ideal.

Air con worked well and black out curtains were excellent ( as you can't turn the balcony light off)

The choice of food for breakfast and dinner was brilliant, spoil for choice. Breakfast was served between 7.30-10.30 and there were two sittings for dinner 6.15-7.30 and 8.15-9.30. Both meals were buffet style but certain items were cooked in front of you fried eggs, fish. Breakfast tended to be quite leisurely but dinner was a bit like feeding time at the zoo, not the hotel's fault, just the volume of guests at the same time, another sitting time may help with this.

The hotel is very well located, to the left it's a short walk to the beach/harbour area and to the local shops. There is also a shopping centre and a Dino supermarket to the right (more reasonably priced than shops and spar near harbour)

There is a market every Friday which starts nearly outside the hotel and snakes it away round the harbour.

There are a couple of gates within the complex one next to the restaurant near the pool and one at the bottom of complex which comes out near the beach. You can only get back in, using your room key which is good. The only improvement could be more signage to these gates, you can also exit and enter by the gift shop but that isn't well highlighted either but once you've found them then it's easy and convenient to come and go.

The gift shop is very good, at ordinary prices not inflated as well souvenirs, they sell newspapers and magazines. Uk papers arrive at midday for that current day. The ladies who work in the shop are friendly-chatty.

All the staff seem to want to work there which makes a great difference, but I suppose it helps if no one has anything to complain about. A good job done by all.

I will definitely be going back, this is the first foreign hotel I've ever said that about.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the main road/walkway get the sun from 1pm-7pm Block with 7000 no's are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I, (with our daughter and her partner), have just returned from our second holiday in this hotel, the first being several years ago. We found it to be as good as we remembered, and the spa even better as it has been refurbished to include a wonderful outdoor flotation pool, hot tub, daybeds......etc. However, the cost for two hours has nearly doubled, to around 20 euros. We also felt that we should not be charged for using the safe. Our room was faultless and the gardens and public areas excellent. However, there are a few little niggles.

We opted for the later sitting for dinner, 8.15pm, similar to cruise ship times, but halfway through the week the times were changed and the second sitting became 8.45pm, too late for us and, I suspect, many other people. When we asked to change to first sitting, (6.30 - 7.30) we had difficulty in getting a table as so many others had changed. The result was that our party of four had to have two tables, one behind the other, and it was very crowded. We went in at 7pm, but did feel rushed by the time we were finishing at 8.15, as the staff were obviously trying to clear and lay tables and prepare food for the next sitting.

The other niggle is that the bar in the main foyer doesn't open until 7pm, when the pool bar 'La Fula' closes, so there is no choice in where to have a pre-dinner drink. The foyer bar closes at 11pm, and the foyer lights are switched off leaving people sitting there in semi-darkness, which is a bit disconcerting! We were playing cards and couldn't see. When I mentioned it the next day at reception I was told that we could have asked to have the lights switched back on - we really shouldn't have to. It's obviously to encourage people to go down to the disco bar and entertainment, but that's not everyone's cup of tea.
Finally we went twice to the a la carte restaurant. The first time we had the taster menu which was delicious and excellent value. There was an issue with a long wait for dessert, which the waiter dealt with immediately by offering us coffees on the house. The second time we ate from the menu and didn't find it to be such good value. My husband's starter of four scallops and some salad and fancy purees was 20 euros, as much as a main course. Yes, we should have complained, but sometimes you just don't want to make a fuss.
This review seems like a list of complaints, but they are just minor niggles. We love the hotel and are planning to return next year, but forewarned is forearmed! We'll have the taster menu again, we'll ask for the foyer lights to be left on if we are playing cards and we'll be aware of possible mealtime changes.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one overlooking the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshwanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
441 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing