We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a 4 star plus hotel set in acres of green grounds. The rooms are in groups of five story buildings with several lifts and grouped around the pools. The main reception and dining building is amazing with rivers and waterfalls inside. We went at the beginning of March and the weather was lovely. It has two large pools some distance apart. One is quiet and the other has activities at various times. There is entertainment every evening after dinner if you want it and a couple of nice bars and poolside bars in the day. The restaurant is buffet style with a tremendous choice. All the staff from the reception to the hotel and bar staff are friendly and helpful. The guests are about a third English, a third German and a third Scandinavian. There is no real need to leave the hotel as it is so nice but the small quiet resort of Mogan is only a ten minute walk and half that is through the hotel grounds. There is only one small hotel in Mogan which is very picturesque and built around a marina. There are no high rise hotels. We found it best to pre-book a return taxi from the airport which took 45 minutes. Some people were on a coach for a couple of hours dropping off at other resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,051
    802
    153
    29
    12
See reviews for
1,101
2,376
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BANGOR NORTH WALES
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I visited Cordial Mogan Playa recently for the second time and we will surely go again. I would heartily recommend this hotel for its facilities its style and relaxation.The food is generally excellent being buffet style you can have as little or as much as you wish,there are normally three hot carvery type meats on offer together with a host of accompaniments there is freshly cooked fish and paella regularly available,together with a host of other offerings such as prawn or longuistine,children are well catered for too so no need to worry if they will find something they like .Wines tend to be a little expensive,but then that is true of most hotels and restaurants though they will always re-cork and keep wine until the next meal if you cannot finish it,as they do in most good hotels.the staff are pleasant and very very efficient and nothing ever seems too much trouble for them.The hotel has two large pools which are suitable for adults and children alike,with plenty of sun beds for the essential tan.there is usually some evening entertainment which i would say is reasonable but not brilliant,but kids are well entertained though my wife and I were there to relax and that is what this hotel is best for.I don't think it would suit younger people as the hotel and surrounding area are fairly quiet and relaxed though there is a good friday market in Mogan which is always well attended with some bargains available.The Gardens of the hotel have to be seen to be believed,all manner of palm,cactus,banana plant,etc are manicured to perfection,though you very rarely see a gardener,they are very discreet.Mogan itself is a very quiet little fishing village which has a lot of charm where you can get boats to other places of interest,all in all a very good location.The only negative I can think of is transfer from the airport,as mogan is about an hour or more away by coach and transfer can be tiring,but all in all it is a sacrifice worth making as Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is an exceptional secret and very good value.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views though these are mainly pool views some ground floor rooms have terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ELANDALUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the thirteenth time we have visited gran canaria but we always stay around masplaomas/meloneras area but have always wanted to stay at this hotel in Puerto mogan so we had high expectations.We arrived quite late and were offered some much needed refreshment in the form of a glass of bubbly and were taken down to the resteraunt for a meal before it closed.The check in was speedy and efficient Infact all through our stay when I needed to enquire at the desk all of them were pleasant and helpfull .All the staff from cleaners bar staff,waiters,chefs were excellent.The room was spacious well appointed and very clean,we were on the second floor and had a lovely view over the valley and artificial lake outside.If you are a lover of flora and fawner then this place is for you the plants,shrubs and flowers are truly stunning..There are 2 pools I can only comment on the one furthest away from reception idyllic lovely warm temperature not to busy always sun beds available (the most comfy I have ever known) nice touch is a buzzer that is placed by you so if you don't have the energy to make it to the bar they will come to you.All meals are buffet style the breakfast is plentiful and varied the resteraunt is delightfull if a little oddly set out if you are half board then you can choose from 2 sittings 6-7.30 or 8.30-10 this is really my only criticism of this hotel I found the evening meal to be a bit rushed and chaotic but saying that I can not fault the quality of the food.You can exchange dinner for lunch which I would recommend as lunch is served in the beautiful pool side resteraunt and it would be criminal not to take advantage of what in my opinion is one of the best harbours in the canaries with some great eateries and marvellous atmosphere.We also ate at Los Guyres you must try this superb high class cuisine.As some others have said the entertainment can be a little cheesey but your on holiday! all in all this is a fabulous hotel with lovely staff set in a amazing location Take my advice BOOK IT NOW!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 10th to 24th May on half board plus status. From the time of booking in to the time of leaving every thing was great. Half board plus was a great buy as if you did not finish your wine with the meal you could take it away to the bar who even gave you table mats to place your bottle and glass on. The selection of food was excellent both at breakfast and evening meals and to have the choice of three different meats and three different fish during the evening was outstanding. All staff always had a smile on their face and never did I see or hear a bad word or temper from them and were a credit to the hotel. I would like to mention a couple of small points which I think would improve the hotel. The hotel conducted a tour of the grounds and the hotels back stage workings on a Friday but it would have been helpful to have had a tour of the grounds the day after your arrival with the back stage tour taking place on the Friday only. There are two evening meal sittings but if you were on the first sitting which finished at 8.00 pm it was a long time to sit and wait for the evening entertainment which did not start until 9.45 pm all be at 8.00 pm they have a mini disco for the children and once that finished it went dead. We had a very early departure being picked up at 3.45 am and it was very nice to have the early morning call and a porter coming to take our luggage from the room followed by being able to go down to the restaurant to have coffee and a light snack. We will be recommending this hotel to friend and family

Room Tip: Contact the hotel before you travel and ask for a high floor room with evening sun, also to be near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maltay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On this occasion we didn't book a transfer with the travel company but booked direct through the hotel. There were four of us and we were greeted in the arrivals hall by the driver who took us to our seventeen seater minibus. Plenty of room there then! Journey to hotel took approximately 40 minutes, all motorway and tunnels. Greeted on arrival with a cold glass of white wine whilst one of the staff took our cases to our rooms. This is our second time at the hotel and on this occasion we were in block 5. Rooms seem to be exactly the same whatever block you're in. Room was spotless and well appointed. For those who like to watch tv there is a flat screen with a USB input if you want to bring your own films. Main pool is heated and a perfect temperature to compensate the glorious sunshine. What makes this hotel so special for us is the quality of the food. If you want something for breakfast then they have it. Always at least four or five different cuts of meat for dinner. Normally when we stay half board we end up eating out at least two or three times as the food gets repetitive. Not at this place. We actually looked forward to dinner. Staff are extremely polite and courteous and can't do enough for you. We didn't really drink at the hotel as the beach and local bars are about three hundred yards from the back gate of the hotel. This hotel may be a little more expensive than other 4* places in the Canaries but it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Don't stay here if you want:
Poor service
Rude staff
Bad food
Noise
Unclean room
Shoddy furnishings
Small room

Stay here if you want the exact opposite, we went to this hotel years ago when it first opened and we were very very impressed.
Going back a second time and we thought will it be the same and yes it was, congratulations to the hotel Director and all of his professional, polite, hard working staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My self, my wife, two little munchkins (ages6&4) together with the in laws spent a fantastic 9 nights in this gorgeous complex during this years Easter break. The hotel had everything - great location, great food, great entertainment, great and friendly staff (and water yoga for the two women :-). We have found a lot of the towns and accommodation to be pretty average in the Canaries, but, this hotel and town definitely bucks the trend. The port town itself is gorgeous ( but definitely more pricey than most locations in the Canaries). However, having stayed in lots of different towns over the years in both Gran Canaria and Lanzarote - we have finally found the perfect place for us to return to. Only minor criticism is that most of the kids club activities for the younger kids was indoors. We would have preferred if the were outdoors, although our two weren't bothered with the club most of the time anyway.
Definitely one to recommend. The hotel has something for everyone ( although I put on half a stone with that fantastic breakfast buffet of theirs :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing