We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks break at the Mogan Playa. The hotel is lovely, very friendly, very clean and the food was good and the gardens are well looked after.Unfortunately our room 1904 was in a good position but we had the builders working in the room next door and they started at 9am during the week,one afternoon we returned at 3pm to the sound of drilling,so decided to sit by the pool instead,the other problem we had the day before leaving was unfortunately with cockroches we found three in our room, we also returned that day to an unsual smell which we presumed the cleaners were aware of them,so had sprayed the doors.We understand in a hot country it's hard to control theses little pests but I just can't stand them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 4,259 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We pondered for ages trying to find a new place to holiday, even though we have been to Gran Canaria years ago we had not been to Puerto Mogan. We read the reviews, all 5 star and decided to give it a go. We booked through Jet2 so it was a full package, we arrived about 1130 pm the staff were welcoming, gave us a champagne welcome drink which tasted good and offered us a cold buffet snack as it was late, never had that before. We were guided to our room, exactly what we asked for, high, pool view, the room was good quality a few gripes, no fridge available you have to request the mini bar fridge to be unlocked ? no iron or board, no coffee/tea facilities ? maybe this is why its 4 star ? apart from that everything was good, housekeeping everyday if you wanted it. Back to the hotel main building, at first sight when you arrive it is gob-smacking, the closest decor like the extravagance of Vegas we have seen outside of Vegas, a jungle - atrium theme very nice.
The whole complex is massive well presented and kept, even has its own chapel ? a few bars, pools, eateries, a lot to see. can't dwell too much but impressive.
The main restaurant is well run by the ever present and professional managers, the staff as ever are courteous and attentive, the food choice is huge well presented and tasty self service eat as much as you like, half board or full board, two sittings for dinner.
The main bar area is like a mini club / theater with all the seating and lights with dance floor, every night it was full for the acts, waiter staff doing their best to keep up with the busy service, the cocktails are very popular. Last orders were about 1 am but that was okay, they need a DJ to keep the guests in the bar after the acts have finished, a lot of them disappear. THE hotel / complex is most impressive, enough for us to want a return visit fairly soon. The most impressive and professional staff at all levels.
The town itself has a lot to offer is very beautiful, very photogenic there is enough to keep you occupied for a week, many bars/restaurants/shops, marina, beach, boat trips, local cheap buses, taxis, most areas are pedestrianized, and to cap it all off its cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80marines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

second visit to this hotel. Beautiful hotel, beautiful town. staff so helpful, the place is spotlessly clean. Only slight complaint is the restaurant, buffet style, its not a very relaxing way to have a meal however I don't know how else dinner could be served to so many guests so I guess its a small price to pay for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaloo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Mogan Playa just over a week ago and it was our forth visit to the hotel.
I must say that this hotel is amazing and every time we've been to stay it has been pleasant.
The staff are all very friendly and will do there upmost to do everything you ask.
We are a family of 5 with 3 children under the age of 8 and they are all well catered for from the daytime around the pool area, kids club to the mini disco at the evening.
Also we find this hotel to be reasonable on drink prices as we charge all the drinks to the room and at the end of our stay we pick up the bill, which can sometimes be a nail biter but on our previous stays certainly isn't. (10% discount card).

We have booked for New Year again as we went last year & really enjoyed it as the weather was in the 70s everyday which added to our great stay once again at the Mogan Playa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our 2nd visit and will not be our last. The cleanliness and the general ambiance of the hotel is first class. Food excellent staff first class. We have recommended it to friends. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryll P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

4th visit to the hotel and it is still as good as ever. Everything about the hotel is quality, tranquil and relaxing, a lovely oasis in pretty Mogan.
An impressive choice of food at meals time, staff extremely polite and attentive. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Airedalejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our second visit to the cordial mogan and it was equally as good as the 1 st visit which we gave 10/10...
The hotel, staff & location are superb & are ideal for a relaxing getaway or in our case to celebrate our wedding.
The hotel was the backdrop for our wedding photography which was provided by Mette Brante & all I can say is that she is exceptionally professional & we can't wait to see the results.
We also had live guitar music provided by Hugo Musso Which again was exceptional.
We were a party of 19 & every one of them commented how good the service, food & hotel are.
The food in Los guayres al a carte was really nice & beautifully presented.
I can reiterate that the animation team were poor (as they had been last year) with mimed act & the flattest bum notes sang live by one of the female performers..the best round of applause came when an Italian gentleman shut the outside door so we could no longer hear her!!.
We will definitely visit again as will most of our group.
Visit Arylan which is a little tapas place next to the canal & opposite the ham shop..they do fantastic tapas.
The ham shop is also a must for the black ham iberico..fantastic!!.
See you again soon Peueto Mogan :-)
Steve & Vic

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cop3098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: £124 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing