We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Still excellent....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel,which in itself speaks volume.This time we booked a family room which consists of a single room and bathroom and then a double room with its own bathroom.Our daughter is only 10 and we could have had a standard room with a camp bed but for £500 more for 11 nights the family room has been well worth the extra.
The food,service and housekeeping are still excellent.My daughters air conditioning was broken,but once I told the maid it was fixed within half an hour.Exceptional customer service.
The entertainment is generally poor at night,although last night there was a magic show which was very good.
The hotel is showing some signs of its age now.The Rooms are clean but furnishings a little dated,the hotel is 10 years old now and will in my opinion soon need modernising.
However,all things considered,this is still value for money in comparison to similar rated hotels.
We will be hard pushed to find a hotel as as good as this for next year,but will not return for a few years only because there are too many other places to visit.
One final point,there are lots of British kids here at the moment..a huge plus for my daughter who is an only child.This may not suit everyone,but having been to other hotels where most are Foreign,this makes our life a lot easier if she is happy!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,916
    763
    150
    26
    10
See reviews for
1,039
2,284
84
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We visited in April and had such a great time booked to return in August. Had a great stay and 3 children ( 12, and 2 10 year olds) enjoyed the variety of activities and the pool. Food excellent and entire hotel very clean.

Only problem we had was wi fi would not work in the rooms which was hard to understand as it was fine in April.

Will retunr again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JS197113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a fabulous hotel. My wife and I discovered it three years ago and we would really recommend it . The complex is like a large tropical estate with really beautiful gardens. Plenty of sun beds, free pool towels and 2 lovely huge swimming pools. The food is excellent and there is a terrific variety on offer. The staff are lovely and there is entertainment most nights .Because of its location, there is no traffic noise. It about 15 mins. stroll into Puerto Mogan. We have booked again and we will be going out this September 2104 for 9 nights.This is our 3rd. year in a row. Don't just think about it , book it. We don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Blocks near main reception are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liamo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a wonderful hotel build in Canary style, with an oasis of green plants around the facility. We are a Family of two children and we absolutely LOVE this hotel. The hotel offers Family rooms and that is great, and the hotel is very well maintained and clean! The staff is so friendly and professionals! Both breakfast and dinner is exceptionally good! This is so much better for us as a Family than a typical Family hotel that the travel companies offer, here can the adult and the children have a wonderful time together! For ex; the adults can lay by the pool watching one child swimming and one play in the sand, and still get some sun without running around! We really recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Family rooms are one single and one double with a sheared hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Line J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids (age 13 & 12) and spent 2 brilliant weeks at the Cordial Mogan Playa in early August. Everything from the weather to the gardens was fantastic. The staff are all very helpful and pleasant and keen to sort out any problems you may have, not that we had any.
Reception - very efficient, lovely welcome drink of orange juice or cava.
Pools - 2 large/warm pools, we enjoyed both but spent most time around pool 2 as the kids made friends and liked being close to the animation team.
Animation team - professional and friendly, we liked all the team, thanks and well done to Max, Claudia. George, Julia, mickael sorry I can't remember everyone's name but you were all great.
Entertainment - varied shows, we enjoyed all of them, very good magician, fabulous dancers and loved the 3 tenors. Also a special mention to Walter on the guitar, we play his cd during 'Sunday dinner' and brings back all our holiday memories - lovely!
Rooms - spacious, great air-con, some furniture a bit dated - but overall no complaints, asked for a pool view near reception and that's what we had.
Food - great, plenty to suit all tastes, we were on half-board plus basis and felt this was excellent value for money.
Gardens - wonderful, all so well kept and maintained, each surrounding all the different room blocks. They have an avairy/archeological site and cat feeding areas - adds to after dinner walks, or you could even try a spot of family bowling!
Supermarket/shops - all very close-by, reasonable prices, great market on a Friday, although very busy but fun to browse or barter.
Beach - busy/small, not great for snorkelling though, but great for kids, only 5 mins from the hotel.
Diving - My husband did 4 dives in total, he felt the staff were friendly/helpful and knowledgable, saw octopus/stingrays/eels etc
Spa - beautiful, very relaxing, hot stone massage is true to it's description, not so good on 'sunburn' though!
Disadvantages - not many, but weekends do seem to be more busy, so suggest going on trips etc around these days, however don't let that put you off it's just a minor gripe
We all miss the hotel very much and I'm sure we will return

Room Tip: Family rooms are excelllent, a double and a twin room with a corridor inbetween.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay for a week at Mogan Playa. The rooms are nicely done, there are 2 big pools, and we were pleased to see that the staff monitors the beds by the pools. If you are away for more than 90 minutes, they remove your stuff so the beds can be used by others. This ensures that there is always space.
The food is relatively good compared to some similar hotels we stayed in the past. We did notice that there was not enough staff. Normally they bring coffee with the breakfast, we didn't get any for the last 3 days of our stay. Similar situation at dinner. Also we were supposed to always have the same table for dinner, but on the final night they decided to switch the table number and someone else sat at 'our' table. Small things , but they do matter.

Apart from that we were happy to be away from the mass tourism of some other towns on Gran Canaria. We will probably not return, but that has to do with the limited opportunities the island has to offer compared to some of the other Canary Islands. If you are happy to lounge by the pool in the sun all day every day, then this is definitely the place to go.

Final tip, visit the spa, it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with a terrace instead of a balcony. It more than doubles the outside sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's the best place to be if you are looking for rest, coming to your self, with or without kids. We have been for several times and we will go back!
To be short:
- Hotel fantastic
- Pools and beds great
- Rooms very good
- Personal the best of the Island

Without any doubt: A big 10!

Raymond L. from Holland

Room Tip: Always ask at the reception what's possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Onthebeach so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing