We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We booked in for a week at the end of January to escape the freezing conditions back home and were not disappointed. It was a mild 23 degrees in the day and comfortably cool in the evenings, which with the very quiet location ensured a good night's sleep. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne (soft drink option) at the reception by friendly and efficient staff, which meant we could quickly proceed to our rooms and get down to our evening meal as we had arrived mid-evening. There was a welcome bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine on the bedroom table, which was a nice touch.

There was an extensive hot and cold evening buffet, with a carvery/frying area for fresh steaks and cutlets of three or four varieties of meat, and an additional area for frying at least three varieties of fish. There were many desserts and plenty of fresh fruit always available. There were many varieties of bread, both rools, sliced and whole loaves to cut yourself. There were toasters and also a microwave available. Try booking a seat in the winter garden conservatory area for your evening meals. This is fixed for your stay, but sit anywhere for breakfast.

The breakfasts were of the expected standard, with unlimited fruit juice or champagne if that's your fancy, fruit, cold meats, cheese, yogurts, a frying area for omelettes with four toppings, or freshly fried eggs. Bacon, scrambled eggs, caviar, etc, etc. Pots of coffee and tea, with decaff coffee sachets available and several types of tea bags.

The reception area was the most remarkable of any hotel I have stayed in. There was a lion fountain, reminiscent of the Alhambra, and a clock tower with a ring of bells. Every night there was a skilled musician playing a grand piano or saxophone or electric violin, etc. Looking over a railing revealed a lower floor with running water, a grotto, seating area and entertainment room and bar. The entertainments were of variable quality.

Outside there were two large pool areas, with pleasantly warm water. The sun loungers had the thickest cushions I have come across and were very comfortable. The grounds resembled a botanical garden and many species had labels to aid identification. It abounded with ornamental pools and fountains. Get down to the harbour area after your evening meal and explore the quaint alleys and canals which are floodlit. It is less than a 10-minute walk away. The sea was a bit too chilly for me, but my wife enjoyed a dip, and the imported sand was quite coarse but golden and comfortable to walk on in bare feet. The Blue Bird ferry trip to Puerto Rico was a must, and you get free sangria both ways.

If you are seeking a relaxing holiday, somewhere to chill out amidst beautiful flowers and in warm sunshine during our winter months - this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Analytica66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,153)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,840 - 2,846 of 4,155 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

On arrival for our second visit we immediately knew that we made the correct decision to return. The ambience of the open spaces under the dome in the reception area is relaxing and welcoming a feeling which is added to by the free glass of champagne. We requested a room in the same block as our previous visit and this was provided. We stayed half board with buffet breakfast and dinner included. We enjoyed our first dinner. This was on valentines night and the hotel responded with more champagne and a long stem roses when we arrived at the dining room. Some of the delicacies on offer that night included Roast Quail and Shrimp. The range of food appears to address most European tastes and on six out of seven nights we constructed fine meals from the selections available. Our goal was a relaxing holiday in the February canarian sun with early morning and late evening walks being the most energetic activity. The hotel is pleasantly related in Puerto De Mogan just a short relatively flat walk to the port. The pool facilities are of a high standard and are complimented by a small spa (extra charges apply). The complex is laid out in several indivicual building blocks housing the bedrooms. The landscaping and gardens in the complex add to the experience. We could happily stay within the hotel for a week. Ice making machines or a fridge would be a convenient facility. There is a charge for use of the mini-bar. You do not need to bring pool towels as you receive one per guest which can be exchanged daily.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacJackCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I usually don´t like to travel to warm, sunny resorts where there are no big city attractions. But my wife and me choosed this hotel and place for a relaxing trip because it looked beautiful, calm and with style. And we really got it. More than we dreamed of. It was a paradise for two hardworking persons. But it was also romantic and gave as the best vacation we ever had. When we left, we both said: We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saxonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Me and my mom stayed the last week of January there, in a Junior Suite. We had quiet, relaxing time. One of the reasons I deceided to book this hotel were the reviews here.
very nice hotel area, stuff very helpfull. The welcome letter from the manager and a welcome drink are perfect ! As I had to do my Business on the vacation and I had to use wi-fi, I have found it to expensive to pay many hours. But otherwise everythiong was very fine.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danubio25, Hotel General Manager at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2009

We understand that more and more people combined business with pleasure, and that is why we are installing a new wi-fi facility on our common area wich will be free of charge to our hotel guest and it should be finished in a period not longer than a month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed at the Mogan Playa for a week in Febuary. I was so impressed that when we got home, I immediately booked up a week for my Mum & Dad in March.
From the reviews here I had quite high expectations, but everything was just a little better than I expected. The garden and grounds are lovely, lush and tropical; the pools were never crowded and always had plenty of beds available. The food was excellent buffet-style fare. The best thing I think though was the attitude of the staff - they were unfailingly friendly and cooperative - really doing their best to ensure that you enjoyed your holiday. The age group when I was there was decidedly post middle-aged, but that was great for a peaceful break. As others have said, there is not much to do in the town other than eat, drink and catch the sun, but that was all we really wanted to do. A great place for a luxurious winter-sun break.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Somerset6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Wonderful welcome with a glass of Champagne,very efficient Reception staff,all spoke English,always staffed.The room we had was a Standard Double which was which was very nice with a Balcony.We had a choice of Restaurants we only used the self service one which had a wonderful selection of food something different every day.The Gala meals on Christmas Day and New Years Eve were Excellent.We enjoyed the Entertainment that was provided every Evening .The facilities offerd by the Hotel were of a high standard,Pools,Bars,Restaurants,Spa.Tennis Courts,We even went Nordic Walking several times.The Hotel Gardens are beautifully landscaped and well looked after.We found all members of Staff friendly and they all spoke to us wishing you a Good Day etc.This was not just the Bar and Restaurant Staff but the Chambermaids and Gardeners in fact Everyone.We were made to feel very much at home.We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back on a return visit.

Stayed: December 2008
3  Thank doive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. We were really lucky to have
seven days of warm sun (when the UK was having its worst snow for years!).
In addition, the hotel was a pleasure to stay at as it has beautiful grounds, heated pools
and buildings, and seems to be friendly and well managed. There were people from an amazing range of countries staying at the hotel - even a party from the Faroe Islands.

The dining room provides generally good quality meals with plenty of choice e.g. each
evening there are 3 types of fish being cooked in front of you and 3 types
of meat, as well as all the other buffet choices. (NB The Entrecote steaks
were usually rather tough but other meats were well cooked). There are two
sittings - starting at 6pm and 8pm - and they allocate you a table on the first night. We did not experience any queues, delays or problems (although the waiter lost our left over wine bottle one night, and so we ended up with a new bottle). However, we never worked out what
happened to everyone after dinner - most people seem to vanish with very few
left in the central bars etc

Breakfast again has plenty of choice and eggs and omelettes are cooked as
requested. Sparkling wine is available every morning.

The hotel has a huge (7?) animation team who run daytime and evening
activities and entertainment. Some of the evening shows are provided by good quality
'outside' entertainers but most evenings have a song and dance show provided
by the animation team. Although there are a couple of good dancers amongst
them, the overall standard is pretty amateur with energy and enthusiasm
making up for the lack of professionalism. Having said that, I've seen many
much worse animation team shows. Sadly after their shows ended, little
attempt was made to play suitable music to encourage people to stay and
dance, so the room often cleared very quickly.

One final point is that apart from walking round the pretty harbour at
Puerto Mogan, there isn't an enormous amount to do locally so make sure you
take plenty of good books (incidentally, the hotel has a pretty good swap
library just above reception).

Overall a very enjoyable week at an excellent hotel. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victor_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
461 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: £135 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing