We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went with high expextations and they were exceeded in all areas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Cheshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Went with high expextations and they were exceeded in all areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

First visit to the Island having visited all the canary Islands over the last 20 years, this hotel is probably one of the best hotels we have stayed at, having travelled worldwide since my retirement . The gardens are majestic and the location if supported by transport, local buses are ideal is perfect for couples wanting seclusion in a csenic location. The food was up to a very high standard with a wide variety of choice in excellent sorroundings.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DriverCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,914
    761
    150
    26
    10
See reviews for
1,038
2,281
84
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

The hotel went beyond our expectations in all aspects. Firstly the staff could not do enough for you from the Reception desk to the waiters in the restaurants and the pool attendants- they were courteous and helpful and always there when needed. The food was good but did get repetitive after a week - however there was always a very good choice. The public rooms were large, airy and comfortable. Internet access was available along with a good library of books. The standard of this hotel was excellent - the bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. Large balcony with excellent views. The grounds of the hotel were absolutely fabulous with plants, shrubs and trees of all types - they had gone to the trouble of naming most of the plants and you could go on a tour of the grounds with a knowlegeable person. The swimming pools were great - shallow at one end for the little ones (also had a sandy strip to mimic a beach) - the pool chairs were the most comfortable we have ever experienced - fresh towels available daily. The hotel was ideally situated to enable you to take a leisurely stroll to the harbour where there were many restaurants to have a coffee or beer whilst taking in the atmosphere of your surroundings. The courtesy rooms to freshen up on our last day were excellent.
The only negative aspect to our stay was the very high cost of wine in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nevkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

We have just come back from a week at this lovely hotel/resort. We were worried that our teenagers would be a little bored, but they had a lovely time and were truely sad to leave. The animation team were great fun and so friendly to children and adults of all ages. Have been to The Canaries a few times now and this was the best hotel that we have stayed in. My husband and I both gained 7lbs each so no complaints about the food. Must mention the a la carte restaurant, it was superb and a nice change from the buffet and well worth the extra money. It was so nice to have heated pools, my husband never swims and went in everyday! All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday with superb weather around 23 degrees everyday, and everyone was happy!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Had booked a Junior Suite but on arrival was offered a choice of a Junior Suite or a Standard room with patio and jacuzzi. Checked both out and went for the patio and jacuzzi, room 7317 - didn't regret the choice! Although a big hotel it easily absorbs the guests and it never feels busy or crowded, the gardens are superb and help to keep any noise down. Agree with the rest of the reviews except for the food in the dinner buffet, for us it was never cooked very well, always under or over so gave up on the main course and went for starters and deserts, these are excellent. Stayed on half-board but the a la carte restaurant was very good and worth the extra for a special occasion, also swapped a dinner for a lunch so could eat in the harbour and the lunch was also very good.
Puerto de Mogan itself is definitely one of the best resorts with a good choice of restaurants and when you tire of the local beer there is a choice or Irish bars for a Guiness.
Although we don't tend to go anywhere twice, may make an exception for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solihull_Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

After reading many Reviews about the Cordial Mogan Playa I decided to chose it to celebrate my 40th birthday on the first week of February this year.
I went with my partner and our expectations were high but I have to say that both the Hotel and Puerto de Mogan itself exceded all our expectations in a fantastic way.

The overall impression of the Hotel as soon as you step in is that you’re entering a magical place such is the variety and quantity of features, colours, textures, plants & flowers, gardens of different sorts… even a Cactus garden!!
This Hotel has definitely got the WOW factor everywhere you turned to and that was one of the reasons we chose it after seeing many photos in it’s website.
The service is of top quality and we can’t praise enough all the staff who are genuinely friendly and seem to be very happy working there. Also very hard working, especially in the Restaurant.

Public Areas: fantastic seating areas, very spacious and confortable never far from tall trees (yes.. even indoors). The Reception area is amazing, surrounded by huge glass walls and ceiling is a coloured glass canopy.
The “streets” between the colourful buildings give it a very warm and village feeling mixed with water features and trees in grand scale.
These trees are also positioned in the courtyards in front of some of the bedrooms front doors which is a delightful view when you open the door to go out. Some buildings are actually built around these courtyards. In total there about 5 or 6 buildings all spread around beautiful gardens and swimming pools , some with wooden bridges.

The two main swimming pool areas are out of this world. We used all of them and never had trouble finding a sun lounger, but we always went in the afternoons. The water is magnificently warm (heated in Winter), you have to experience swimming in all that turqoise glory surrounded by montain scenery to believe it.
There’s also a couple of jacuzzis by one of the swimming pools and although one wasn’t working when we reported it the problem was soon dealt with.
Much has been said about the “sand” around areas of the swimming pools… yes, it hurts our feet but notthing that a pair of flip flops can’t resolve!

We collect/change the swimming pool towels everyday between 9am and 12pm from the Animation Team.
Some reviews mention that the high cliffs around the town/hotel obscure and shade the pools… well that is not true at all. The cliffs are far way from the hotel, enough to give plenty of space and therefore that problem simply doesn’t exist.

Bedrooms: are very spacious and again very colourful. Colour is a constant feature throughout the whole hotel, which in my view is very appealing. All the deco is of very good taste and confort. Plenty of room to store your clothes and belongings and the bathroom spacious, with a separate cubicle with the toilet. All the usual toiletries, hair dryer, fresh cleaned towels etc are there. The floor is in traditional mosaics very typical of Spain and Portugal houses as they’re much fresher. We were on the Yellow building near the second pool on the ground floor and for what we could see every one had a terrace/balcony big enough to have a table and two confy chairs plus a lining dryer. Particularly useful when the weather wasn’t that sunny and people just wanted to relax, reading a book etc

The buffet Restaurant: much has also been said about the restaurant, seating times arrangements etc.
Guests choose when check- in either to have dinner at 6:30 or at 8pm. You can swap for lunch at any time just need to inform them. From our experience we can say that these arrangements are perfect.
There’s more than one restaurant but we only used the main Buffet one and the outdoor one near the first pool which is quite spacious and pleasant. Catered for lunches and snacks.

The main buffet restaurant is huge, with many different “food islands/stations”, there is a massive work to be done in relation to clear and set up tables, and to have all organised. We chose the 8 o’clock slot and I can sincerely say that we never felt any pressure whatsover to rush eating or anything like that… and I didn’t hear anyone from the 6:30 slot complaining or feeling upset. In fact, I spoke with someone of the Management team and they say that even if someone hasn’t finished his/her meal “in time”, they would never put the person out of the restaurant. So please: be assured that it’s fine and there’s no rushing. Just enjoy as much as you can all the delicious food beautifully displayed.
Just one observation regarding this topic: no one seems to check who is on which dinning slot… which we found a bit strange.

Now… the Food! Well… where do I start? The variety and quantity of food is just amazing. Several “islands” of food each displaying a specific type. For example: salads, cold and hot, some with prawns, fish, vegetables, eggs… all cooked in several ways.
Grilled meats and fish on the spot. Many unsual dishes for british standards but truly delicious (Bacalhau- dry salted cod fish, rabit etc), various Pasta dishes, rice dishes (including Paella, spanish national dish), grilled vegetables, two or three different soups every night, a dedicated healthy “island” with many glutten free products and all very healthy.
Lots of different breads and fruits. The desserts are really mouthwatering, you really are spoiled for choice: cakes, tarts, puddings, ice creams, also many traditional desserts. You need to be mad if you don’t tried them! Absolutely delicious!

For dinner we are alocated a table which remains the same for the rest of the holiday (for breakfast we can seat wherever we want) and by the end of our stay we become friends with our waiters as they look after us so well, serving the drinks (we were on Half-Board, the drinks are paid separately) and generally making sure we were happy.
Breakfast is another delicious story of food indulgency: the usual array of cheeses, hams, presunto (typical spanish ham), mushrooms, tomatoes, bacon, pastry/croissants/cakes but also caviar (red and black), fish scandinavian style, eggs cooked in all ways, you can even order your omelettes on the spot, hot pancakes with different jams and custard, champagne, fruit juices, fruit salad , the healthy options include a huge selection of cereals, fat free cheeses and sweets with low sugar levels….. amongst many other things.
My only criticism about the restaurant is: Tea/Coffee is not included in the evening meal and there isn’t even a machine for that as far as I’m aware. And although the majority of the food is well labelled, at times we found some of the sauces didn’t have a label and they were really hard to identify.

There’s a particular delightful area of the Restaurant which is on a deck over the water garden outside… it’s a magical place to have breakfast, as we did many times including on my actual birthday. You seem to be floating on that emerald green water with a small waterfall at the back . This area is covered in glass and they put some heaters on as sometimes is a bit chilly especially early in the morning.
For my Birthday dinner the Management of the Hotel had prepared a few surprises including: free cake, free Spa entrance, free bottle of champagne by the dinner table when we arrived, a huge plant leaf with colourful petals spread on the table etc… it was a very sweet gesture of them and that shows how much attention to detail they put on their service.

The reviews I read hardly mention the Spa… I have to say that we used it on my Birthday and on the following day with the free entrance voucher. The Spa is small but fantastic with many different water jets, several jacuzzis, Finish sauna, Turkish steam sauna, ice shower etc It costs 10 euros for 2 hours and you can use all you want. Opening times 10:00am to 8:00 everyday.
The treatments list is quite extensive ranging from Swedish Massage (55 mins 60 euros), Warm Chocolate Oil Aromassage (55 mins 75 euros), Hot Stone Massage (55 mins 60 euros), Reflexology face & feet (25 mins 40 euros each), Aloe Vera Salt Scrub peelings (25 mins 30 euros) etc etc
I did the Hot Stone Massage (for the very first time) and I thoroughly recommend it. It’s done by specialist therapist and I left the room feeling so relaxed. The stones are vulcanic and flat. Delightful!

The Animation of the hotel is done by a mix of professional acts (Flamenco, acrobats etc) and the resident Animation team which provide several types of services: swimming pool towels, kids actvites, sports activiites (like the Nordic walking we did and I thoroughly recommend as it gives a fantastic view from the mountains towards the whole of Puerto de Mogan) and the evening performances, normally adatpations of Mamma Mia, Grease etc.
Although they work really hard to provide an unpretensious entertainment evening as they’re all amateurs I felt that for a Hotel of that standard they sould have more professional shows and don’t rely so much in a group of young boys and girls from as far as Finland, Holand and even Portugal who were clearly very happy to do it but it’s always an unprofessional show and guests pay a lot of money to stay there therefore deserve something better.

The use of Internet is very expensive. 2 euros for 20 minutes which go very quick. They should have internet free for guests and also Wi-Fi areas.

Puerto de Mogan is a lovely place for a traditional quiet picturesque spanish holiday. Yes, you see plenty of germans and scandinavians but for us that’s an advantage not a disadvantage as we are not british. British tourists are definitely in a minority scale in this particular resort hence the amount of good quality food restaurants. Fish and Chips & fast food outlets are not easily found here.
The famous Friday Market is a tacky affair and I can’t understand why people come from the other side of the island to go there. Ok.. it’s got some nice stalls selling handicrafts but the majority are sellers trying to rip you off with fake designer goods.

We did the Yellow Submarine trip and I must warn you that is very expensive and not worth the money as you can hardly see anything on the sea bottom. It’s about 40 euros per person for less than an hour!

The beach is a must! 9 euros for a pair of sunloungers with parasol all day. Not bad.
The water was cold but once inside it’s a very rewarding experience and quite pleasant: the scenery around is breathtaking. The water is very clean and calm.

There’s plenty of restaurants, cafes and souvenir shops dotted around the harbour. Also boats to take you to other parts of the Island. Please avoid Puerto Rico and Maspalomas (Playa del Ingles side) as it’s full of uggly buildings and cheap food outlets. Warning: this side of Maspalomas is a gay area by excelence so if you go there don’t be surprised (as we were…).

Overall this one week holiday was magnificent and I had a wonderful Birthday. The Hotel made a big impression on us and the only thing I would say to finalise this review is: you need to go there to truly appreciate this Hotel and the resort . Need to see it to believe it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NatyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

We had a lovely holiday in the Cordial Hotel. The weather was perfect, the staff pleasant and helpful, the gardens beautiful, the food good with excellent choice of hot and cold meals, freshly cooked whilst you waited at the self service grills. There was an abundance of sun loungers and umbrellas at both pools, which were large and warm with a separate smaller pool for children. There were activiites throughout each day and entertainment of an evening which was not the best we have seen but acceptable to pass an hour. I would recommend asking for a sunny balcony as not all rooms enjoyed the sun. Puerta Mogan was quiet with pretty flower lined streets and it was very pleasant to stroll round the harbour and enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewisscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Even though the hotel is large,it never feels crowded.The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a choice of view over the pools on sunny or shaded sides.The staff are very friendly and attentive.We went half-board and the main restaurant was large with no queues for the buffet meals.Plenty of choice of starter and main dishes,but sometimes the latter were a little dry.Breakfast excellent with absolutely everything on offer-including bucks-fizz! The A-La-Carte restaurant within the hotel is beautifully designed and is very atmospheric.The grounds are magnificent with wonderful plants and trees-even labelled like horticultural gardens.Swimming pools are a special feature with plenty of sun-beds and shades and excellent snacks and drinks available by the pools.Evening entertainment was varied and good fun:one down-side in the show lounge was the restriction of the view in some places because of several large pillars.
Every facility one expects of a top class hotel was available,including in-house car hire.
The nearby Peurto Mogan town and harbour very pretty and well served with restaurants and bars.Overall,a wonderful place for a lovely holiday and the hotel is really worthy of an up-grade to 5 star rating.A very classy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cristerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Onthebeach so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing