We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cordial Mogan Playa
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts(Mogan)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$152
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,426)
Filter reviews
4,426 results
Traveller rating
3,301
909
169
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,301
909
169
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boarda la carte restaurantlos guayresevening mealmogan playahotel tourcactus gardenexcellent hotella fulajunior suiteblue buildinghotel groundslarge hotelbowling alleybotanical gardensmain restaurantcordial mogan
Filter
Updating list...
2,870 - 2,875 of 4,426 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

From, the moment of arrival service was excellent. Drink on arrival. They even remembered my husband's birthday with a cake and champagne for dinner at no cost. Excellent facilities in room including a topper provided to make the beds softer!. Lush tropical gardens and super food. Have travelled the world several times and this has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann7655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rel_hcmp, Guest Relations Manager at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

Dear Ann7655,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel.

It is a pleasure to make your trip memorable.The whole teamis determined to exceed guest expectations.

I hope we may look forward to your return visit in the not so distant future.


Kind Regards

Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Best appartments I've stayed in for a long while. Reception staff friendly, efficient and eager to please. One bedroom appartment is very spacious and ideal for family of 4 - good sofa beds (2 x single beds) with large balcony. Spotless and cleaning most days of the week, towel change every second day etc provided a comfortable and relaxing stay. Highly recommended. Only problem is trying to find a good deal as much of the availability seems to be block-booked by the major tour operators.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We chose this hotel following positive reviews on tripadvisor and it was fab ! We were fed up of the snow in Northumberland and it was our 30th Wedding Anniversay so went half board which we usually avoid mainly due to poor quality of food we have experienced in other hotels. Hotel was very clean , food was very good- fresh and plentiful ,gardens immaculate ,staff helpful rooms were comfortable and roomy ( just as well as my husband brought his road bike ! )- a special place to stay !!! We will defintely return - thought we would never say that about a 'package holiday ' hotel so it must be good ! Short pleasant walk to shops and seafront from hotel.- we walked down a night and had a coffee/drink after our evening meal .
Resort is lovely with sandy beach and lots of places to eat on the seafront . Prices for drinks vary so shop around ...and do NOT order sangria by the jug - it is twice the price of by the glass. Dont bother with a trip to Puerto Rico - Puerto Mogan is so much nicer.
Only improvement would be tea and coffee making facilities in room - we took travel kettle as we had read previous comments. My husband enjoyed the road biking very much but wished that he had hired one instead of taking his own( £40 with Thomas Cook ) - very good quality ( trek & speacilaised)bikes available to hire in the resort

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rel_hcmp, Guest Relations Manager at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

Dear Madam,

On behalf of the management team and staff we thank you for your positive feedback.

We appreciate all your comments and your kind words to our staff.Your words help us to keep on going in the right direction.

I hope we may look forward to your return visit in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The hotel was lovely, especially lovely as we were the last stop on the bus and we had been past a few horrors on the way! The staff were always friendly and helpful. Meals were nice and there was a lot of variety to choose from.The rooms were nothing special, but were clean and functional.
A week was probably long enough, my partner had just had knee surgery so we were starting to run out of options. Mogan is a nice place, with plenty of restaurants and not too busy. Whatever you do though, watch yourself if you go into puerto rico. Lots of timeshare people about!
Whereas I didn't particularly like Gran Canaria much itself and we always make a pact to try out new places, the great experience we had staying in mogan playa would sway us to make a return visit. Definitely would recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We hired a car and with the help of Google maps it was an easy drive from the airport to Mogan Playa Apartments. But then things went pear shaped. Eventually we found that when facing the Apartments building, the hotel is 100 yards down a road to your right – don't be put off by the red/striped barriers across this road, they rise as you approach.

The hotel is a linked chain of buildings set in gardens and spreading several hundred yards along the bottom of a steep sided valley running from the north towards the sea, where the port is. Hotel reception is at the north end, and rooms are in 3 or 4 story blocks.

On the advice of a previous poster (to whom many thanks), we booked room 7307, which has a nice large terrace. The room was excellent: spotless, and airy. We found the beds a bit hard – if you prefer soft ones, ask in advance.

The view from our terrace included a "Shopping Center" of unhinged modern design. The room is towards the south of the complex and is convenient if you want to use the nicer pool (see below) and to pop down to the port. The secret route to the port is to head south through the gardens, past the big blue building then along crazy-paving past the little church to another path headed south. The gate at the end gives you exit and re-entry using your room key; just 5 minutes stroll from the port.

The hotel gardens, buildings pools and furniture were very well maintained and the hotel's crew did an excellent job clearing up after our mini-hurricane (which, sadly, the Shopping Center survived).

We loved the gardens: they're all around you as soon as you step out the door and even if you're not into horticulture provide a wonderful green backdrop to the blue of the pools and sky.

There are 2 big pools: the one nearest the main building was used by serried ranks of sunbathers, while the one further down towards the port was better for swimming and felt less regimented. The irregular shape, varying depth and other swimmers meant we couldn't swim laps, but we got plenty of exercise zigzagging about.

Of our 11 days, 4 were overcast and/or very rainy. That suited us fine since we took plenty of books and sun-free days prevented overexposure the strong February sun. When it did rain we found we could stay fairly dry on our way to the hotel restaurant by using the first floor balconies – that left us with just a 20 yards dash.

The wild canaries we saw looked like fat sparrows with blond wingtips, and to compensate the hotel has a small aviary full of the tennis-ball varieties.

We had half board, and both breakfast and dinner were buffets. You get assigned an individual dinner table on your first night which you keep throughout your stay, so be prepared to negotiate to get what you want! Breakfast is open seating. We aren't keen on buffets, but the hotel worked very hard to make them as good as it can. We had eggs and omelets cooked to order for breakfasts, and steaks, fish etc fried to order for dinner. Wine and water were extras but not extortionate.

Like some other posters, we went to the port for some dinners and lunches. There are lots of restaurants there covering all price levels. White table cloth joints were about Euros 40 a head with wine, cheaper ones half that. Fresh fish was excellent, but you need to check it's local and hasn't been shipped in frozen. We ended up preferring the slightly cheaper places. We found we could eat outside comfortably in the evening – most restaurants had enclosed outside areas, and we rarely needed our jackets. And at lunchtime we never needed jackets.

Unlike some other posters, we met only nice Germans.

Only tiny negatives: the hotel's perimeter security is good but not perfect, so you'll need to rent the in-room safe as an extra. But it locks itself at 11AM on your last day, 1 hour before checkout time, which we found inconvenient. And if you sit in the basement atrium bar you get a strange combination of piano music wafting down from the floor above interfering with the music from the nearby Animation show. Incidentally, the latter seemed fine.

On driving: away from the coast roads we found the Canarian road signs awful and wished we'd taken SatNav. Signs are either non-existent or in wildly differing formats. What appears to be a sign pointing to the local Supermarket actually indicates a crucial town on (or more likely off) your route. And vice versa. This measure is possibly to thwart invaders, and it worked on us – we never made it to the centre of the island!

Still, we did manage to explore the coastal resorts, and decided that the combination of the Cordial Mogan Playa and its little port make it the best resort on the Island.

The only fly (no pun) in the ointment is Las Palmas airport, quite the worst we've encountered. But that's another story...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeremyTMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews