We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT! (except for the bed)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! (except for the bed)”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed here for 12 nights recently with our 3-year-old and absolutely loved it.
weather - perfect. 28c or so. didn't rain at all while we were there. sunny with a nice breeze all day long.
Before we left, we were thinking of renting a car to go sightseeing, etc, but ended up hanging by the pool at the hotel everyday. That's how much we liked it there! Our son enjoyed playing on the man-made beach and in the pool all day. It was easy to keep him in the shade with the parasol while he played in the sand. The sun beds are placed very close together, but we had enough space since it was not high season.

I read the reviews and decided to do half-board which was perfect for us. Breakfast - waffles, pastries, baguettes, cooked to order omelette, fruit were delicious! tea was horrible. glad I brought my own tea bags from home. Dinner - fish and meat grilled right at the counter, chocolate fountain, homemade chocolate ice cream were to die for. We had lunch at the pool side bar a few times. food is not great, but handy. Some days we just got stuff from the supermarket across the street.

Our son loved the kids' disco which was on most nights 8-8:30pm. We didn't use the Mini Club. There is a giant chess set outside and he loved playing with it in the evening when it had cooled down. There are beautiful flowers growing all around the compound.

The mattress was really hard. It maybe suitable for people with back problems, but it's very uncomfortable especially if you're pregnant. The fold away bed for my son was more comfortable. This is the only thing that would keep me from going back to this hotel.

The fridge in the room is left empty so, you can stock up on water, etc from the supermarket. There's no kettle.

From/To the airport - we booked a car with A2Btransfer and it was great. We got a E class Mercedes and had a very comfortable ride to the hotel which was about 45 min.

The staff are very friendly and I also liked the fact that most of the guests were very civilized (except for the family who let their kids pee in the shower by the pool and even do #2).

Puerto de Mogan - there is a pedestrian only street that leads all the way to town. 6-7 min walk with a 3-year-old. We ate lunch at one of the restaurants there and the food was amazingly good and cheap. there aren't many shops there, tho.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daburin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,012
    789
    151
    28
    12
See reviews for
1,075
2,353
87
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just back from this hotel and resort, beware this is the quietist place in the Canary Islands. The hotel is not really up to the reviews as shown on this site. I would class it as 3star plus. The amenities are what pulls it up to 4 star. Make sure you see staff before you sit down for dinner, if you sit at the wrong table you can be in serious trouble! There are two sittings for dinner and you have to sit at the same table every evening for dinner. The food at the buffet is often cold and not of a very high standard. Breakfast is passable because of the Cava but don't expect anything for British tastes. If you get the later sitting for dinner it is 8.30pm and after wards take a gentle stroll to the town and i can guarantee it will be closed.
Everything shuts down at 11pm latest. The busy day is Friday when the market is on buit this finishes at 2pm. Also the local bars increase their prices for market days. Expect a beer at the marina to go up from 3 euros to 4 and a half on Friday lunch time. Don't take kids or teenagers they will be bored rigid. The hotel staff seem okay but not outwardly friendly. You become invisble at times and it is annoying when trying to get a drink in the hotel bar. If you are Spanish or German they spot you straight away, strange! The pool areas are nice, use the one nearest reception if you want to avoid Spanish children. Strange system with pool towels which you can only obtain between 9 and 12. All in all not bad hotel, clean enough but certainly does not warrant all the previous enthusiastic reports....and try and find a room with efficient and quiet air conditioning, great to get home for a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalesund, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Most of the previous reports have said all I have in my mind about Cordial Mogan Playa. This hotel is just fantastic! I can’t find anything negative to say about the hotel. Friendly and service minded staff does their utmost to make you comfortable. The service is unique from arrival to departure. We got a room in the building we sent a request for (7321 - top floor with ocean view) and had a memorable week. We stay b/b and the breakfast selection was great, even cava to those desired. Breakfast time was flexible from 7:30 to 10:30.

The hotel is clean and it is very cheerful colours everywhere. Our room was brilliant, with fantastic view. Shield balcony overlooking the pool, the village and the sea. Comfort bed and 2 comfort chairs. Spacious bath room. The towels changed daily and twice a week the bed sheets. Pool towels are provided, which can be changed on a daily basis from the attendant at the poolside. You get a card for pool towels by your arrival.

Enough pool chairs with cushions and umbrellas available and they were in good condition. Luxurious botanic garden distributed over a surface of 48,000 square meters with over 200 species of subtropical plants. If you stay in distance from the reception building, you can take a shortcut to the playa and the centre by walking through the garden. Use your key card in the gateway close to Playa de Mogan.

Celebrated my 60th birthday with a friend at the hotel in March. I recommend Pool Bar La Sama, open 11:00-18:00 hrs, buffet 13:00-15:30 with good selection. We had nice birthday buffet together with local friends at the calm terrace with view to the little chapel. We was also invited to the managers cocktail party our last night, but sadly we already had another invitation we want to enjoy.

All in all; a relaxing and wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AuroraNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We've just returned from our second stay at the Mogan Playa, having enjoyed our stay so much last year we decided to return this. I won't repeat in detail what most of the other reviews have already stated - the rooms are well furnished, gardens and pools beautiful, generally good quality food (especially breakfast). Just a couple of observations though:

I'd requested a lower floor room near the junior suites (due to relatives staying here) beforehand through emailing the hotel. They accommodated the floor request, however put us in block 1, which is about as far from the suites as you can get, and the hotel was far from full. When I questioned this, the original request was acknowledged but little else.

The junior suites are really not worth the cost difference over the standard rooms. The extra balcony space is mostly taken up by the two sun loungers shoe-horned in, and with only two chairs round the table if a group of you go away and more than two of you want to sit outside you can't (oddly the apartments next door have four chairs). You still have to pay for a safe, there was no wifi (despite what the website suggests) and a late checkout was extra. Given the cost difference these should really be included.

On our visit to the spa the jacuzzi had been over chlorinated, so much so that after a few moments in it our throat and noses started to burn. A fellow guest told us that they had had the same problem two years ago. To be fair they returned the cost and offered another visit free, but only after I escalated the complaint.

Don't leave without visiting the a-la-carte, the food is brilliant - do it towards the end of your holiday though as it makes the pretty good buffet seem a bit poor in comparison!

Don't book a late checkout room through the tour operator. The hotel is cheaper and even if you do book beforehand the hotel still can't tell you if you have your room or not until the day you leave.

Don't let these things put you off - it really is a great hotel, there are just one or two things it could improve upon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Beautiful hotel, well run, clean and with fantastic facilities.
Helpful staff and great food.
The rooms are clean, quiet and well laid out.
As with most resorts- not the most comfy beds, but more than adequate. Lovely bright and clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Mogan, Gran Canaria.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This was out 3rd year at the Cordial Mogan and it was, again, a thoroughly enjoyable time had by us all. My son, who will be 3 this year, loves playing in the pool and running around the grounds and gardens and through the waterfalls. The gardens are extensive and walking around them is entertainment in itself. The situation of the hotel is ideal for children as there are no roads for quite a way so no worries of any accidents. The hotel is situated just far enough away from the harbour to make it a nice peaceful place but close enough for a gentle stroll. The staff in the hotel are always on hand to make our stay as hassle free and enjoyable as possible and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The restauarant offers an array of different foods and again service in there is impecable. The kids club provides good entertainment for the children. The harbour has some lovely shops with a variety of local produce. We have booked our 4th trip to this hotel and we are all excited and thoroughly looking forward to going. We are sure our 4th stay will be as enjoyable as the last 3. The staff and stay in the hotel really makes us feel very special and looked after.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobytime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay on h/board. Won't go in to too much detail but the main points were:
Good clean bedroom and bathroom exactly where I had requested, towels were a bit old and need replacing, plenty of toiletries. Had to pay for safe but fridge was free which was good as it was extremely hot when we were there.
Two beautiful pool areas set in lovely gardens full of flowers and cactus with flowing waterfalls, plenty of towels - only given one but could change it whenever you wanted. Not too much keeping of chairs in the morning, we could always find somewhere nice to sit.
Food can be a matter of opinion, we found that breakfast was good - plenty of choice with eggs and omelets being cooked to order, dinner was alright - not fantastic but not bad, and wine was quite expensive for what it was.The setting made up for it out on the terrace.
We did not take part or watch any of the entertainment so can't comment on this.
The town and port of Mogan are beautiful, small and very pretty with some nice shops and restaurants. The beach is sandy and 2 chairs and umbrella are 9E for the day.
The staff at the hotel are some of the best we have come across, very friendly and helpful, and this is one of the reasons we will return. If anyone wants to ask me any questions, please pm me and I will do my best to help.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
812 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,046 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing