We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable day out at 'Curraghs Wildlife Park' for a couple of big kids at heart...”

Curraghs Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ballaugh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Curraghs Wildlife Park is on the Ballaugh Curragh which is a site of special scientific interest and designated as an internationally recognised wetland habitat of importance (Ramsar site). With nearly 100 different species set in over 30 acres of open walk through exhibits and a beautiful tranquil setting this is a wildlife Park with a difference. The Park is s laid out in geographic regions; African Bush, Asian Swamp, European Marsh, Amazon forest, American Trail, Outback and the Pampas. In the popular children's adventure play ground area you will find the Meerkats and Prairie dogs. The Orchard line miniature railway is one of the longest miniature railway line in the British Isles and is loved by all ages, it runs every Sunday as well as other holiday days. With the Giant Bouncy Jumping Pillow and Mni-diggers this is the premier all day attraction on the Isle of Man. For rainy days there is an indoor soft play area to keep the kids entertained.Summer 2014 will see the adition of an exciting new play area called 'Enchanted Wood'. The restaurant is open every day and serves everything from snacks, home baking and ice creams to sit down meals. The nature trail is an excellent easily accessible way to see the Curragh (Manx willow bog) and all the diverse indigenous species it supports. You can spend a whole day here and just relax but even if you only have a couple of hours it's still worth the visit. We are open every day from 10am-6pm from Easter until the end of October, in the winter we are open weekends and school holidays. We are a BIAZA and EAZA member attraction.
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We've just spent a 'very' enjoyable day out at 'Curraghs Wildlife Park' we arrived just after 11am and we didn't leave until just before 5pm. So much value for so little money at £8.40 each I particularly enjoyed seeing the Otters, Meerkats and Prairie Dogs (I even climbed into the viewing pod to view the Prairie Dog still a big kid at heart at 40). I managed to capture some great photos on my camera as a lasting memory of our trip out. I would really recommend a trip out for families and as myself and my husband did as a couple. Finally thank you to one of the members of staff who was feeding one of the Otters as I captured my best shot there due to the lady keeping the Otters attention. We will visit again.

1  Thank mel_marsden60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We really appreciate it when people give us feedback; we love hearing that people have had a ‘very’ good day. Staff are always happy to help make it a good day for our visitors. We are so glad you enjoyed the Park and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great animal"
in 4 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 5 reviews
"value for money"
in 11 reviews
"isle of man"
in 19 reviews
"new arrivals"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 11 reviews
"little boy"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 2 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 2 reviews
"entry price"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic family"
in 3 reviews
"per adult"
in 2 reviews
"children and adults"
in 2 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 2 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 9 reviews
"overlooking the lake"
in 2 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent about 5 hours at the wildlife park and had a great time. We hadn't been to the Isle of Man for 10 years and had previously been to the wildlife park in the 1990's and we could see a really big improvement from then. It's a very refreshing change from the historical attractions on the Island and I would recommend any visitors to include the park in their itinerary. The animals appear to be well cared for and there was a lot of useful information available throughout the park. We found the café to be good value with good quality food. We will be back next time we are lucky enough to be on the Isle of Man.

1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are really pleased you had a lovely day and thank you for visiting and taking the time to post a review. We hope you do make it back some day and you will see further developments as the Park never stops evolving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My family and I visited the Wildlife Park on Sunday 11th August. We really enjoyed the falconry display although we couldn’t hear what the man was saying because there was no sound system.

We thought the meerkats and prairie dogs were very cute and entertaining. When we first arrived the spider monkeys were sleeping on the monkey island, however, we spotted them later on in the day chasing each other around their enclosure. We were disappointed because we couldn’t see the tapirs, racoons and red panda.

The lama was displaying strange behaviour; he appeared to be stressed as he kept running up and down his enclosure and trying to squeeze through a small gap in the fence. He looked lonely, does he have a partner? We all enjoyed watching the wallabies hopping about. I think that the signage could be improved to help people navigate their way around the park. I love the new adventure playground and the bouncing pillow. Overall we had a great afternoon.

Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we are glad you had a good day.

The Falconry display was very busy, and it was one of the biggest crowds we’ve had. As it happens usually just twice a year a fixed PA system is not justifiable but this year we have purchased a potable PA for daily talks, it wasn’t suitable as it has a hand held microphone for the Falconer but we are going to purchase a headset so that he can use that next year.

The Lama -Guanaco is quite a character; he used to be free roaming with the public but had a tendency to ‘chase’ people, he is harmless but if people ran he would follow which lead to many visitors feeling extremely scared. Thus the decision was made to erect a fence to keep him out of the public area, often he is quite relaxed but he does miss being in with the public and will at times walks up and down the fence as he sees the whole of the Pampas as his territory. We do not wish to breed from him as he does not have the best genetics, another male companion can actually lead to stress as they fight for hierarchy. Always feel free to ask a member of staff about any animal questions you have while on your visit, we are happy to answer your questions.

Thanks for the visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I took my grandson & 2 nieces to the wild life park.They were allowed to stroke the owls & saw the meerkats get fed. I thought the prices were a little steep but they do have the upkeep of the animals. There are also play areas for the children to play. I would recommend taking a picnic as there are many areas to eat

1  Thank evie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are glad you had a good day and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Throughout the summer holidays (and weekends beyond that) we have a what’s on guide every day (just pick it up in reception as you come in). We do feed and talk times at the Penguins, Meerkats and we have encounters on, you got to meet one of the Parks Owl’s but we also do ‘Bugs alive’ and snake encounters on a regular basis. On Sunday the 11th of August we have a Falconry display, as we do try to give visitors value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I and our 5yr old granddaughter visited in August, the animals listed looked interseting and the park an ideal half day out for us to enjoy. Ours first suprise was the price, 22 pounds entry fee, the animals were either missing or at best 'singular' despite the advertised numbers. The whole place looked untidy with the animal areas dissapointing, the African areas and Australian areas were particulary poor ( having visited both countries). The cafe was so bad it deserves a category all of it's own. I was served a lukewarm weak coffee by an assistant who was telling another memnber of staff about an upcoming dentist visit whilst serving me, even my sarcastic comment about the standard of service went without notice as she was so busy in her conversation. The childrens menu was amazing, everything served 'n' beans !! What are 'n' beans ?? Altogether a very poor place to visit, would be so much better to visit a good Zoo

3  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

At £8.40 and adult and £5.20 a child (under 3’s free) and £22 a family ticket (2 adults+2 children) we are cheaper than many zoological collections of a similar size in the UK. As a comparison a trip to the cinema would cost you the same and offer under 2hrs entertainment. The average length of stay here at the park is 3-4hrs with some people spending all day here.

We have many groups and pairs of animals but it is true that we have some singular animals at the moment. As many of our animals are EEP or ESB species (this refers to the studbook status in Europe) they are controlled as part of a co-ordinated breeding effort with all the good zoos. This is so that zoo animals (many are endangered or threatened in the wild) can be maintained in a genetically healthy population because zoo’s no longer take animals from the wild and in a few cases even breed for release purposes where possible. When an animal’s partner dies the studbook keeper must be consulted, they will recommend a specific animal that you must bring into your collection, sometimes there is not one available and you may have to wait until the ‘right’ genetic match comes up (rather than source just the next available animal). Then there are all kinds of import and export licences to be stamped by various officials. It can take anything from 2 months to over a year. Many animals are solitary in the wild, but where a companion is vital, sometimes a non-breeding partner can be sourced quickly (same sex companion for example). One single animal we have at the moment is our male Tapir, his ‘wife’ died of old age a couple of months ago, we have now had a recommendation from the studbook and can commence the paper work and should have a new ‘wife’ by the end of September.

The Park is laid out so the animals are displayed in geographic regions, and we utilize the natural landscape. What we don’t do is say that the regions look like the landscape. We have made many improvements recently and Australia is due for a re-vamp, hopefully you can appreciate the low visitor numbers that the Isle of Man has and that resources are not endless but we have put more investment into the park than income in recent years and there is a commitment to continuing to improve.

The cafe is leased as a business and I spoke to the cafe proprietor about your comments. He said that he is very sorry if you did not receive full attention, as they always aim to give good customer service, and they welcome feedback from their customers. The server you had that day did notice your comment but chose not to be rude or sarcastic in return (but recognises an apology might have been appropriate). The coffee machine is regularly serviced and has a temperature control but they are sorry if you felt it was not hot enough. I am not sure if the ‘n’ beans is a dissatisfaction with the grammar or that everything came with beans. There are healthy options for kids such as the lunch box which can have sandwiches and fruit in it, they also do things like spaghetti bolognaise, and any kids meal doesn’t have to have beans, you can substitute it for peas or salad.

I hope I have addressed your issues as we are genuinely disheartened to here when visitors have not had a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curraghs Wildlife Park also viewed

Laxey, Isle of Man
 
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to Curraghs Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing