We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red panda”

Curraghs Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ballaugh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Curraghs Wildlife Park is on the Ballaugh Curragh which is a site of special scientific interest and designated as an internationally recognised wetland habitat of importance (Ramsar site). With nearly 100 different species set in over 30 acres of open walk through exhibits and a beautiful tranquil setting this is a wildlife Park with a difference. The Park is s laid out in geographic regions; African Bush, Asian Swamp, European Marsh, Amazon forest, American Trail, Outback and the Pampas. In the popular children's adventure play ground area you will find the Meerkats and Prairie dogs. The Orchard line miniature railway is one of the longest miniature railway line in the British Isles and is loved by all ages, it runs every Sunday as well as other holiday days. With the Giant Bouncy Jumping Pillow and Mni-diggers this is the premier all day attraction on the Isle of Man. For rainy days there is an indoor soft play area to keep the kids entertained.Summer 2014 will see the adition of an exciting new play area called 'Enchanted Wood'. The restaurant is open every day and serves everything from snacks, home baking and ice creams to sit down meals. The nature trail is an excellent easily accessible way to see the Curragh (Manx willow bog) and all the diverse indigenous species it supports. You can spend a whole day here and just relax but even if you only have a couple of hours it's still worth the visit. We are open every day from 10am-6pm from Easter until the end of October, in the winter we are open weekends and school holidays. We are a BIAZA and EAZA member attraction.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Red panda”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Love coming to take photos here and always manage to see the red panda. Came last year with couple of friends and went on the giant pillow what is ace. Great for a little island like ours and prob see them again soon

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are really glad you had a great day. The Red pandas are particularly active at the moment as we have 3 in total, in two enclosures opposite each other. The young male who joined us recently has been causing quite a lot of interest from our original pair and you can always see at least one of them at the moment. We do hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    36
    18
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Last week we visited the park with my partner and 2 daughters aged 2 and 10 years old We all had a brilliant time and spent an easy 6 hours there looking at the animals and playing on the parks, especially the zip wire and diggers! Naturally as dad I had to try these out several times ! It's a lovely day out and next time we visit the island we will pay another visit.

Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are really pleased you had such a brilliant day and thanks for taking the time to write about it. We will see you again the next time you visit the Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My children loved this place so much that they wanted to go back the next day (and we would've if we'd not been coming home). The animals look so happy and well cared for, I have never been so close to a pelican or a lemur! The setting is just beautiful. The staff are friendly and informative and brilliant with the never ending questions by children! The jumping pillow is ace......and not just for kids! The enchanted wood playground is....enchanting plus there is a further playground and soft play area. The play areas are all spaced out which is great with little ones as you can look at the animals, have a play, look at the next section and then play again. The cafe is great value, particularly the kids food. Worth every penny of the entrance fee, we had a full day out here.
We had a fantastic time. I cannot recommend enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank K7817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the Park.

It is worth mentioning for other holiday visitors and yourself if you return to the IoM; we do a 7 day ticket which means you can return as often as you like for just £4 for a family, this £4 can be paid as you leave the park to up-grade your day ticket to a 7 day ticket. So if you have enjoyed your day and want to return to use the facilities in the next 7 days it costs you as little as £1 per person to do as many return visits as you like in those 7 days (but you must up-grade on the day of your first visit). As you were on the last day of your holiday you weren’t able to take advantage of this but maybe next time! Many people take advantage of this particularly to use the play facilities and yes adults love the Jumping Pillow as well so we would agree it’s not just for kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunny day out”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

To be honest this is really a park for children and we didn't have any with us. Certainly a beautiful sunny day helped and there are a huge range of activities for children of all ages. Also, in contrast to other posts, the grounds are well kept. But there really were a lack of animals...many enclosures but few animals ...it has been a hot day, so probably most were sleeping!! The cafe is excellent and the ice cream wonderful!! Not sure if this needs to be addressed ..perhaps calling it a children's theme park with some animals might be better..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucylocket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to visit us and post a review. We are Glad you had a pleasant day. The children’s activities and play areas have been added in recent years and are really important to encourage regular visits from locals which help support the animal collection, but there are no less enclosures than there have ever been. Certainly we have spacious paddocks with plenty places for animals to seek cover. Sometimes going around twice means you see animals that you missed the first time. We also have plans to develop the animal collection further this year and next year. The Flamingos have just moved down to the lake so we will be developing that enclosure this year for a new species. Hope to see you again if you are back in the Isle of Man!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great animal park!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great park. We had a great day just wandering about looking at the animals and watching them being fed. A good day out for the family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynne1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We are really glad you had a great day and thanks for posting a review! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curraghs Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Curraghs Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing