We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Draper family "Thankyou, simply brilliant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballamoar Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballaugh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballamoar Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Draper family "Thankyou, simply brilliant"”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Everyone else has already said it! Superb 15 night stay, excellent site, facilities always clean, limitless hot water, Steve incredibly generous with everything, washers/dryers a nominal cost, dvd's, books etc available to borrow, excellent views, Tough Mann worth watching if you happen to be there early Aug. We avoided TT/GP due to crowds and this being our first visit to this magnificent Isle, will return for sure, maybe see bikes next time. Cannot praise the site or the island enough. WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

In over 10 years of camping i have to say that we found Ballamoar to be up there with the best. I my wife and 2 children stayed a week here in August 2014 ,the facilities are top notch ,superb showers /toilets, hot showers all the time and at no charge and immaculately clean always , kitchen area is superb free coffee and tea with a boiler always on ,ample fridge space (2 large fridges ) stocked with milk , wall sockets availible to recharge phones laptops once again at no cost ,tv and dvd player also availible , a laundery room with washing machines and dryers .The site is clean and tidy and has a nice friendly atmosphere plenty of room for the kids to kick a ball around or each other :-) in safety ,bins are collected and emptied numerous times throughout the day ,all of this topped off with the beautiful views all around,i sat for many hours enjoying the peace and tranquility . The local town of Ballaugh isnt even a 5 minute walk and has a spar shop and The Raven bar also has a bus stop with a bus every 15 or 20 mins allowing you easy access to the rest of the island ,and last but certainly not least is Steve the owner of the site ,Steve is a thorough gent always on hand early in the morning and late at night very welcoming and always on hand to help out ,keep up the good work Steve and we ll see you again next year . regards Owen

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had to think twice about posting a review, wanted to keep this camp site all to ourselves, fantastic facilities, showers are better than most hotels that we have stayed in, this is our second visit with our children and have already booked for two stays next year, Steve the owner is a true gentleman who keeps the site to a high standard and takes pride in doing so, nothing is to much trouble for him he always has time to speak to everyone , how does he manage this with the running of the campsite is a credit to the man. Anybody visiting the Isle of Man and looking for a site to camp or rent an igloo then look no further this place is amazing. My kids have already told Steve that I want to live here, and the truth is I COULD, we are residents on the island and this is our escape and we love it, having stayed on sites throughout the UK and Ireland this is beyond doubt the most relaxed friendly and clean site we have ever had the pleasure to stay on, A big thank you to Steve another fantastic stay. PS if you do stay here please help by using the recycling bins,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have just returned from a long weekend camping in Ballaugh - stayed in one of the wooden pods - warm, clean, dry and cosy! Came with its own fridge, electricity and heating ( which thankfully, we didn't need!). The facilities are second-to-none... clean hot showers and toilet block, superb kitchen preparation room, complete with 2 huge fridge-freezers to store food in, microwave ovens, toaster, free tea and coffee, games, books, DVDs. We all enjoyed it so much, we're heading back soon! Thanks Steve - you provide a great facility!

Room Tip: Well kept campsite - quiet, excellent facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Johns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have recently brought our caravan home with us to the Isle of Man and on the recommendation of a friend took it up to the site for the summer.

The site has great facilities with a kitchen available and the toilets and showers are really clean and well looked after.

Steve who runs the site is friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and after touring all over the UK this is one of the best sites we have ever stayed at and price wise it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in wooden pod, 3 people, and were well impressed.

Campsite well-run by Steve, who was very welcoming and friendly. All facilities were very clean and in working order. Hot showers, clean toilets. Kitchen/club room equipped with 2 big fridge freezers, tea coffee and milk, instant boiling water, TV/video, big tables and benches that we used for evening board games. Washing machines & tumble dryers in a separate cabin. Clear rules about no noisy behaviour between 11pm and 6am.

Safe for children to ride bikes and kick a ball around, as there's minimal car movement, and only one way in and out of the site. Flat pitches.

The pods are very cosy and well equipped: lights, power points, heater, mini fridge, foam mattresses, and plenty of storage space under the bunks. Outside, there's a small deck and fenced grassy area, so you can always find a sheltered spot for book reading.

5 mins walk away is a Spar mini supermarket and the Raven pub, which serves decent food. It's a great base for walking and cycling in the north of the island. The views are great, over the hills, and we were lucky in having big blue skies. The loudest noises we heard were the cows in the farm next door.

Highly recommended for getting away from it all.

Room Tip: Book a pod!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRatAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fab trip. Two families stayed in the two igloo's. Was very impressed with site and size of igloo. Perfect for us with kids and very dog friendly. We love Spotty the dog and wanted to take him home. Highly recommend, great value for money. We will be back. Thx Steve for a great stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hktracy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballaugh
10.9 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
575 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
333 reviews
4.9 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
283 reviews
28.5 mi away
Mull of Galloway Holidays
34.0 mi away
Cornmill Bed & Breakfast
Cornmill Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Garlieston
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballamoar Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballamoar Campsite

Property: Ballamoar Campsite
Address: Ballaugh Glen Road, Ballaugh IM7 5EE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ballaugh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ballaugh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing