We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hawthorn

The Hawthorn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Crosby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have been twice now this year and I cant fault this very well run foodhouse.
Its such good value and we had the Gammon and The Cajun spiced Chicken for Mains .our plates were cleaned and very well enjoyed.we had all 3 courses and had drinks all for a very reasonable cost, they got a good tip for being spot on with their lovely newly furbished establishment, Good luck for this year and the future keep up the good work to Johny H , Dad and his very loyal staff.

Helpful?
Thank moonlightin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Yesterday was our first visit to The Hawthorn since its makeover. The new room is modern and alot more spacious but is a complete contrast to the other half of the restaurant (I presume they will be updating the old half at some point). Our starters were lovely, well presented and we have no complaints. The mains were also very good, however the chips were terrible, this maybe a one off. We just think its such a shame to spoil a really well cooked meal with what should be the easiest part of the dish. Service was just right and we will return because we really like this venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazze57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Valentine's dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a nice and very reasonably priced Valentine's set dinner, however the service was not good; we had to get up and go to the bar for drinks after trying to get someone's attention for 10 minutes; people who came in after us were on their main course before we got our starters and 2 of us had ordered Pork medallions and were served pork escalope without any explanation or apology. Also, whilst I appreciate that we aren't in the first flush of youth, there was no need for the older waitress to shout her conversation with us - she had clearly decided we were hard of hearing for some reason!
Not being a dessert lover I was disappointed that I couldn't have cheese or fresh fruit salad as an alternative, but I am sure this would be available from the normal menu.
Overall a nice meal but it felt a bit pretentious and lacked atmosphere and efficiency.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank magwWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“yum!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just had lunch here. Had the lamb chops with red wine jui, broccoli, green beans and roasted new pots in jackets......absolutely delicious, was sorry when I had finished!!!
For pud..chocolate marquis...equally delicious...............loads of calories on the hips but worth it. Ha ha!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargieQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A good end to the old year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a meal here on New Year's eve, it was fairly quiet at first as we were early but as we started on our tasty first course of salmon carpaccio more people started to arrive. Our main course, guinea fowl and duck, were delicious but could have done with a bit more sauce. Service and price was good. Puddings were very tasty too. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galliniboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hawthorn also viewed

Crosby, Isle of Man
 
Onchan, Isle of Man
Ballaugh, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Hawthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing