We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With a View”
Review of Regency Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regency Art Hotel
Ranked #53 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A value-for-money hotel in Macau, located on the island of Taipa nearby the Governor Nobre de Carvalho Bridge (the old bridge). Room was well-appointed, comfortable, with a great view over the water to central Macau (except for the junkyard across the street from the hotel!). I thought the room was consistently a bit cold though and the air-conditioner control did not seem to actually perform any discernable function. A negative is lack of free WiFi throughout the hotel. It's available for free in the lobby and rather pricey in the rooms (I believe I was quoted MOP 160/day). That said, lack of free WiFi throughout seems commonplace amongst hotels in Macau. The breakfast buffet offers a little bit of everything including Western favourites, Chinese items and even some Indian choices. I made use of the hotel's outdoor swimming pool every day and it was quite nice. My understanding though is that the pool is closed throughout the winter months.

If coming from the Macau Airport, the local MT2 bus stops just beyond the Regency Hotel for a cash fare of MOP 4.20 (bus stop: Esparteiro/Lou Lim Ieoc). Use the MT1 bus to return to the airport. The hotel runs an hourly shuttle until 20:00 to the center of Macau (Grand Lisboa area), the ferry terminal and then back to the hotel. I took the hotel shuttle to town a few times but never tried to take it back to the hotel (easier to simply catch a city bus). The 28A bus runs to /from the Ferry Terminal if the hotel shuttle isn't convenient (cash fare: MOP 4.20).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_OvenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very comfortable stay. We checked in at 12 at night and the reception was not so good. However later experiences were better.

Rooms were ok but the spa is very good and so is the pool.

Convinient location opposite a bust stop. It takes you to Venetian as well as Cotai beach.

Buffet breakfast was good.

There was a shuttle drop till the port.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank savvyrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed in the Regency Hotel in Macau in the month of March 2013.

The hotel is superb. I was put in a reasonably spacious room on the 7th floor. The room was tastefully furnished with many essential elements: a large TV, a tea maker with teabags, mineral water bottles, a writing desk etc. The bathroom was large and clean enough to give me a very cozy feeling. Actually, the entire hotel was super clean and the management makes every effort to maintain that.

Regency Hotel, Macau has a well-served restaurant as well. I had some delicious breakfasts there. Lots of options in the buffet and one can enjoy it in their specious dining area.

I must mention the only disappointing feature about this hotel: there is no free internet in the hotel rooms. One must buy very expensive wifi cards from the reception to use it in the room. However, free wifi is available in the lobby (ground floor).

Room Tip: Try to take a room facing the sea on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somdev30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Although economical away from the hub of action and not a very good hotel either and cannot really recommend and wouldn't stay again if I went to Macau--Beds not the best, rooms ok size wise not furnished well though, views from the room quite nice as was the breakfast --had to travel to the other part of Macau where all the touristic spots were

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areful I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

its a waste an old classic hotel like this remaining not renewed like this, Lobby is old, smells humid everywhere. Design is so nice, room size is perfect but, is old old. Please someone take this hotel, close down a while, renew and open service again.
This hotel is good for those who come to Macau not only for gambling but, for good food, relaxation or special event.
Hotel is in Taipa island reaching city by taxi 10-15 mins, by bus 30-40mins but, around hotel there are famous local restaurants. Just opposite is new Altira hotel casino, a good alternative for gamblers (but no blackjack!).
Who says, breakfast is good, means haven't stayed at hotels at all. It was one of the worst hotel breakfast i had. Little choices, cold tea and coffee.

But in the end, if you have catched good deal you can still enjoy the nice pool area, desserts and food was good. Pool area have shadows of trees, feels like a tropical island (all u need is sunshine :)

Room Tip: Old hotel, deserves less than 80USD a night max. SPA and Pool area is somehow good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vecihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Regency Hotel is situated in Taipa and is one of the first hotels you see when you cross the bridge from Macau to Taipa. Location wise it straddles between Macau and Cotai casinos. We stayed here for two nights while on our first trip to Macau. The room was spacious and had a good harbor view overlooking the bay towards Macau island. The rooms appeared old, but the support staff were prompt. The complimentary breakfast / brunch spread was huge, but primarily consisted of asian fares. The property has a club with a okay gym and a spa facility. They have a huge pool and a garden on the backside. Since we were out most of the time, we did not get a chance to use any of it. Although they have a shuttle service, it is not frequent. The bus-stop is right outside of the Hotel, and there are frequent buses going towards Macau and Cotai strip. There is nothing to do close-by and one needs to take a cab or bus ride to reach some happening place. I would recommend this place for someone looking for a quiet place away from casino.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor and with a view towards Macau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay_FR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The lobby, and hallways look great. My gripe is with the rooms. They are a tad old and in dire need of updating. The furniture and dresser drawers are old and chipping paint. The beds are shabby and need to be replaced. The bathrooms look to have been updated within the last 10 years, but need help as well. The rooms remind me of some of the downtown casinos in Las Vegas. For the most part, the rooms were clean. I probably wouldn't stay here again until some renovations to the room are done. Loved the free buffet breakfast though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taipa Square
Hotel Taipa Square
#51 of 94 in Macau
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview Hotel
Grandview Hotel
#58 of 94 in Macau
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#48 of 94 in Macau
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Art Hotel

Address: No.2 Estrada Almirante Marques Esparteiro, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Macau
#25 Casino Hotel in Macau
#40 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £71 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Art Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regency Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing