We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience-got smoking room even after requesting NS”
Review of Casa Real Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Real Hotel
Ranked #39 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I booked the room thru hotels.com and requested the Non Smoking room 3 months in advance. I explained that I have allergies but ONLY got the response that nothing else was available. If they had notified even by email, I would have gone for another hotel. its the worst hotel experience so far for me. I checked in on 25th dec for one night - 3 beds.

Room Tip: verify before you go what kind of room you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baltimoremd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed here in early November 2012. Upon arriving at around 2:30 pm we went to check-in but had to wait an hour since the room wasn't ready yet. They gave us a voucher for some free drinks at the small cafe in the lobby. The room was nice and spacious. Clean and very comfortable beds. The hotel breakfast buffet wasn't bad and had a decent selection along with cooked to order eggs on the far end of the buffet. The hotel staff was very friendly. My traveling companion became sick the morning before we arrived and she tried to sleep it off. After awhile I went downstairs to try and find some medicine. The little store in the lobby didn't have anything for the stomach so one of the employees walked me over to a pharmacy which was just aroutnd the corner from the hotel. Luckily he spoke English and chines and was able to translate since the workers in the pharmacy didn't speak English. The hotel also had a casino which was basically 3 levels of pretty much only baccarat and all in Chinese, no English writing or speaking dealers that I came across. On the third floor is one roulette machine which has an option for English on the screen.
Overall the hotel stay was great. Pricy but that's to bro expected in Macau.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel is very nice. Small but decent lobby. Rooms are freshly renovated and very good. The worse part is the food. Breakfast menu is limited with no options for Vegetarians. The hotel has a casino that gets a steady stream of patrons and that seems to be the main focus of the hotel management. Will stay again if given a choice but make alternate arrangements for BF.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank GurpreetAmrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed at Casa Real for 2 days while travelling to Macau with friends (3 persons in one room). Not very impressed with this property considering what i paid. Personally i think you should pay a bit more and stay in a proper casino hotel like the Venetian or Galaxy. You will love the view and you will be closer to where the ac action is.
Personally, i would rate this hotel 3 star and not 4 star.

Pros:
Very near to the ferry terminal. Infact you can just walk over to the ferry
Clean Rooms
Decent breakfast (Never had dinner or lunch at the hotel)

Cons
Terribe View. Our room looked out to back of a multi storied apartment.
Inhouse casino is for namesake. Too few tables and its best to venture out to play
The room is average size.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a better view. Ask the reception to give you non-internal facing room. Ask for di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajay_Datta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed my last night in Macau at the Casa Real because I had to take the 7:30am ferry to the airport and it is located at walking distance from the terminal. I had stayed the previous days at the Rio. Casa Real has much better rooms, renovated and trendy. Internet is free, but in the rooms they only offer cable access. Wifi only in the lobby.
Location is good for the ferry but a bit far from downtown. You can walk or take a cab though.
The quality of the accommodation was much higher than I expected considering the price.
In short, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The only problem I had is that I had booked a king bed but they only had 2 queens in the only non-smoking floor. It was not a big deal for only one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 8th floor if you do not smoke. It is the only non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A well-run 4-star hotel that offered clean and decent rooms. Positives: Stayed in the Elite Room (which was the basic one) and must say that I was impressed by the cleanliness, layout and amenities in the room. Requested for a non-smoking floor and was able to get one. The hotel itself is in a good location - about a 10 minute leisurely walk to the Ferry Terminal where you can catch either the public buses to all the sights around Macau, or hop on to any of the hotel casino free shuttle services that takes you to every casino in Macau (mainland and Taipa/Cotai strip). So getting around was a breeze. Hotel staff were polite and helpful and spoke basic English. If you choose to walk from the hotel, then casinos such as The Sands, MGM Grand and Wynn are within a 10 minute walk, likewise Fisherman's Wharf (not much to see here though). The hotel also has an indoor pool. Good for a swim after a long day of walking. Negatives - only minor, no breakfast included in the room rate. But easily solved with hotel buffet breakfast for only 70 MOP (Macau dollars).

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floor to avoid traffic noise from road. 8th Floor is non-smoking floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlCk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel was not bad at all!!! We chose it, for it had good reviews and reasonable prices for a 4 star hotel. It is not quite “centrally located” but we found it was not too far from anywhere and getting around Macau was not difficult at all. Transport was never a problem, with plenty of buses to a multitude of destinations, and the metered taxis were cheap compared to most “western” prices. We wanted a 3 star hotel but were hesitant after reading most reviews. In the end, we were quite happy with Casa Real. Of course, we had to pay higher rates for the Friday and Saturday nights, but the same applies to all hotels in Macau. We found our room on the "non smoking floor-8" to be very comfortable, very clean and quiet. Our room was obviously refurbished and the bathroom was modernized. Sheets and towels were really "white" and very clean, and they did not smell of smoke. Curtains had good black-out, so we managed to sleep-in just about every morning. Yes, the entrance/lobby area does smell of smoke, as there is a small casino adjacent to the lobby and in casinos here smoking is accepted. Another casino area is on the second floor. The hotel is only a short walk away from the ferry terminal where you can take a one hour ferry ride to Hong Kong. The walkway to this terminal is covered over. We found walking around the hotel at night to be quite safe, even though some reviews describe the area as “seedy”. However, it just looks a little rundown in some parts and this is quite normal in most Asian cities. The area is no different to any other part of Macau. It just has less tourists walking around and that is actually a bonus. Our stay did not include breakfast but we had an extra bed added for our son and, although a bit congested, the room was still comfortable for three.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckrungtep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#65 of 94 in Macau
1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#32 of 94 in Macau
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#40 of 94 in Macau
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Real Hotel

Address: No.1118 Avenida Dr. Rodrigo Rodrigues, Macau 999078, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Casino Hotel in Macau
#34 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £82 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Real Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by authentic Portuguese architecture, Casa Real Hotel is conveniently located next to the Macau Ferry Terminal connecting to major nearby destinations namely Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Macau International Airport is only a 10-minute drive away. Refurbished in a minimalist design and warm wood tone, the 380 tastefully decorated rooms and suites create a cozy and intimate space for guests travelling on business or leisure alike. Casa Real Hotel values your unique experience and commits to perfect your journey in Macau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Real Macau
Hotel Casa Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing