We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel.”
Review of Casa Real Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Real Hotel
Ranked #42 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is an average hotel but it represents good value for this part of the world. The rooms are o.k. Breakfast , western style is only fair. Front desk service is impersonal. Location is near the Jet foil terminal so a walk is required to get to the main part of town. This hotel will suit those seeking an inexpensive alternative to the large casinos that is comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Casa Real Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've traveled a lot and this hotel has the worst front desk service I've ever experienced and I hope to never experience again. Although the hotel in general was fine, the front desk experience itself was enough to deter me from ever staying there again. Both check-in and check-out took over half-an-hour with huge queues that never seemed to move. Each guest took about 20 minutes to clear the procedure. I couldn't believe it. When I asked why it takes so long, I was told that before a guest can check out, a hotel staff person has to visit the room and make sure everything is fine. I've never heard of such a ridiculous policy in my life. People in the queue were tired and exhausted, there were elderly and children. None of the staff seemed to be concerned about that.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there. There are plenty of good hotels in Macau who appreciate your business and...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This reasonably priced hotel makes everything easy. The ferry is so close by shuttle and th ehotel is quiete clean and pleasant. Breakfast pleasant and concierge helpful. Everyhting is close by and easy access with shuttles and taxis.Everyhting is easy with this hotel. Make sure to take free hotel shuttles from ferry terminal to all the interesting hotels especially Venetian Galaxy and Wynn. mMake sure to go in morning to old city starting from Senate Square and walk upwards to Fortress-worth the views and sights.

Room Tip: I asked for non smoking quite room on the eight floor and it was good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shimshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I wasn't expecting too much, selecting to stay away from the Cotai strip where the newer hotels were located. I was pleasantly surprised by the room that I got.

It was a Deluxe room, on the top floor. As it was at the other end of the corridor, there was a separate lift so it felt as if I had my own private lobby. The room was clean and looked as if it had recently been refurbished. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

I noticed that Macau now has a lot of Filipinos in the hospitality industry, so communication is not a problem. The only times that will be a challenge is when you are taking a taxi to other parts of the island.

CasaReal has shuttles leaving every half hour to the nearby ferry terminal. You can jump on board and switch to other hotel shuttles to get to different parts of Macau.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely select to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F1Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I was after a heritage hotel with modern interiors/fittings but the sole hotel that came up in my online search did not have good ratings. Casa Real came up as a hotel with a typical Portuguese building that's newly refurbished. I'm glad I chose this hotel because it was really nice and relaxing to step into this homey hotel at the end of a tiring day.

We stayed in a studio which was ultra spacious - 2 double beds, a sofa, writing desk, dining table and spacious bathroom. I really can't ask for more and it was really smoke-free in the non smoking room that I asked for.

It's a bit of a stretch to think that one could walk from the hotel and the ferry terminal. While the actual distance on foot may be near due to certain shortcuts which I did not discover, the extremely busy roads are not really conducive to walking.

I would highly recommend fellow travellers to consider this hotel if they are not after the glitz of the new casino hotels. For the price of an ordinary room in one of the new 5-star casino hotels, you are able to enjoy the space and comfort of a studio at Casa Real. I was also delighted with the lobby cafe which offered freshly squeezed juice at a very affordable price akin to hawker prices in Singapore.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Booked 3 non-smoking big rooms on 8th floor of hotel during the first week of December 2012.
Enjoyed our stay there. Hotel is 5 minute walk to the Fisherman's wharf which was decorated for the Christmas season. Room is very clean, spacious and well equipped with the basic amenity.
It is surrounded by many restaurants and good eating places.
Hotel runs a free bus shuttle every halfly to the Hong Kong ferry terminal and other places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th floor - the only non-smoking floor in the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Travelling as a couple, we arrived late in the evening, checked in quickly and got a huge double room (~25sqm - though I was later told this is the standard for Macau). Hotel is 10mins walking from the ferry terminal which is very convenient. They also have a shuttle, but we missed it that evening. only downsize of the location is the fact that it is a bit far from the center, 15mins walking or 5eur by cab.

Hotel is very clean, breakfast consistent with a good offering of both western and Asian food.Most of the staff was friendly, especially the luggage and the door boys. Room service also very prompt and efficient. At breakfast however, 2 staff members were talking about us thinking we don't understand them (my gf however could speak madarin) - doesn't really matter in the end, but just saying.

Good choice if you don't want to spend more to stay at Lisboa or the other 5 star hotels, would definitely recommend overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleg_70_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Dragon Hotel
Golden Dragon Hotel
#57 of 94 in Macau
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 94 in Macau
1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#32 of 94 in Macau
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#56 of 94 in Macau
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Real Hotel

Address: No.1118 Avenida Dr. Rodrigo Rodrigues, Macau 999078, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Casino Hotel in Macau
#36 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £70 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Real Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by authentic Portuguese architecture, Casa Real Hotel is conveniently located next to the Macau Ferry Terminal connecting to major nearby destinations namely Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Macau International Airport is only a 10-minute drive away. Refurbished in a minimalist design and warm wood tone, the 380 tastefully decorated rooms and suites create a cozy and intimate space for guests travelling on business or leisure alike. Casa Real Hotel values your unique experience and commits to perfect your journey in Macau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Real Macau
Hotel Casa Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing