We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality, good value”
Review of The Countdown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Countdown
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at about ten hotels in macau, i stay at hard rock more often than most. Well maintained, good service, not too busy, lots of fun things to do (shows, good restaurants, club cubic, pool parties, shops and obviously a casino). Most importantly i believe this to be the best value for money hotel in macau

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ashletsasportas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stay at the hotel on the 4-6 November. I am happy with the services and request. The breakfast could have more variety. The other think is that the toilet ventilation in the room need to be better and also sound proof as the person bed next to the toilet can hear the sound and smell if somewhere is doing their dump

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeryanwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Last year I've visited Hard Rock hotel and I was impressed by the unique casino there. They had cool rock theme & memorabilias, great rock songs, sexiest bunny waitresses, bright,fun & different vibe than other places. Now they just replace the whole floor with coin-drop game machines. The place now looks like a factory. Is there a reason why the changes? It's really too bad because it was a completely different experience from any other place in Macau. Now me and my friends do our gaming elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hard Rock & COD have, Club Cubic, the biggest nightclub in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OuijaAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had stay in macau for 3d2n after my hong kong trip before i travel back to Malaysia. Initially, my sister have book for Sintra hotel via agoda but i decided to stay in hard rock hotel because i planned to go for the house of dancing water show. We cancelled the Sintra htl booking but unfortunately 26/10 (saturday) is full house for hard rock thus i only able to book for 27/10- 28/10 and stay one night in a 3 star hotel near Ruins of St Pauls.
Even though, is a bit hassle to stay in 2 different hotels in macau but is really worth to stay in hard rock hotel with their excellent services. I reached the hotel around 1.30pm but was told by them that the rooms are not ready but they promise to put all our luggage in the room when the room are ready while we can spend our time to walk around.
After we came back from the city walk, we took the hotel key and went up to the room, a big surprise that our luggages are not in both htl rooms (i booked 2 rooms ). Immediately i rang the operator to inform them on my luggage issues. Initially, we were disappointed but within 10 minutes they send our luggage up and apology to us and refuse to take the "tips" because of the mistake.
I always believe we are human and making mistake are common as long as we don't repeat and willing to change and solve it immediately. Therefore, i'm happy for hotelier can resolve less than 10 minutes time. I have encountered the same problem in other hotels before but it take me hour to resolve and the service and attitude of the hotelier can't compete with hard rock.
I'm impress with hard rock macau because they have a bunch of young hotelier who are really friendly and helpful,..when ever i need any help, they will offer themselves to guide me.
I have visited Venetian and Sofitel hotel in macau, my personal comment is hard rock provide the best customer service. Hard rock will be my priority list on the hotel to stay in future especially Hard rock Macau. Thanks and you guy really fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FannyEue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely discouraging to know that your experience was not pleasant as we were unable to meet the basic requirement of service. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to deliver the experience you were hoping for.

We take all our guests' feedback seriously and will use it to better improve ourselves. We hope your experience with us before will not hinder you from returning to us and give us a second chance.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Most people would like its great access to the spectacular Dancing Water Show. Our family actually votes for its swimming pool and chic interior design. The most adorable "like" would go to the crowd mix in the hotel with fewer Mainlanders hanging around. Not a typical 4-star property with a humongous lobby or a diversity of restaurants. Instead, its cozy service offered by a bunch of young hoteliers would probably impress you more. We're not fans of Vegas-style weekends. If we need a short excursion in summer, this hotel remains a good choice for us with two young schoolers in the family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 852NeverSleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was a big surprise when I told the management of hard rock that we are having our anniversary celebration at their hotel , they send a bottle of red wine , chocolate and fruits to our room upon our checking in,thank you so much for the arrangement and you cheer up our day !
I will choose to stay at hard rock again if I got the chance to travel to other places in the world, we are satisfied with the room cleanliness, services , facilities and even their breakfast !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALicetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

There are 3 hotels in City of Dreams campus and this will be the cheapest among the three( still it will be pricy).
If you are big time rock music fan, you are going to love their collection.
Hotel features all the facilities and can be very comfortable for your travel to venetian as well.

Free shuttle from the main transportation modes makes it easier to land up and check out from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room which can give you look to venetian macau hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeevmahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,009 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.6 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countdown

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China (Formerly Hard Rock Hotel Macau)
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: £83 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countdown 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Countdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing