We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good security and polite staff”
Review of The Countdown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Countdown
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Two other more expensive hotel in the complex called City of Dreams, including the Grand Hyatt, but Hard Rock easily puts the Hyatt to shame in terms of value, staff politeness and service. Its superbly run with attentive staff, not the coldness you get from the Hyatt. I think the Grand Hyatt should use their hotel in Macao as a case study on how a hotel can go down so much in such a short time since the opening.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks out across to the Venetian and the rest of Cotai and what is mushrooming into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisLHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Louis, thank you so much for your wonderful review on us.

It is really assuring to know that our rockers are always there and ready to rock your day. We will continuously to strive for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau, hopefully soon!

Till then, keep rockin'

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotels staffs were friendly and professional. We phoned to the reception to complained about the rusty kettle and they responded quickly and got it changed. Despite not situated in Macau city, there were free coach services from Macau ferry pier and Macau city to the hotel which is very convenient for guests. There are wide selections of TV channels for hotel guests too. Plus, there are free tickets to watch the Dragon's Treasure when you present your room card. Most rooms are connected to one another. Furnitures and electricals are a bit old for a 4-star hotel which made it slightly pricier than other similar grade hotels. The kettle was rusty, cups were dusty. Wall mounted shelves in the toilet were scratchy and there were some stains on the walls. There weren't many food options for hotel guests too and most restaurants within City of Dreams are very expensive. Guests may need to walk over to the Venetian right across the road for better food options (Venetian has plenty of food stalls for lower budget dining).

Room Tip: As most rooms are connected to one another, if privacy is of importance to you, state your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank py0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us.

It is definitely discouraging to know that we are unable to create a memorable stay for you during your last visit. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to deliver the experience you were hoping for.

We take all our guests' feedback seriously and will use it to better improve ourselves. We hope your experience with us before will not hinder you from returning to us and give us a second chance.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed a night, came over from Hong Kong by ferry, easy to get the bus to the hotel and great service at the hotel.
Room had very good amenities and tremendous views. Pool on the 3rd floor is fantastic with a swim up bar.
Good place top stay to see House of Dancing Water which is downstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review on us.

It is motivating to know that we have made your stay a memorable one. We will continuously to strive for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau, hopefully soon!

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

First rate hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and getting there was so easy as a free shuttle was available to and from the hotel via the cotai ferry, any queries were quickly answered and sorted, very hard to find any faults with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Anna, thank you so much for your wonderful review on us.

It is very motivating to know that our rockers are always there and ready to rock your day. Your generous comments will defintiely motivate us to continuously strive for even better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau, hopefully soon!

Till then, keep rockin'

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed in Hard Rock Hotel two nights. It was unforgettable imression. I enjoyed my sojourn in City of Dreams (it consists of three hotels: Hyatt, Crown and HRH). Magic environment, very skilled and kind staff, lot of restaurants, entertainments, shops). Hotel provides free transfer from/to Macau and Taipa Ferry, Macau downtown. Rooms in the hotel are large and comfort.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Oleg, thank you so much for your wonderful review on us.

We are glad that we have made your stay a memorable one. With your generous comment, it will definitely motivate us to continuously strive for better service. We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau, hopefully soon!

Till then, keep rockin'

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and had a great time. The pasta buffet was wonderful, the couples room at the spa was top notch, and the pool is a wonderful oasis. I would recommend the corner suite. I would mention to check shower and room cleanliness overall, as we had to have our room deck recleaned upon checkin.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostontraveler122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Love this hotel. Definately will come back given the promotion price again. Book through the City of Dream website with MOP950++/night promotion. This hotel provide a very good and friendly service. They have many staff just wating to serve you at the lobby in many languages. The pros: big room, quiet and peaceful area. The room is very clean, the service is good. McD is just at the corner. Staying at 15th floor window facing Venetian Hotel, very nice view. The hotel provide the bus to Galaxy which is nearby Taipa most happening area, with famous food and dessert around. The bad side is, to go to the Macau Island or just to get out of the area before the hotel bus start operating ( which some around 10-11am, first bus), we cross the road and walk 5-7 min just to reach the nearest bus stop. The toilet and bathroom is separated, hence we have to get out from toilet, into bathroom just to wash our hand. Prefer it to be together. Not much hanging place in the toilet. Nothing to do around other than gambling at the night time. No 7-11/ any convinient store. So the only place to get a drink is at McD.
Still, will come back again to this hotel. Nice, big and clean with good service.

Room Tip: Take bus number 25 or 26 ( most common bus) to Macau Island or most of the famous place in Taipa. Cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#24 of 94 in Macau
748 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.6 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countdown

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China (Formerly Hard Rock Hotel Macau)
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: £87 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countdown 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Countdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing