We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and Sweet”
Review of The Countdown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Countdown
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Short and Sweet”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a 3 day trip, it was LOVELY! The room was very clean throughout with all appliances required. I would highly recommend seeing the "House of dancing water" show if it is still on!

Loads to do here, a very good location indeed. We went to the Hard Rock cafe (restaraunt) which the food was brilliant and there was also a live band performing who were highly enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and made our vacation even better. We purchased the Cocktail shaker and other fun items for sale in our room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephAMThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    355
    98
    30
    26
See reviews for
248
332
63
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Hard Rock last Friday. Check in and service at the Reception was good. The boys were very helpful. When we asked for names and locations of restaurants, they took the trouble to print them out in A4 size papers so that we could show the taxi drivers. And we didn't have to wait for all the information.
The room was clean and the view was good.
Our major complaint were the lights. There was only 1 bedside lamp on a tiny bedside table, by our double bed. There was only 1 light switch for lights to both the toilet & bathroom. What a waste of electricity! I need not have the bathroom bathe with lights when all I want to do was to use the toilet.
There were 4 tiny bottles of complimentary water in the room. Wish they could use at least a 300ml bottle. It was embarassing to keep asking for water even though they were delivered quickly and with a smile.
All in all, very satisfied with the service provided. And it is only a walking distance to The House of Dancing Water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Hard Rock hotel in order to catch the House of Dancing Water. Unfortunately, the show was cancelled at the last minute due to technical problems.

However, we still enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The location of the hotel made it very easy for us to explore the area.

Our non-smoking room had a nice view of the Venetian next door. Facilities (i.e. bathroom, wifi, etc. ) worked fine.

Staff seemed friendly enough on check in and check out.

Overall, a pleasant enough stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoothemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I liked the perfumed entrance of the hotel. The lighting and background music was very rock-and-roll, which was fun. Great views from the rooms too. Didn't get to use the swimming pool because of the weather.

Service was good although when I got a cut and asked for antiseptic cream, the staff could not find it in the first-aid kit although they provided some plasters.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstangp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

the hotel location is in complex city of dream near branded shop..I really remember the smile from the staff at the lobby and how helpfull they are even just to push the button at the lift. Love the decoration ,guitars in glass show case..And one of the memory is the view of macau from my window's room...... ups i forget my room number..
The sands in the swimming pool is nice touch.. And I love the steak at hardrock cafe which is i take for dinner with my family oh my God the best steak i've ever tried...The breakfast also ..compare to other hotel that I have been stayed before the juice is really fresh but not much option for breakfast but all the option they served have nice taste!!!
I book two rooms and i remember my sister room have trouble with the television and technician come to fix it in the midnight and they give us late check out because of that but not only for my sis room but also my room

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yessyyos55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Service: I received very pleasant and genuine service from the staff at Hard Rock. The check-in staff was most helpful and eager to help us navigate Macau as she found out that it was our first time there. I also phoned the operator to request for nail clippers and they delivered it to me almost immediately. Upon check-out, the bellboy offered to bring our luggages to the basement shuttle bus area for us, even though we could clearly manage on our own.

Room: We stayed at the corner suite that was utterly spacious with a gorgeous view of the Venetian. It was a very lovely stay at an affordable price.

Location: Hard Rock has arranged for many shuttle buses to bring you to different places in Macau - Taipa Ferry Terminal, Galaxy Hotel (where you can take a shuttle bus straight to Taipa City), Sintra (where you can walk to Senado Square & St Paul Ruins). Also, the House of Dancing Water (must watch!) theatre is located right at the City of Dreams where Hard Rock is. Absolutely convenient!

Thanks for the lovely stay, and I will definitely be back at Hard Rock when I next visit Macau!

Room Tip: corner suite, high floor, view of the venetian, non-smoking floors for the non-smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kct37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twindragonfly, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments. This makes us wanted to 'rock' harder. We look forward to welcome you back to Macau soon. Till then, keep rockin'

Love-All-Serve-All
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived late to hotel, and had only a few minutes until a show we were seeing started. The staff fast-tracked us, and we made the show with time to spare. The staff was attentive and friendly with every other encounter we had with them. The accommodations were also quite nice, and the group package deals are worthwhile.

Room Tip: Go see House of Dancing Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twindragonfly, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. It is definitely encouraging to the rockers to receive positive comments and we will keep rockin'

Look forward to see you soon!

Love -All-Serve-All
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.6 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.4 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#24 of 95 in Macau
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countdown

Property: The Countdown
Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China (Formerly Hard Rock Hotel Macau)
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countdown 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Countdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing