We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 60th Birthday party.”
Review of Grand Hyatt Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Macau
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a 5 star Hyatt, need I say more. Like the Grand Hyatt in Bangkok and the Hyatt Tsim Sha Tsui in Hong Kong good things happen to their guest. Great food and service and an excellent concierge! As a westerner traveling in Southeast Asia for the first time I was very impressed.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Always stay at the Grand Hyatt whenever I am on Macau, which is like once every two months. I prefer this hotel than Hard Rock, and the more upscale Crown Tower, also located in the City of Dreams complex. The a/c of this hotel is always up to par, the beds very clean, the bathroom amenities very complete, and the service, always excellent. Though there are come quirks with the housekeeping, especially with the language barrier, the hotel GM or asst. GM always makes up for the inadequacies for minor infractions. Though the shops in the mall are not that extensive, more of hi end, I always walk to the next door Venetian for its up to midnight mall stores. Grand Hyatt always will be my home in Macau

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 711traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

THe Grand Hyatt Macau truly deserves its designation. It is a great facility and the newly open Grand Club on the 37th floor will only add to the repuation.

The faciiity is in the City of Dreams complex, along with Hard Rock and Crowne Towers, as well as the House of Dancing Waters theater. All of the big name shops light up the boulevards between the hotels, theater, and connectiing casino. Adjacent is the Conrad and across the big street is The Venetian (and the Galaxy a bit further). If you prefer not to walk, there is a free shuttle from each of the hotels to the other hotels on the strip, like the Venetian. They also provide a free shuttle to the two ferry terminals, Taipa and Macau, as well as to places like the Border Gate and other areas in older Macau. Free shuttle service from ferry terminals to hotel as well.

As a Hyatt Diamond member, we were upgraded to a suite facing the airport and construction. I did not mind, the construction noise (building the new Wynn and StarWorld (?) hotels were not noticeable from the 25th floor. Our rooms were modernistic with a TV in both the bedroom and the living room. The bed was super comfortable, and the towels very plush. The suite also provided Nespresso coffees and high quality chinese teas. The bathroom was super spacious with a hugh deep tub and separate rainforest shower, and came loaded with amenities including a superior set of slippers, better than at other Asia Hyatts.

The relatively new Grand Club Lounge on the 37th floor reflects the sleek design of the building. It offers its breakfast and evening selections though two cookling stations, one chinese and one "western" as well as setting out plenty of other chinese and western selections (smoked salmon, desserts) on adjacent tables. For evening service, I recall getting fresh thing egg noodles as well as very good quality dim sum (pork dumpling and chicken buns) one night, and a thicker noodle in duck sauce the next along with a different set of dim sum choices. The "western" station provided hamburger sliders one nite and grilled fish the next -- all nicely made. The lounge may occupy most of the 37th floor so there were ample views of the Cotai Strip, the Venetian, the Airport, the construction, etc. There is also a large outdoor patio section of the lounge for fresh air -- be careful, tho, there are spaces with no window panes. It is a beautiful setup, one of the more attractive indoor and outdoor combination lounges I have seen. Needless to say, service from the Grand Club lounge staff was excellent. Mineral waters and sodas were available throughout the day; nice little almond and other cookies were available mid-afternoon and after dinner.

There are actually two towers in the hotel, the Grand Club Towers with the Grand Club Lounge, and the Grand Tower. We were located in the Grand Tower which required a five minute walk (and ride down and up elevators) to the Grand Club lounge. Thus, we were very happy when they offered the option of having our breakfast at either Mezza9 or in the Grand Club Lounge. For convenience initially, because it was right next to the elevators to our room, and then because of the great variety offered in the Breakfast buffet, we opted for Mezza9 for both days. It was very, very nice -- see sepaate review.)

The huge open entry is befitting of the Hyatt brand. Where to check-in was a bit confusing though. They eventually took me over to the Grand Club to check in, only to walk back to the Grand Towers after check-in. No worries - Brian who checked us in gave us a detailed overview of the property and its facilities.

Of course we checked out the casinos -- the Venetian floor is huge. Walked though old Macau, and found the Giant Panda Paviillon exhibit nearby at Seac Pai Van Park (take a cab to it, it is cheap and convenient).

Concierge staff is very capable and friendly. (Thank you Phoenix Wong!)

The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is the jewel of the crown, but this Grand Hyatt Macau is not far behind.

Best tip: When possible, take the ferry to the Taipa terminal to get to Grand Hyatt Macau. Immigration is a lot faster and then it is a 5 minute shuttle ride. From Macau Terminal, it is about a 10 to 15 minute ride, but going through immigration, especially on busy weekends, could be much slower. However, service to Taipa is less frequent than to Macau-depending on the time of day, so you may not have much choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a morden hotel with minimalist design but high quality finish such as leather clad corridor wall, beautiful lightings. There were quite a lot of building works going on around the hotel at the moment but did not affect us enjoying the hotel. We stayed in a luxury suite, which was very big with luxury bathroom. It had an Nespresso machine and very good quality Chinese tea. We also had the use of the grand club lounge, where we took our breakfast and afternoon canapies and wine, which were excellent quality. There's a very good spa and outdoor pool. Excellent sevice and staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 days midweek, when the hotel is a lot quieter than at weekends. Macau is often seen primarily as the oriental Vegas, with themed mega-casinos as the big attraction, but for midweek visitors we enjoyed a relatively tranquil experience, and a good opportunity to explore the old Portuguese colony.

The Grand Hyatt is a BIG modern hotel with 2 accommodation towers rising above the City of Dreams casino and entertainment complex. Gambling is the lure that keeps Macau humming, and consequently you won't find any floors in the Club Tower with 'unlucky' numbers like '13' or anything with a '4' in it.

All of the staff that we met were wonderfully friendly and helpful. They seem to have a real gift for remembering your name and going out of their way to make sure that you have a great stay. Check-in was fast and helpful and our room was delightful – clean, spacious, well-appointed and with outstanding views across the island. The Regency Club on the 37th floor is a great oasis of calm that provides inclusive breakfast, evening drinks and food, all day refreshments, and great views although the foreground is mostly a monster construction site for the next BIG casino. The staff here were fantastic and made sure we always felt welcomed and cared for. The buffet is small but excellent, and the chefs were eager to have us enjoy their local fare. As with the rest of the hotel, being midweek the club was fairly empty but is likely to be a lot busier at weekends.

During our stay we went to the 'House of Dancing Waters' show which is on the ground floor within the same complex. The show was simply stunning – a fantastic experience which we recommend highly. Afterwards we had dinner in the adjacent Beijing Kitchen restaurant which was also a great experience with wonderful Chinese food and enthusiastic staff. Across the road is the Venetian mega-hotel with it's casinos, hundreds of shops and restaurants, and indoor canals with gondolas and singing gondoliers!

We found that the old city is much easier to find your way around than when we were last here 5 years ago. There are now good direction and interpretive signs in English and Portuguese, many of the 18th and 19th century buildings have been restored, all have free admission, and much of the world heritage area is now pedestrian-friendly. There are some useful walking-tour guides available on the internet, but the main tourist office in Senado Square was a bit disappointing and not easy to find. As with all city centres, we recommend you go early to avoid the crowds and the heat. Most tourist buildings were open at 9am although shops frequently don't open until noon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a free Hyatt night with limited selection, and we went with one night in Macau while we were in Hong Kong. Once again, I can't speak about value for dollar, but I think you can find better places in Macau.
First, the rooms were excellent. Clean, big and easy to get to. Service was ok, but with a hotel this size it is natural to assume service will slip some. The hotel is gigantic, and it is right next to a bunch of other huge hotels.
Breakfast was very good, though we had a quick dinner at the Hard Rock and it wasn't good at all. My mistake for choosing the Hard Rock, I suppose.
The real problem I have with this place was that the casino was so terrible. It wasn't that clean, and it was empty. Never seen a casino that empty before, it is chilling. Ended up going to the Wynn, mostly to get out of the cavern but also because it was the only place anyone knew that had a poker room.
Overall I say try another, though looking at prices this one looks pretty cheap. I am here to tell you it is cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pongo1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As you can imagine many of the Hotels and Casinos in Macau are a bit gaudy and over done, but that's part of being in Macau or Las Vegas. I prefer a classy hotel and this Grand Hyatt is great, both this one and the one in Guangzhou are showing their new design look of wood and sophistication. Great hotel lobby cafe with live music at night and a good restaurant in the hotel too. I always take the Club tower and access to the Club lounge, which is well worth it. The Pool is also huge and heated in the winter months, and not too busy so it's a great place to relax. Most guests from Asia are in the casinos and don't use the pool, perfect to relax on the weekend. The hotel is still close to all the other big casinos such as the Venetian which is still worth a visit, but its jammed packed and for me not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
1.0 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Macau

Address: City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Macau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#6 Family Hotel in Macau
#6 Business Hotel in Macau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £129 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Macau hotel is located in the Cotai area between the islands of Coloane and Taipa, off the tip of Macau Peninsula, China. Our Cotai hotel is part of the City of Dreams urban resort integrating entertainment, dining and shopping options. The hotel features 791 rooms & suites with spectacular views over Cotai and the west banks of Pearl River.With well-equipped MICE facilities and signature restaurants, Grand Hyatt Macau hotel promises to provide magnificent services to every guest visiting the cosmopolitan cultural city of Macau.Our hotel in Cotai is easily accessible from Macau and Taipa ferry terminals, China Border Gate and Macau International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hyatt Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Macau Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing