We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel with Large rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Macau
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great hotel with Large rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

we are enjoying our stay. start of our second night and we have enjoyed it. When we checked in the first room smelled of smoke so they moved us to another room and put us on the side that looks out over the venetian and other hotels. it is a nicer side with stuff to look at. the internet is fast enough and there are many things to do. I emailed the concierge before arriving with a list of restaurants i wanted to eat at and they made reservations for us before we arrived.

has been a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanglong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    226
    59
    12
    11
See reviews for
226
279
63
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. The hotel has shuttle service from both Taipai and Macau outer ferry terminal. Hyatt service staff in Asia never fail to impress and the staff are just amazing when it comes to service. The Grand Club lounge was one of the best I have visited as the hot food are prepared by the Chef. There is construction near by the hotel and the work start 8am. The gym is well equip and under used as most guest prefer the Casino.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Grand Hyatt Macau is a wonderful hotel! It is located in the City of Dreams complex on the Cotai Strip. There is a free shuttle service offered by The City of Dreams from both ferry terminals. (If you are booking a ferry from Hong Kong, I would suggest taking the ferry to Taipa, it is much closer.)

We were upgraded to one of the suites and it was very nice; a bar and lounge sitting area (with large TV) are located just located outside the huge bedroom suite. The rooms have a nespresso maker for that early morning cup of coffee. The bathroom area is very large, with a huge bath tub and rain shower. The towels are very fluffy and the bath amenities are by H2O. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and made for a great night sleep.

The unfortunate thing is that the Wynne is building a new property across the street and our view was of the airport and the building plot. You couldn't really hear much construction noise, but the view was not very pretty. (although, you aren't there to sit in your room and look out the window, so it doesn't matter much) You might inquire if you can have a view of the strip rather than the construction zone.

We enjoyed a breakfast buffet in the Mezza 9 restaurant and it was wonderful. It offered a lot of variety and excellent quality foods, both Asian and western offerings. I enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice machine, push a button and you watch it juice right in front of your eyes!

We had an excellent stay and I would highly recommend the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkwrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife & I stayed 2 nights at the hotel in November, 2013.
The hotel is a quiet oasis in Macau. Located in the City of Dreams. We had a great room.
The restaurant facilities & food choices are limited unless you want only Chinese food. For one night we had a large suite which was part of the House of Dancing waters package. For the
second night we had to pay more than twice the rate. We reluctantly agreed as we are 73 & 77 years old & have limited mobility.
Do try to get a room away from the construction sites & look for alternate restaurants.
Considering all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Select room away from neighbouring construction sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCR1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a 5 star Hyatt, need I say more. Like the Grand Hyatt in Bangkok and the Hyatt Tsim Sha Tsui in Hong Kong good things happen to their guest. Great food and service and an excellent concierge! As a westerner traveling in Southeast Asia for the first time I was very impressed.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Always stay at the Grand Hyatt whenever I am on Macau, which is like once every two months. I prefer this hotel than Hard Rock, and the more upscale Crown Tower, also located in the City of Dreams complex. The a/c of this hotel is always up to par, the beds very clean, the bathroom amenities very complete, and the service, always excellent. Though there are come quirks with the housekeeping, especially with the language barrier, the hotel GM or asst. GM always makes up for the inadequacies for minor infractions. Though the shops in the mall are not that extensive, more of hi end, I always walk to the next door Venetian for its up to midnight mall stores. Grand Hyatt always will be my home in Macau

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 711traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

THe Grand Hyatt Macau truly deserves its designation. It is a great facility and the newly open Grand Club on the 37th floor will only add to the repuation.

The faciiity is in the City of Dreams complex, along with Hard Rock and Crowne Towers, as well as the House of Dancing Waters theater. All of the big name shops light up the boulevards between the hotels, theater, and connectiing casino. Adjacent is the Conrad and across the big street is The Venetian (and the Galaxy a bit further). If you prefer not to walk, there is a free shuttle from each of the hotels to the other hotels on the strip, like the Venetian. They also provide a free shuttle to the two ferry terminals, Taipa and Macau, as well as to places like the Border Gate and other areas in older Macau. Free shuttle service from ferry terminals to hotel as well.

As a Hyatt Diamond member, we were upgraded to a suite facing the airport and construction. I did not mind, the construction noise (building the new Wynn and StarWorld (?) hotels were not noticeable from the 25th floor. Our rooms were modernistic with a TV in both the bedroom and the living room. The bed was super comfortable, and the towels very plush. The suite also provided Nespresso coffees and high quality chinese teas. The bathroom was super spacious with a hugh deep tub and separate rainforest shower, and came loaded with amenities including a superior set of slippers, better than at other Asia Hyatts.

The relatively new Grand Club Lounge on the 37th floor reflects the sleek design of the building. It offers its breakfast and evening selections though two cookling stations, one chinese and one "western" as well as setting out plenty of other chinese and western selections (smoked salmon, desserts) on adjacent tables. For evening service, I recall getting fresh thing egg noodles as well as very good quality dim sum (pork dumpling and chicken buns) one night, and a thicker noodle in duck sauce the next along with a different set of dim sum choices. The "western" station provided hamburger sliders one nite and grilled fish the next -- all nicely made. The lounge may occupy most of the 37th floor so there were ample views of the Cotai Strip, the Venetian, the Airport, the construction, etc. There is also a large outdoor patio section of the lounge for fresh air -- be careful, tho, there are spaces with no window panes. It is a beautiful setup, one of the more attractive indoor and outdoor combination lounges I have seen. Needless to say, service from the Grand Club lounge staff was excellent. Mineral waters and sodas were available throughout the day; nice little almond and other cookies were available mid-afternoon and after dinner.

There are actually two towers in the hotel, the Grand Club Towers with the Grand Club Lounge, and the Grand Tower. We were located in the Grand Tower which required a five minute walk (and ride down and up elevators) to the Grand Club lounge. Thus, we were very happy when they offered the option of having our breakfast at either Mezza9 or in the Grand Club Lounge. For convenience initially, because it was right next to the elevators to our room, and then because of the great variety offered in the Breakfast buffet, we opted for Mezza9 for both days. It was very, very nice -- see sepaate review.)

The huge open entry is befitting of the Hyatt brand. Where to check-in was a bit confusing though. They eventually took me over to the Grand Club to check in, only to walk back to the Grand Towers after check-in. No worries - Brian who checked us in gave us a detailed overview of the property and its facilities.

Of course we checked out the casinos -- the Venetian floor is huge. Walked though old Macau, and found the Giant Panda Paviillon exhibit nearby at Seac Pai Van Park (take a cab to it, it is cheap and convenient).

Concierge staff is very capable and friendly. (Thank you Phoenix Wong!)

The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is the jewel of the crown, but this Grand Hyatt Macau is not far behind.

Best tip: When possible, take the ferry to the Taipa terminal to get to Grand Hyatt Macau. Immigration is a lot faster and then it is a 5 minute shuttle ride. From Macau Terminal, it is about a 10 to 15 minute ride, but going through immigration, especially on busy weekends, could be much slower. However, service to Taipa is less frequent than to Macau-depending on the time of day, so you may not have much choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
2.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
1.0 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#7 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Macau

Property: Grand Hyatt Macau
Address: City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Macau
#6 Family Hotel in Macau
#6 Business Hotel in Macau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Macau hotel is located in the Cotai area between the islands of Coloane and Taipa, off the tip of Macau Peninsula, China. Our Cotai hotel is part of the City of Dreams urban resort integrating entertainment, dining and shopping options. The hotel features 791 rooms & suites with spectacular views over Cotai and the west banks of Pearl River.With well-equipped MICE facilities and signature restaurants, Grand Hyatt Macau hotel promises to provide magnificent services to every guest visiting the cosmopolitan cultural city of Macau.Our hotel in Cotai is easily accessible from Macau and Taipa ferry terminals, China Border Gate and Macau International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Grand Hyatt Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Macau Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing