We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$481
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Coloane Resort Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Countdown(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
714
142
34
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
142
34
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvida ricapremier viewferry terminaldeluxe lake view roommgm casinocake shoproom checkcorner roomdim summain restaurantan excellent hotelstar serviceshopping mallhotel experiencebuffet breakfastlobby loungeexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2011

First time stay at a Mandarin Oriental and the experience was top notch all around. Got a good deal on a nicely appointed corner room with windows along two walls. The restaurant was beautiful with great food and surprisingly reasonable prices. What really set the hotel apart for us, however, was the service. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We had been trying to book a flight on Air Asia to no avail, due to their website not accepting our credit card and the fact that we do not speak Chinese. But the concierge took care of everything and fairly late at night at that. We also really appreciated the non-gaming environment. Plus, the hotel is walking distance to the historic city center and close to the little known Macau Wine Museum. The almond cookies at Koi Kei bakery are a must. We went back to buy more!

Room Tip: Lots of windows in the deluxe corner room
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed in the hotel for two night in August 2010 to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The experience was fantastic. Our room was luxurious and everything was just nice. The service was nice, but the staff probably hadn't quite used to working there yet as it just opened the time we stayed. But nevertheless, they were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_Kwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The best experience we had in Macau was our hotel stay. We were upgraded from what I had considered to be a lovely corner room to one much higher up with views of, yes the pollution. It was particularly bad the two days were were there, you could taste it. However, we feel that our hotel made up for everything. Our room was fabulous with everything you would need. The shower and bathroom were to die for. The bed so comfortable and the whole layout well done.

We ate at the Vida Rica restaurant our first night. Wow - the decor is fantastic, as is the bar next to it. Our meal was delicious and our server efficient and charming. Breakfast is also at the Vida Rica and there is a lovely spread of everything you would wish for. Don't expect Hong Kong-style service in Macau (as the Concierge said to my husband when he asked for a driver and limousine for a tour of Macau - "this is Macau". In other words we would not get one and definitely not with a driver who spoke English). However, once you have seen the casinos, the malls and the horrible Venetian - you have more or less done Macau as far as I am concerned. It was the hotel that we enjoyed as well as the meal we ate at the "Il Teatro" restaurant in the Wynn hotel. The charming lady concierge at the Mandarin booked us a table right in front of the magnificent dancing fountains. The food here was excellent as well. Again, the service very "Macau". Service is not the strong point it seems. Having said that, our check-in and check-out were flawless at the Mandarin and when I did have a problem with being served in the lounge bar, somebody went to rectify the situation for me. This is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. You don't get that "huge hotel" feeling that you would at so many others in Macau and everything is tastefully elegant as one would expect at a Mandarin Oriental hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Our trip to Macau was memorable due to our experience at the MO. We made our reservation through the American Express website, and as a platinum card holder, we received a room upgrade with a lakeside view, free buffet breakfast for 2, late check out, and spa credit of $100. Here are my plusses and minuses:

Plusses:
+ Overall service was outstanding, and I'd like to give props to our concierge Francis who was a delight. He was helpful in so many ways, including making reservations at Fernando's restaurant on the south side of the island (Coloane). Also, if you let them know in advance, they will provide free shuttle pick up/drop off at the ferry terminal.
+ Our room was spacious and well appointed; definitely once of the nicest we have stayed in. We didn't want to leave, but we had some exploring to do.
+ I took advantage of the spa credit and received a wonderful therapeutic (deep tissue) massage. Before my massage, the attendant offered tea and instructed me on how to use the sauna, whirlpool and aromatherapy shower (my favorite!).
+ Breakfast was a fantastic assortment of asian and western offerings.
+ Fantastic gym with a kinesis wall, cardio equipment and free weights.

Minuses
- The view was so-so due to the fact that Macau was choked with air pollution from nearby China. Not the hotel's fault, but don't expect to enjoy the view when the air quality sucks.
- While Hong Kong has a policy of no smoking in outdoor spaces, Macau does not. If you are sensitive to cigarette smoke, you are going to smell it everywhere.

Travel Tips
* We recommend two fantastic Macanese restaurants: Fernando's and Solmar. At Fernando's, we loved the prawns with clam sauce and grilled chicken. At Solmar, the African chicken was sublime.
* Next to the Ruinas de Sao Paolo, don't miss the Museum of Macau. It's a wonderful way to spend 2-3 hrs learning about the history and folk customs of Macau.
* If you like Chinese egg tarts, the Macanese have elevated it to another level of yumminess. Must be eaten relative soon after purchase, but I don't think it will last that long anyway.
* If you like meat jerky, don't miss out on the various spiced beef and pork jerkys. We brought a few bags back to the US.
* While Macau has its own currency (pataca), most places accept the HK dollar. This was very handy since we didn't have to change currencies.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed one night in a suite and brother also had a deluxe room, both are well appointed and have great sunlight and views. Location was convenient to the Wynn (across the street from the same complex of buildings) and walkable to Grand Lisboa as well in about 10-15 minutes for poker players. Service was great and they arranged for free van transfers, although there's no regular free hotel bus like most other hotels in Macau. Breakfast was extensive and standard five star buffet style with a mix of eastern and western food. The Spa looked nice but was booked so we couldn't use our spa credit, which was disappointing. Wish the internet was free.

Room Tip: The largest suite is not at the corners with the dual facing views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews