We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed this hotel for several times and always feel good. The concierge and bellman are always attentive. The housekeeping staff always wear a big smile. All the rooms with a water view is a plus.The audio system and the Nespresso machine are wonderful.
Love the complimentary ferry transfer pick up services from Macau Ferry Terminal, it is a 7 seater and a staff will wait at the exit of the immigration to pick us up.
No casino inside the hotel but the MGM and the branded shopping are attached to the hotel.
Breakfast from In Room Dining menu is always yummy.
Eat at Vida Rica restaurant in the hotel, they served very nice dim sum during lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyMacKellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay despite the mix up with the dates. Room was very spacious with a large bath and shower. With a spectacular view of the lake. Hotel staff friendly and concierge very helpful. Good central location. Would recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Perfect hotel in an excellent location - one issue with a lost reservation but they certainly made up for it. - Everything at your fingertips, water views, easy walking distance to World Heritage listed sites, helpful staff, great rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoutiqueVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Fabulous hotel,staff very helpful and friendly they could not do enough for us. Upgraded without even asking at check in.would not hesitate recommending this superior establishment. The only downside is no free wi fi something maybe the management could look into.?

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for a night during off-peak season.

Beautiful hotel, tastefully decorated. Appreciated the high ceilings, wood paneling, and contemporary artwork in the lobby after staying at one too many hotels that look like a sleezy nightclub (weird lights, high-backed white leather armchairs, you know what I'm talking about).

Spacious room, great view of the city. Service is, as expected, top-notch all-around.

Had dinner/breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Felt like they were trying really hard to be fancy (e.g. three kinds of butter, melted cheese served in a weird kiln-baked rock salt bowl, and so on), but none of the dishes really tasted incredibly amazing. Breakfast was awesome. Solid restaurant, but probably wouldn't eat dinner there unless you have a property credit.

First time seeing the Mandarin Oriental welcome video. Pretty hilarious.

I was glad there was no casino inside. Smoke-filled rooms with obnoxious lights and sounds wouldn't mix well with the hotel's sophisticated vibe.

Stay here if you're not a big gambler and want a relaxing stay at a classy establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ykim917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights and had a perfect stay. We had flown to Hong Kong and then got the ferry over - ferry was running quite late so it was after 9 when we arrived, but our car was waiting. Within a short while we had been checked in in the room and were heading for bed - absolutely seamless.

staff were friendly and eager to help and obviously proud of the fact that they didn't have a casino.

We had a panorama suite and worth it for the view. Had a champagne breakfast in the room and ate at Vida Rica - superb food and service.

we wanted to explore the old city and the hotel is well positioned - we even walked to the Giulia lighthouse and fortress.

On the last night we walked through to MGM - wanted to go to Rossio, but no tables so took their advice and tried another MGM restaurant - Imperial Court. The area around the fish tank is just beautiful. Didn't think the food at Imperial Court as good as Vida Rica but still a nice meal. Service was incredible - they made you feel you had been there a 100 times and was a valued customer.

Tried the egg tarts as well - went to Catherine's and hers were a little nicer, but they are all great.

So all in all a great stay - we weren't planning to return to Macau, but now I want to, just to stay at the Mandarin again.

Room Tip: As high as possible for the view - if you an afford it Panaroma suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraFamilygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I have been staying here for a few years (once-or-twice a year), and we have made it a habit to lunch at hotel’s restaurant Vida Rica before leaving Macau. Unfortunately, a problem this time.

After we checked-out, we sat-down, ordered, and the food came. Then, one of the supervisory staff walked over and tried to take a dish off my table. When we stopped her and asked why, she explained that she wanted to show my dish to another guest because he’s English wasn’t that well, and it might be easier to show him my dish. We obviously stopped her right there, and she got a pretty good service lesson from us too. But here’s what I don’t understand.

1. This request is simply unacceptable, and no one (especially a supervisor) should entertain this. I question what she was thinking.

2. If she was to go ahead and do this, I wonder what her staff would think and do going-forward. As a supervisor, she needs to understand her role and set good examples. I question MO’s servicing and training standards.

I thought I could only run into this kind of standards in a third-world country or a no-star hotel. Until today, I am still in-shock on this case. Otherwise, no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 94 in Macau
1,218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
2.5 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#10 of 94 in Macau
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: £142 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing