We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch, great staff and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Notch, great staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights - I didn't think much could beat The Mandarin in Hong Kong, but wow, these guys really did. Lovely rooms, everything done down the the most perfect detail, great dinning ( wow what a breakfast, and the dim sum lady is charming !) and concierge support great, staff so well trained and attentive - really loved the Vida Rica Bar and the staff there brilliant, so proficient with cocktails, ideas on wine and all drinks - John was great. Thanks to all there. Gym and pool great, staff very helpful there too ; A great stay, will certainly be back. The Mandarin is the best thing about Macau !

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie28Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    117
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
130
224
63
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas 2013. The Mandarin Oriental was one of four 5* hotels we stayed in during our recent vacation and I can honestly say that the hotel was head and shoulders above any of the others.

I have absolutely nothing but good things to say about our stay and cannot think of even a small negative point.

Meeting us at the ferry port was a nice easy process as was check-in which was quickly handed and we were escorted to our room.

We were fortunately upgraded to a deluxe suite from a panoramic view suite and must say that it was a wonderful room. We were show the rooms layout and shown how things worked and our luggage quickly delivered. Friends with us could not get over how fantastic the room was and neither could we.

The suite itself had a large living area which was well equipped with a large flat screen TV with multiple possible interconnection options for additional devices via the room’s hi-tech interconnection panel, allowing laptops, tablets and similar devices to be connected. It also contained a sofa, comfortable chairs, tables and a work station. The bottle of wine, macaroons and cake were a welcome and appreciated gesture.

The bedroom was again large with TV, well-appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom again was well appointed with thoughtful additions such as hairbrush alongside the usual cosmetics, toothpaste etc. Oh did I mention that it also had a TV along with a bath with great views and a fantastic shower probably the best of any hotel I have stayed at.

All really nice but what really made this a stand out hotel was its staff. Everyone we came into contact with and I mean everyone was polite, charming and engaging with smiling happy faces and eye contact. From the doorman who were great to the reception staff and the concierge. Everyone seemed genuinely to want to provide a great experience.

However special mention must go to the breakfast team who were a world class unit, from the initial welcome as the lift doors opened to the departure they were a joy. Ever helpful, polite and attentive service without being intrusive, after day one they knew our names, preferences and set the breakfast table appropriately. We don’t drink tea or coffee and having said that we don’t we were never asked again. More impressively our table had these cups removed at future visits. The choice of food was very good catering to both Asian and western palates with din sum cooked to order and homemade preserves.

On arrival we were advised that a table had been booked in the restaurant that evening (Christmas Eve) for us which I initially thought was a bit pushy and as we were dinning with friends was declined. However seeing how busy all the restaurants in Macau were that evening and that most were full it was a gesture that I should probably have been more appreciative off, arriving and then not being able to find anywhere to dine would have been a disappointment and just another example of the way that the hotel goes above and beyond in an attempt to satisfy and pre-empt their customers’ needs.

We had a late departure to Hong Kong and therefore left our luggage and continued to enjoy Macau on our return as I walked up to the concierge I was greeted by name advised that our car was waiting and that they would load the luggage now that we had arrived. I didn’t say a thing other than thank you.

Would I stay again, yes in a heartbeat, would I recommend the hotel certainly, in fact I would say that overall it’s the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had one night to try out Macau (had not been in 15 years). It certainly is a place where gambling is king as there was not a lot more to do. Still it was a fun place to visit and the House of Dancing Water show was great.

On to the hotel. We were picked up from the ferry (complimentary) and escorted tot he hotel. We were met at the door and escorted to our Deluxe Suite. Decor was modern Asian and quite understated. Our Guest Experience Officer was very helpful in organising transport to and from the show and getting us reservations in the restaurant.

The room was very spacious and had water views across to the Macau Tower although some of the water aspects are not so beautiful to look at. Bedroom was a good size and a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was very Mandarin Oriental and a good size but the lighting was not bright enough - made shaving a challenge.

As I said we had dinner in the restaurant which serves both European and Asian cuisines. We had a lovely French inspired degustation meal with matched wines and were very happy with the quality of the food and the service.

Breakfast was in the same restaurant and even though we turned up just minutes before closing time they were happy to serve us.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and the luxury of the room but it just lacked a bit of "Joie de vivre".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a lovely stay here, just for one night. The hotel is a blessed relief from the Las Vegas-style bling of everywhere else nearby, starting with the under-stated lobby and politely quiet staff. Nice and peaceful, very relaxing. Nothing too much trouble.
I'm not sure what makes a good location in Macau, but the view from our Panaorama Suite was gorgeous despite a little area of almost "wasteland" just between the hotel and the water, and the ability to walk through to other resorts and/or take a 5-minute car-ride elsewhere for dinner meant it was perfect for us.
We enjoyed lazing by the pool even though the weather was sticky and not sunny at all - the breeze and the incredibly attentive staff made all the difference. The pool was also a lovely temperature and very easy to negotiate with a toddler!
Our suite was perfect and I cannot speak highly enough of all the little touches: bottle of wine, fruit bowl and sweeties on arrival; the most gorgeous baby-cot I've ever seen in a hotel (lovely traditional wooden affair complete with bumpers, bedlinen and even a musical mobile); baby products in the bathroom; robes, slippers, towels galore...
We booked a babysitter through the hotel and they couldn't have done more to make us feel comfortable with all the arrangements. We were personally visited on arrival by the head of Housekeeping, who explained the details, and then when the time came for the babysitter to start, she came accompanied by him as well as by her immediate line manager, all of whose phone numbers we were given. In the event, when we got back to the hotel from dinner our baby had just awoken and was being comforted beautifully by the babysitter herself.
We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

When they originally moved this hotel to a brand new location, I was aghast. Of all the high end / chain hotels I could always count on the grand dames of the Peninsula and MO to hold the rules of good hotels.

I should have not feared. The building is the usual glass edifice to all things Macau, but that aside as soon as I walked in I knew I was back at home.

MO is back. Better than before. Go for a high room, insist on a sea view and you are happy. To say more on this review is to add what you already know. MO fans will be happy with this hotel, and new people will discover a well kept hotel in good hands. Not everyone in Macau is this good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Mandarin is quite literally an oasis in a sea of Las Vegas style hotels and a way to escape the 29 million other tourists who visit Macau annually. It has style, it has comfort and offers you superb service on all levels. If you want glitz, the MGM Grand is adjacent to the Mandarin. However, if you want a really good place to stay that is not filled with gamblers and the like stay in the Mandarin. We were very impressed with the hotel. Every aspect of the hotel was excellent, You most definitely get what you pay for in this case.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanya, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Such a nice hotel , nice view,nice room. Had a really good cocktail in the bar, which recommend by the sever , lovely tasty. A good choice for nice cocktail in macau. Service are friendly . Love the quiet bar ,also woderful snacks.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hanxue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Macau
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#5 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Property: Mandarin Oriental Macau
Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing