We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mango juice sooo good.”
Review of Talay Thai

Talay Thai
Ranked #171 of 728 Restaurants in Macau
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mango juice sooo good.”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Went there on a rainy day for Halloween...Scary...
We end up waiting 30 minutes outside...
This restaurant was packed, full.
They squizzed us upstairs...
Great effort and the food was good...Fish ok, prawns ok, soup good. Spring roll and chicken? too.
Boy the mango juice was so good that i could not believe it...the Coconut too.
I won't go back before awhile as i found an other Thai in Cotai part. Don't get me wrong, try it for the view on clear day and outside.
Overall fantastic night, but, not for me or i was not in the moud that night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
258 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine with a great view”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

After a brief tour of Fisherman's Wharf, we settled at Talay Thai for an alfresco dinner. We were lucky to find a table for four, nothwitstanding that it was already teeming with people when we arrived. We were pleased with the place...it had a vantage view of the river and the bridge which proved even more attractive by night. The Thai lady who attended to us, spoke a little English so we managed to get our orders understood. However, she was in so much haste to afford us little courtesies as she was impatient to attend to the other diners. Despite the long wait, food was reasonably priced and very tasty...chicken in pandan leaves, minced beef and the spicy shrimps. We concluded that the excellent view and the delicious Thai cuisine somehow made up for the shortcomings of their staff.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonjie923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macao, Anhui, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to have good food and a few beers right after work”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Service isn't always as consistent as it should be but judging as though they are always full on most nights, it's understandable. Talay Thai has a lot of dishes to choose from may it be vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Minced beef/pork with lettuce, green curry, papaya salad, deep-fried spinach and the pineapple fried rice is absolute heaven, a definite try. The restaurant's location is seemingly attractive during the evenings overlooking the Macau bridge. I think every tourist should give this place a shot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GwenTrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely food sitting in the sunshine”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great restaurant on the river side of fishermans wharf. Lovely to sit outside in the sunshine. Two for one on imported beers during day, was nice and cheap and food was lovely. I had seafood in cocunut and my husband had thai red curry prawns both delicious. Staff very helpful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 322Mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant in East Las Vegas”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Talay Thai is a restaurant located in the Fishermen's Wharf. Outdoor terrace is available, with beautiful view which is the best view of Macau, the bridges and the blue wide sky.

Atmosphere: Good Thai decoration and it is run by Thai people, but don't expect it is like fast food restaurant, you have to be patient yet you would love to spend time in Talay Thai with your family and friends for sure.

Food: Great Thai food especially the Grilled Marinated Sliced Pork, it's super tasty and the best one in Macau I've ever tried. The Fresh Raw Shrimps is so fresh and juicy!!! Everything is great served in there.

Staff: Friendly staff yet the restaurant is too busy and you have to wait a bit sometimes.

Overall, an unique restaurant in Macau as there is few restaurant with nice view and open terrace. I would love to visit Talay Thai again and remember to make reservation before you go if not you might have to wait.


Have a beautiful stay in Macau :-)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pipi_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Talay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing