We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugdet hotel with the best location ever!”
Review of New Nam Pan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Nam Pan Hotel
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Last week, we stay on this hotel. The location is very near from Grand Lisboa, you can take free bus from Ferry Terminal, just need 5 minute walk to get this hotel. This Hotel, i could say similar like Guesthouse, located in 3rd floor, no lift here, so you have to carry your heavy luggage until 3rd floor. They have 9 rooms (from single bed until five beds). You can book the room by email (check their web: http://www.cnmacauhotel.com/in3.asp) , they will reply at least 2 day after and They will give you some guide how to reach this Guesthouse. The staff are very kind, there are 2 staff, with different shift. Feel free to ask some help, like to borrow hair dryer, blanket, towel, etc. If they don't understand what you were asking, they will call someone else, i think the owner to speak to you. Do not worry about sightseeing around hotel, because they provide map of Macau so you can get around without get lost. Some of the bed were hard mattress, it is good for your tired body after long road walk Macau. In the room, they have Air Conditioner that working fine, Television (we not touch it), some beds, hair dryer( you can asking for the staff), and also bathroom. We stayed for 3 nights. The location is near from some typical Macau Building, like Senado and Ruins of St Paul, also the others. Our Stay was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ninuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Macau Nam Pan Hotel is a good place to stay while in Macau. It is near Senado Square the heart of Macau and near Casinos too. For a visitor who wants to go sight seeing and a backpacker with a tight budget this is the place to be its easy to commute to anywhere in Macau because its near Senado there is also a convenience store near and also some restaurants. The rooms are more spacey and very clean the staff are also very accommodating and there are english speaking staff so its easier to communicate. They also gave us helpful suggestions concerning our itinerary. Our stay in Macau was more pleasant because we stayed at Nam Pan and definitely when Im in Macau with my backpacker friends I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hcsymkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

rude staff, choose others hotel. you need to carry your heavy luggage through the narrow staircase to the second floor. This is hostel/guesthouse (not hotel) and only slightly cheaper than the 2 or 3 stars hotel. They even do not have the proper receipt and gave me the jewellery store's receipt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leepw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

1. There is no lift. The staircase is narrow with worn out carpeting. The entrance is crummy .

2. There is a notice posted on the reception table that warns guests of severe consequences including being arrested by the police if the room smells of cigarette smoke. ( see pic )

3. The notice goes on to say that there will be consequences if there is evidence that any one has spat on the floor. ( see pic )

4. They do not believe in issuing valid receipts for payments made. She gave me a receipt of a jewellery store !!

5. The TV screen only had a green haze. When asked about it she says that that's the way it is.

6. There was a container to keep toothbrushes in the toilet. The bottom of the container was filthy and rusted. ( see pic )

7. The beds were rock hard.

8. The plug points were loose and dirty. ( see pic )

It is very obvious that all , she is interested in is collecting the cash , treating guests like school children ( DONT SMOKE , DONT SPIT OR ELSE !!! ) and not giving a damn about maintaining the place. Go elsewhere. A hostel would be better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JeremyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

It is located near to most of the tourists attractions, which can be accessible within walking distance. There is no lift, Thus we have to carry our luggage by ourselves up to the room. The room wasn't ready when we arrived. The room was a bit old and was too small for 6 of us. It was a bit crowded with 6 of us inside. The toilet doesn't look in good condition especially the bath tub. The windows in the toilet was covered with some kind of papers or cards instead of curtains. Mattress is very hard, i personally think that it did affect my sleeping quality. Free wifi available. Overall it might be an option for those who are looking for budget lodging. However, i would not choose this hotel again for my next Macau trip in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weixin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We recently spent a couple nights at the budget-friendly, New Nam Pan Hotel (Guesthouse) and found this to be an decent budget friendly option for those seeking to stay near the Historic Center of Macau.

This budget hotel is located at Avenida de D.Joao IV NO.8 2 andar, just a few minutes walk from the main street leading into Senado Square. Bus 3 (MOP3.2 per person) drops off on the opposite side of the hotel from the Outer Harbor Ferry Terminal, just a 4-5 minute ride.

Pros:
They have an English hotline: 00853-28482842 ( 8:00am-7:00pm day time) and respond to English email very quickly at macauhotel@yeah.net. It seems English speaking staff are always on sight as well, very helpful when trying to inquire about room availability.

They were also highly responsive, answering our email inquiry within 24 hours.

Location was nice, very near to Margaret's Cafe e Nata and Caravela, two places we really enjoy having breakfast in Macau. Hotel is around an 8-10 minute walk to the Historic City Center as well. Also, bus service is available nearby to/from the Outer Harbor Ferry Terminal. Also, free shuttle service to City of Dreams is available just outside the nearby Sintra Hotel, 2 minute walk from the New Nam Pan Hotel.

Room is spacious enough for two people with ensuite bathroom, television (very basic and only 1-2 English channels), ok beds and bathroom. They can hold luggage for you behind the front desk as well.

Free wifi that was quite good during our stay and there are two free computer terminals available in the small lobby area.

Cons:
Up three flights of stairs to the New Nam Pan Hotel (Guesthouse)

A real no-frills room and bathroom experience: Beds are a bit hard and not very long, could be a problem for tall visitors or those with need for soft mattresses. No safe in the room, no breakfast and no room cleaning. No exhaust in the bathroom, made the room quite humid after showers. Toilet flush was a bit weak and the shower didn't drain well.

Very small outside lobby area and lack of entertainment made the room basically a place for sleeping only, not really a place to hang out before/after sightseeing.

A bit pricey for what you get - weekday (MOP580) and weekend (MOP780) for a double room. However, considering the lack of good budget and hostel options throughout Macau as well as the very good location, it seems ok.

Overall, we found the New Nam Pan Hotel to be a decent option for those visiting Macau, requiring budget accommodations. Its not great here but it won't cost nearly as much as what you might spend elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street might be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Just about a 5 minute walk from the Grand Lisboa, this is perfect base if you want to be central. It's also close to the Senado Square, about 10 minute walk.

We got a triple room that is sized just right, not cramped. Beds are a BIT on the hard side. They also have slippers you can use, hangers for your clothes, towels and tissues. The flush though was not working well.

Aside from that we enjoyed our stay. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#55 of 94 in Macau
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
0.5 mi away
Hou Kong Hotel
Hou Kong Hotel
#57 of 94 in Macau
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Man Va
Hotel Man Va
#73 of 94 in Macau
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#36 of 94 in Macau
776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fu Hua Guangdong Hotel
Fu Hua Guangdong Hotel
#78 of 94 in Macau
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Nam Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Nam Pan Hotel

Address: Floor 2 No.8 John IV Main Road, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing