We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel with Japanese Style...Love it”
Review of Hotel Okura Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Okura Macau
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Checked in 27th Oct. The room impressed me with spacious and modern design especially the glass panel between the room and bath room. Hotel staffs were helpful and friendly. Okura Hotel link to Galaxy and Bayan tree. Casino right at hotel lobby. Spoilt by choices of foods. Free shuttles buses to many destinations.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninidada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear ninidada,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at the Okura for a night as part of our weekend trip to Macau. Booked a Junior Suite and a Okura Deluxe room , both granting access to the Okura Lounge.
We checked in at noon and was told that the rooms will not be ready until 3pm, which was fair enough. But it was then we were told that the rooms would not be on the same floor I got slightly irritated--I have communicated with the hotel several times before to ensure both rooms are on the same floor. Other than that checkin was efficient, smooth but not particularly cheerful.
We checked in at 3pm and were extremely impressed with the junior suite--extremely spacious with nice lounge seating and a very beautifully appointed bathroom. Good view and A/V equipment. The only downside is perhaps the lack of iPhone/iPod play back device--really should be a standard for new hotels, considering this hotel was open in May 2011.
We spent an hour or so on the swimming pool, which is shared by Galaxy and Banyan Tree guests as well--it would be a great place to spend during summer when it was hot but we found it a bit chilled during the late afternoon hours. The artificially generated waves were great and the poolside bar played some fantastic music.
We had afternoon tea and breakfast at the Okura lounge, and the lounge staff were extremely attentive and helpful. Afternoon offerings were limited but I enjoyed the biscuits they provided. Breakfast was quite comprehensive as you get both western and chinese selections. The lounge was never crowded at any time during our visit. I highly recommend for the rooms with lounge access.
All in all this stay was a lot better than what I had anticipated (having read some not so good reviews here previously)--only thing is we found the room rate a bit steep. Would definitely consider returning to this property sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Book "Okura" rooms/suites that grant you lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear zwgc2,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Was hesitant to go to Galaxy Macau as reviews for Banyantree and Galaxy were quite bad. What a surprise when you enter the Okura Lobby calm serene and friendly staff. Arriving at 2pm midweek I was surprised that we did not get a room yet. However this allowed us a lovely lunch al fresco at the coffeeshop. At 3 pm we were given a great decorated room with a balcony. During this time of the year I love fresh air to sleep with open windows. I hate the Macau Hotels as they do not have any outside places worst of all the Venetian. Finally I found a great resort hotel in Macau. Will sure be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Bobfu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your precious feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyable stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit Hotel Okura Macau again for another beautiful stay.

Guest Relations
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Really nice hotel, very comfortable. Considering how Macau is always so noisy with the casinos and with the hustle & bustle, entering into Okura Hotel's lobby, you would almost forget that you are in Macau.

The location is not the best, but worthwhile staying since it is easy enough to get around in Macau.

The drawback is the glass panel between the toilet and the bedroom is just not suitable for twin sharing rooms. Guess it is the latest trends in hotels, though they do put a screen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0dL0vesU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear G0dL0vesU,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your precious feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyable stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit Hotel Okura Macau again for another beautiful stay.

Guest Relations
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed at their Junior Suite and had an amazing time. Decor was new and modern. Toilet has always been an important feature that I look at in luxury hotels and this one did not disappoint. The seating plate is always heated up ie. warm and the auto flush was also great. Bed is not the usual soft sponge you get but more firm and better for your back bones. Lovely vibe in and around the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend. It is worth splurging to upgrade to their junior/superior suites and get access to their executive floor for a speedy check in/check out and all day snacks and cocktails. I will be staying again and Okura have some excellent management seniors that will surely bring this hotel to great success. Thank you Okura for a memorable time and stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kizzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear kizzcat,

Thank you very much for sharing your precious feedback with us. We strive to make each and every guest's stay comfortable and relaxing.

We look forward to your next stay with us at Hotel Okura Macau; we hope to see you soon.

Guest Relations
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hardware and everything is good. Check in was quick. Maybe it was not weekend and not that busy. Anyway, my stay there was pleasant. My daughter enjoyed the wave pool very much. However, except the subtle touch of Japanese style decoration here and there, it doesn't really impress you much. So next time I go Macau, i would probably try other hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BMWFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear BMWFANS,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I arrived at the Macau Ferry terminal..........first mistake. Galaxy bus is at the end of the line of buses. Not ideal start to the luxury experience. Bus only goes to the resort's main entrance - Okura and Banyan tree guests, paying more, have the extra hassle!
The return trip to ferry terminal is even worse - 10 minute ride from Okura, back to Galaxy resort entrance when you can walk through casino in 2 mins - nobody chose to explain that (common sense from the staff???)
If you're staying on Cotai strip, get a ferry to Cotai ferry terminal...
In any case, all was pleasant enough and obvious there are still teething problems - as with most construction in GTR China - it is put up at lightening speed but on close inspection, there are silly, avoidable mistakes- loose hooks, warped wooden slat floors, tiny mens changing room in the gym (i mean 2 persons max can get changed comfortably at any one time, but there are 30 lockers??)
Breakfast service / offer is poor for an Okura. Not v imaginative.
Rooms are a good standard so well done there.

Banyan tree is still not finished yet so avoid paying the inflated rates.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThoseThatDare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear ThoseThatDare,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.7 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Macau

Address: Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: £115 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts brings its signature blend of modern comfort and tradition to the Galaxy Macau™, providing a distinctly Japanese interpretation of “World Class, Asian Heart” hospitality for guests at this spectacular resort. Leisure and business travelers at Hotel Okura Macau can choose from opulent suites or luxurious guest rooms that offer the highest-quality relaxation through Okura’s harmonious combination of function and comfort. Hotel Okura Macau was founded on the principle that its hotels must consistently offer the best accommodation, cuisine and service … a complete experience that visitors to Macau may now experience for the first time, only at Galaxy Macau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Okura Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing