We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”
Review of Hotel Okura Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Okura Macau
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked Junior suite but got complimetary upgraded to Superior suite^^ and an hour late check out.

If I go to Macau again I would definitely stay here again-

The service was excellent, & the nagomi bar is spectacular^^.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Jenny J,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Hotel Okura Macau. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Superior Suite room, check-out time, our Nagomi Bar, and our service standard. Our staffs' excellent service is the pride of our hotel, it is exciting to know you thought highly of them.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Hotel Okura Macau again in the near future; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I went with high expectations to this hotel and it did not disappoint. This hotel is unique. The angels are in the details.

The service. The reception gave us a good impression. They were patient and are eager to help. The concierge too. The gym instructor, the maid and so on. I always felt good when being served in this hotel. Well trained staff. Apart from staff, I mention one thing to show their service. When we left, we could have walked in less than 5 minutes with one piece of luggage inside the mall to the shuttle bus station to go to the ferry pier. Instead the hotel had its own free shuttle to fetch us to the shuttle bus station for the ferry. This hotel shuttle went around the entire block in the other direction and took also 5 minutes.

The culture. The staff we met are always friendly and polite. So friendly that they do not even say no. When my wife rang about the missing kettle, the reply was that they would send someone to help us find it. I had to quickly search for it and tell them that it had been found.

The room. The lighting system is interesting and thoughtful. Even the bathtub has a headrest. The convex mirror above the double sink is much better than the usual ones. The best of all is the installation in the toilet. You will have to be there to appreciate it.

The puzzle. We were told that the large restaurants on the 2nd floor previously providing all day dining and fine cuisine had gone. I heard that it will make way for a casino. There is recently a small substitute restaurant on the 6th floor. This is mind boggling. If food is an important consideration, inquire first before any commitment. I would have given them a five if not for this development.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear lfjag,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Hotel Okura Macau. It is always heart-warming to know that our guests feel our staffs are all well-trained and polite, providing top of the line service to all our esteemed guests. Our hotel's staffs delight in assisting our guests with any and all inquiries that they may have; we are ecstatic that our staffs were helpful and patient in answering you. In regards to the food outlets, due to renovation reasons, some of our restaurants are currently unavailable; however, they are some outlets that will soon be opened in our hotel. We hope that you will be back to enjoy these outlets.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Hotel Okura Macau again in the near future; we eagerly await your return.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very good services, the staff are all very helpful in taking our queries while checking in. The room is roomy and tidy, with a very pleasant Japanese decoration and technology gimmick, e.g different light setting in the room, automatic window screen and bathroom screen. I especially like the bathtub with a television and headrest, there are also plethora of high quality amenities. In addition, the hotel offer a birthday cake, a bottle of house wine and macaroon to us as birthday gift. The birthday cake is delicious and the house wine is ok (red from Portugal, good aroma and sweet taste). The wave pool and artificial beach is clean and fun. Overall, we have had a great time at Hotel Okura Macau, will definitely come again for relaxation and celebration.
One final point, the casino of Galaxy is much better than The Venetian next door. The Venetian was so full of people which make it feel more like a Sunday flea market. Galaxy offers a much more relaxing gaming environment, which is important as you need to stay cool while gambling!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Johnny M,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Okura Macau to celebrate your birthday. Our staffs are pleased to know that you enjoyed the birthday gift we provided, and are even happier to know you enjoyed the Japanese décor and many technological gimmicks of the hotel. We are also excited to know our guests prefer the relaxing feel of the Skywave pool and gaming area of our property in comparison to other hotels'; we strive to offer nothing but the best for our guests' entertainment.

We hope that you will visit Hotel Okura Macau again in the near future to enjoy the many facilties again. We look forward to seeing your soon.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My stay is fine, still need to fine tone the communication with staff. Room are clean & up to standard. I have booked a suite room which include $300 dinning credit. However, the room service's choice we could order is too less which I had explained to their staff. The restaurant on top which we could use the credit is definitely NOT up to standard. Not for the service but the food quality. I must say if 5 is the top, this restaurant is only rate 1 or less.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisakflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear louisakflo,

Thank you for your visiting our hotel again and providing us with valuable feedback about its many aspects. We are disappointed to hear that you found the food choices to be too little and that the food quality was not to your liking. We are delighted to inform you that as renovations are rapidly completing, our new menu items are also being finalized, which we hope will suit the large range of tastes that our culturally-diverse guests prefer.

We are very happy to know that our service and cleaniness is still impeccably good and hope that you will continue to visit our hotel to experience the many changes that we are constantly undergoing for the convenience and pleasure of our guests.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Outstanding standard of services, excellent facilities for family with children.

But......I don't know why......
Even we were in the non-smoking room, we were still attacked by "cigarette smoke" suddenly anytime in the day and night. I and my wife slept very bad at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel2014Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Travel2014Leisure,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Okura Macau. We are ecstatic that you thought so highly of our service standards and advanced facilities. We strive to provide the best for our guests so that they may have a relaxing and enjoyable experience during each stay with us. In regards to the smoke smell in your room, we will pass this information to the related department for further action; thank you for sharing this with us and we are sincerely sorry that it affected your sleep.

We hope you will continue to visit our hotel again and continue to see the outstanding service standards as well as improvements in the aspects that we have space to make better. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

good services, big surprise for the arrangement with us, beautiful beach & skypool, enough amenities, and the light in the room is so warm,
staff friendly, overall is very good for stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_ng0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear karen_ng0426,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your last stay at Hotel Okura Macau. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the surprise set up our staffs arranged for you and that you found the pool and other facilities to be beautiful. We are also extremely glad to know that our staffs were friendly and were able to make your stay with us grand and pleasant.

We hope that you will have a chance to visit Hotel Okura Macau again, our staffs eagerly await your return.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Clean and tidy, lobby and front desk services make you feel back home. Inside the room, it was a warm, lesture place, washing room facilities were clean and well maintain, the bed was comfort, working desk tidy. Honestly, except the view but overall I would grade excellent! Will certainly come back!

Room Tip: Hot water temp can be lowered down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wong830 H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Wong830 H,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us at Hotel Okura Macau. It makes us extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its many facilities, our staffs strive to maintain a relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy their mini-vacations.

We are honored to know that you will return to Hotel Okura Macau again in your spare time; we eagerly await your next visit.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 94 in Macau
1,232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Macau

Address: Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: £113 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts brings its signature blend of modern comfort and tradition to the Galaxy Macau™, providing a distinctly Japanese interpretation of “World Class, Asian Heart” hospitality for guests at this spectacular resort. Leisure and business travelers at Hotel Okura Macau can choose from opulent suites or luxurious guest rooms that offer the highest-quality relaxation through Okura’s harmonious combination of function and comfort. Hotel Okura Macau was founded on the principle that its hotels must consistently offer the best accommodation, cuisine and service … a complete experience that visitors to Macau may now experience for the first time, only at Galaxy Macau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Okura Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing