We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated, and sneaky” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BOA Mesa Comida Portuegesa

BOA Mesa Comida Portuegesa
Ranked #73 of 708 Restaurants in Macau
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-rated, and sneaky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Walked into this restaurant based on the tripadvisor sticker in the window. Service time was about right for the number of diners in the restaurant. We ordered Duck rice and the grilled sardines based on the chef's recommendation in the menu. The duck rice is NOT worth ordering. The sardines were nicely seasoned, and on the whole, quite tasty.
A bread plate which they set down on our table when we sat down was charged to our bill, even though we did not ask for it, and they did not indicate that it was not complimentary... if it weren't for this, I may have given the restaurant 3 stars. I don't like being charged for something I didn't order.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best portuguese food ive had in macau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have been trying all the portugese resaurants in macau, and this one is very good. I had sardines they were fantastic.
The steps to the toliet are a bit dangourous but everything else is brilliant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The beef steak was good. Duck rice and baked cod fish with potato weren't. Don't accept the bread as they charge for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank naaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for a short snack break in the city center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect: food,service, location, atmosphere, attitude. Good food for reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good staff and delicious sausage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I liked the portuguese sausage. I disliked the starter served, ciabatta and butter not for the taste. The taste was fine but I didnt order it and thought it was complimentary when it was served to me. Back home, starters come complimentary. I was suprised i was charged 40 % more than my expected bill because of the starter which i merely tasted. otherwise, the food and the staff were fine. maybe the management should stop serving starters not ordered by the customer as tourists come from different countries and may think these come complimentary as is the case in their own native country.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pink s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BOA Mesa Comida Portuegesa also viewed

 

Been to BOA Mesa Comida Portuegesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing