We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel in Macau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel in Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

This hotel is reasonably clean and is within walking distance from Largo do Senado, Macau's main cultural attraction. From there you can basically do a walking tour of Macau and also stroll down to the casino's if you want to do some gambling.

The rooms are a little worn but generally pretty modern and the bed is comfortable. The other commenters mentioned the pictures were fake but I don't think thats true. The pics while are professionally touched up do not overrepresent the place.

Overall, we had a pleasant experience here. A good budget hotel to do some sightseeing in Macau.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyTommy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    234
    100
    46
    33
See reviews for
86
110
75
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I have booked many hotels with Wotif during my time, but was forced to complain about the quality of this hotel. I felt like I was defrauded.

The “Standard Room” is absolutely nothing like the photos or description advertised and would barely rate as a $20 a night 1 star place in Asia. On arrival the Hotel does the hard sell to upgrade you to an “Executive Room” for an extra HK$600 in cash and only with that can you access the lounge and bar on the upper floors as displayed in your photos.

I stayed in a filty 4m x 3m cupboard/room with dirty carpet, old and dirty furniture and filthy bedding with cigarette burns and other stains. The so called free wireless internet doesn’t work at least on the 5-7 levels and the advice was that it is only available in the foyer. The first laminated notice you read sitting on the desk, tells you not to be alarmed when the Macau police conduct “inspections”, with the obvious inference that this is ‘a pay by the hour hooker’ motel. Not that it matters, but to top it off I have a view right into someone’s kitchen next door.

When I went to complain about the standard of the room an overbearing Fillipino was brought in to say that is all that is available and that the room had already been paid for. Solo female travellers would not feel safe in this hotel!

The photos and description in Wotif to describe this place are clearly misleading and certainly don’t justify rates of about US$150 a night. I have attached a couple of photos that give you the layout of the “standard” room in this hotel – the photos are with a super wide angle lens but the small double bed should put it into scale. There wasn’t enough room in the bathroom to take a photo, but rest assured it was old and filthy.

The one saving grace and why this hotel got 2 stars for service than one, was Annie the manager who organised some laundry on short notice for me. Didnt have time for anyone else in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesterinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Macau hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The location of this hotel is awesome - right in the middle of the macau city.. For any traveller coming to this place and looking for a budget hotel then this is the place to be.. good clean hotel with free wi fi connection. Only thing a guest should be wary of is the hotel staff.. though they are polite and can speak english - the have a tendency to force upon a guest their hotel tour packages which are exorbitantly priced.. one should never take the hotel's package... its a trap... bt if u r able to avoid this (trap) then nothing better than this hotel.....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

I traveled to Macao this Feb with my souse through Malaysia,... we booked this hotel 2-3 months in advance and therefore got a good deal. we loved the location. its so so so near to the best places in macau. Grt rooms.The staff can fool them by offering them their hotel cars. But when in macao, its all walking :)

a place to be
especially during feb-march..winter time.,,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

When we came to this hotel, we where met by serviceminded and well english speking staff. For a little exstra payment we got one of the new executive rooms and got positive surprised about the room. New renovated and clean room.
The area is close to sentrum of Macau. But had to take taxi to get to City of dream, where we was going.
The water pressure was very low at the bathroom and the breakfast was just ok..
But to be one of the cheapest hotel in Macau we can recommend this hotel if you dont want to pay a lot for a room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kainymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We booked this hotel in Macau through online booking service not knowing what we were getting into, but with a budget constraint. When we landed, we saw that the hotel was located in a old neighbourhood far away from the action of Macau. Rooms were average. We were able to upgrade one room paying extra...that was a slightly better room with adl facilities.

But service was decent and the Front desk was very helpful, I must say.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPDesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I booked the hotel over an online travel agency. Before, I had a look at the pictures of the rooms at the hotel webpage, which look modern and nice. It is only possible to book a standard room over the travel agency. BUT the standard rooms do not at all look like the pictures on the webpage; they are very old furnished and run down. I did not want to stay there, so I had to pay extra 280 MOP per night to upgrade to an executive room, which was on the pictures. This room was nice, but also quite dark at night and the AC did not work properly, only made quite some noise. On the upside, the staff was quite nice and there was free internet on the executive floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.0 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#52 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#43 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Address: No.14-16 Praca Ponte E Horta, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sun Sun, situated on Ponte e Horta, offers boutique-style accommodation in central Macau,5 km from Macau Ferry Terminal. A unique place where you can relax yourself and fully enjoy your leisure time in Macau. It is ideal for extended business stays and family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Macau
Best Western Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing