We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Ranked #28 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A modernist if somewhat garish reception and bar area raise similar expectations for the rooms, which end up as a bit of a let down, being very dated with furnishings and fittings badly in need of a makeover. That said, they are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the staff super professional and helpful while being reasonably overbearing on the very loud groups in need of shepherding. Suitably located within walking distance of the charming city centre and four or five of the major casinos, including the wonderfully preserved old school gems, this hotel serves as a perfectly adequate pit stop to recover from the exhilirating nightlife the place offers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aga2011London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Because we came to realise the hotel jus recently undergo some renovation we opt to check the room before checking in. Trust me, payin a little extra to get the room in the Penthouse is totally worth it. If its too crowded inside the room, you can always hang around at the living hall outside, with sofas, computers, n tea making facilities provided.

The older rooms are run down and smells weird.

The location is good as well cause its situated at the other side of the buzzling casino area. Plenty of recommended local food that's within walking distance. Price is reasonable as well. Friendly hotel staff all around

**downside: the room we're in is really dark despite all the lights lit up. Further more the bathroom is only separated by a transparent glass. You can request for it the be covered actually.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LawrenceHyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I've stayed in Macau a number of times in all varieties of accommodation ranging from hospedarias to casino hotels, and on balance I'd say that the Sun Sun offers reasonably priced rooms in an excellent location.

When travelling, it is necessary to put into context the nature of the area you are staying. Thus, in Macau and HK, unless you are prepared to stay in a hospedaria and deal with all that comes in doing so, you are going to be paying relatively more for significantly less. In other words, skip over all reviews of hotels in HK/Macau that rant about the small size of rooms and erroneous notions about 'value for money' that don't apply here. Deal with it or pay over US$200+ a night to solve the problem. It really is that simple.

The Sun Sun hotel itself is fairly unremarkable, but it is well maintained, the staff are friendly and helpful, and it is located on a quiet side street close to all the (non-gambling) action in the old and charming part of Macau. There's an abundance of cheap food options close at hand, buses and taxis are easy to locate, and if going to Zhuhai, the short ferry crossing is simply over the road.

I paid US$94 for a double room located on the upper floors. It was clean and quite big for Macau. I would advise asking for a room from the 14th floor upwards as these rooms have always been non-smoking and thus have no lingering smell attached to them. I was also lucky enough to escape the dreaded mainland tour groups who were located on the lower floors. I only mention this as these groups are always extremely loud (shouted conversations outside bedrooms in the early morning), very pushy and shovy, and generally a nuisance to other guests as they show absolutely no consideration towards others.

Room Tip: Upper floors are preferable for above stated reasons. Book online with Best Western's site for g...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The hotel is very basic and the double bedroom is also just about acceptable. The staff is very keen on making you upgrade to higher category room. If you want an early checkin by even 1 hour they ask you to take an upgraded room. But you can leave your luggage at the luggage room and checkin later. The hotel is in close proximity of Ruins of St Paul and the Senado square. Its only about 2 stops by bus or you can walk down in about 10-15 minutes. If you want to visit the ultra-big hotels like Venetian, Sands Cotai then its quite far and taxi is expensive. However you can take a free shuttle from Sands near the harbour. There is an Indian restaurant just opposite the Sands(Not Cotai).

Room Tip: If you want a better room be prepared to take an upgraded room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashutoshamehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Due to various hold ups I didn’t get to the Sun Sun until midnight and I was worried my room had been given to someone else. Fortunately it was still there and the hotel was very good quality for its price. The staff spoke fluent English and were very helpful and the Sun Sun was only a short walk away from most of the main Macau sights and looks over a nice little square.

The only gripe I had was that the mattress was VERY firm but this was in line with the experience I had at most Chinese hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Shazamateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and my daughter arrived very late at night but they were given an excellent care. They treat them as a very special guest and the room provided with them is great with a nice view. The people working in the Hotel is very supportive and they even help you find the place you wanted to see in Macau.

Room Tip: Whenever you are traveling in Macau always think of BW - Best Western.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The price is not tally with the quality, Pictures provided in the websites are totally different from.
I went there with my family total of 3 persons and we've booked a standard twin room. However, the staff there advised us to upgrade our room to the executive suite which have a queen size bed and a sofa bed in the living room with an additional of 400 MOP. After a deep consideration, we decided to take the offer. However, when we step in the executive suite, we found that the room was dark and with some "old smell". There are a round table with 3 wood chairs but when my grandma sit on the chair, she almost fall down because all 3 chairs are actually broken and cannot afford even 10 kg weight (my luggage). The bath room was terrible too. The water supply was weak the bathtub stopper was broken, we can't even fill it with water. The stand lamp and the oven is not usable (which are spoiled). Lastly, the free breakfast are not buffet style some more the food tastes bad. I am really pissed off with this hotel and that's why I wrote so much. Please consider before you book.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hailey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#40 of 94 in Macau
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 94 in Macau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#50 of 94 in Macau
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Sun Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Sun Sun

Address: No.14-16 Praca Ponte E Horta, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: £58 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Sun Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sun Sun, situated on Ponte e Horta, offers boutique-style accommodation in central Macau,5 km from Macau Ferry Terminal. A unique place where you can relax yourself and fully enjoy your leisure time in Macau. It is ideal for extended business stays and family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Sun Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Macau
Best Western Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing