We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Worn-out rooms... :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel because there was no available room at Ole London Hotel which we stayed at for our first two nights in Macau. Ole London Hotel is the hotel next door.

From the airport, for only about 10 MOP for two people, we took the Bus #26 to Bacia Norte do Patane (you won't miss your stop because English is provided), and from the stop, we used Here Maps on Windows Phone to walk to the hotel (about a 3-minute walk). TIP: Very useful to have offline maps and GPS on your phone when getting around Macau.

Best Western Hotel Sun Sun is only a 10-minute walk to/from San Ma Lo or Senado Square. It's also just a 5-minute walk to Rua da Felicidade where you can eat at Loja Sopa Da Fita Cheong Kei which is quite famous for it's bamboo noodles and a place that you can grab a bite of pretty cheap but good food. There is also a small park just in front of the hotel.

The room that we stayed in was a corner room which had two windows with different views, and for that, I appreciate the service. I had noted on my online reservation that I will be celebrating my birthday and requested for the best room possible, and it appears that they have delivered. Sadly, however, though clean and well-kept, the room was worn-out. The bed was a bit hard, the curtains were a frayed in some places, and signs of wear and tear can be seen from the structure of the room itself, including the bathroom. For this reason, I would recommend just staying at Ole London Hotel just next door because of its newly renovated rooms. And also, power outlets were few and outdated as compared to Ole London Hotel which had universal power outlets everywhere! Important for us since we have a lot of gadgets.

The service was great and the staff were very polite and efficient. There was even someone that helped us carry our things to our room (unlike in Ole London Hotel which seemed like there was only the receptionist on duty).

Room Tip: Request for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Best western hotel sun sun is a great hotel n nice room but the location is far from Airport, Ruins of St. Paul's, Senado Square but near from Macau Tower.
I felt life as a Macau citizen bcos the location is far from tourist location n used public transportation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fifi_Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

best western sun sun hotel is located in an area within spitting distance from largo de Senado/Ruins of St. Paul . Crossing the streets along Ponte, one can easily catch the free shuttle buses going to the Venetian. On the other hand , it is an easy walk to Senado
square, The hotel is quaint with friendly staff and a small bar/cape at the lobby. While we did not include bfast in our reservation, the hotel provides percolator, coffee and tea in their rooms. There is a small bakery on its side street where we buy our freshly baked breads/bagels to dunk in our coffee (saved us a considerable amount for shopping). The hotel employs helpful staff (Filipinos) , they showed s how to get our transport and where to buy our foods (since we are literally backpackers). Our rooms are nice and newly refurbished. wll definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charitoyara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location: Easy to walkway to Senado Square // Ruin de Saint Pualo Gate // A-ma Temple
Closed to 7-Eleven and local food street and Local restaurant area ; Bus stop next to Hotel building

Exterior:Tall Big Brown Building with Medium size lobby; Friendly Helpful Staff Reception and Doorman; Elevator Using secure with Guest Room keycard system; Need to 500 HKG deposit when check in; Will return when you leave.

Interior:We stay in Executive area 13 floor; Room is more space with Free wifi in room services
Soap shampoo Toilet kits provided; Bathtub with shower area also; Tea and coffeee complimentary with free drinking water; Flaton Tv and Fridge

All in all; These is one of budget quality hotel next to main Macau tourist attraction area

Room Tip: If have more budget Try Executive floor; You will get Macau tower and Macau Ponte places main fisher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is close to the Inner Harbour Terminal (2-minute walk) and a 15-minute walk to Senado Square (Largo do Senado). With the harbour-view room, one gets a beautiful night view of the Ruins of Saint Paul and Guia Lighthouse, lighted up, in a distance. Located in the quieter part of town, a peaceful night sleep is guaranteed.

However, the hotel internal sound proofing leaves much to be desired. On our second night, a large group of Chinese tourists checked in and definitely made their presence heard throughout the hotel.

All staff, from the doorman to reception and housekeeping were efficient and friendly. They spoke English and were very helpful with directions and guest requests.

The famous Ama Temple is a pleasant 40-minute walk south, along quaint shops housing local eateries and establishments selling dried seafood and essentials. To save your feet and a few patacas, walk to Point 16 Sofitel for a free shuttle to the Outer Harbour; or just outside the Inner Harbour for the Venetian shuttle bus to Cotai.

There is plenty to see and explore around Macau so make sure you pack comfortable walking shoes and obtain a tourist map from the nearest tourist information centre.

Room Tip: Request for a harbour view room for the beautiful night view of the St Paul's Ruins and the Guia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasLee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked into this hotel as there was little else available over the New Year period. It is grossly overpriced for what you get and very poorly furnished eg. one cheap metal chair in a double room, tv only has Chinese channels although it is supposed to be cable tv. No international channels at all. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby which also houses a small bar/cafe which has a very limited food line.

The staff - a mixture of Chinese and Filipinos were excellent - ver courteous and helpful. They are the only good thing about the hotel and would be better employed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DNewton667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

For a hotel to carry the brand of Best Western, this one is TRULY DISAPPOINTING. This hotel is simply dirty. The carpet reeks, the furniture is old, the curtains are all stained and the walls need a paint job. What else can I say ? Ah yes ... the bathroom, the most important of all considering that this is where you do your thing ... THE BATHROOM IS FILTHY !!!!

Other than a great location, there are no positives for this hotel. BEST WESTERN, FIX THIS ONE.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikoiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#42 of 94 in Macau
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 94 in Macau
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#46 of 94 in Macau
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#35 of 94 in Macau
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#32 of 94 in Macau
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Sun Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Sun Sun

Address: No.14-16 Praca Ponte E Horta, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £47 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Sun Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sun Sun, situated on Ponte e Horta, offers boutique-style accommodation in central Macau,5 km from Macau Ferry Terminal. A unique place where you can relax yourself and fully enjoy your leisure time in Macau. It is ideal for extended business stays and family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Sun Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Macau
Best Western Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing