We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Lapa Experience”
Review of Grand Lapa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Lapa Macau
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Lapa Hotel for a night. It was amazing.

The hotel feels a bit old but staffs maintain the place to feel luxurious.

On arrival, the Front Office staff was very quick in checking us in but she didn't smile and so it feels a bit uninviting.

And then we got our room. We mistakenly ask for a smoking room. They immediately change our room from a smoking to a non-smoking, they change it in only a few minutes time.

Hotel staffs, especially Concierge (Edgar), was extremely helpful. We were new in Macau, we don't know anything. He guided us in every step to ensure our time and money is spent well. DOUBLE THUMBS-UP!

Amazing resort and spa. We enjoyed the pool, sauna, and all its ammenities.

I recommend this place if you want to stay in Macau. Far away from the busy casino areas. And yet everything is just a bus ride away...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank EPFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello EPFLores,

Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - we will also be sure to pass on the positive comment for Edgar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

- Grand Lapa Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

As one of the older hotels in Macau, it does not have the opulence and garishness of the new mega hotels but this was of particular appeal given the level of service and attentiveness. Very well located and walking distance to the old part of Macau.
Being next door to the Sands hotel offers the option of a free shuttle to the Venetian to explore the Taipa island in Macau.
The rooms are dated but still operational. The bathrooms could do with a facelift.
Special mention to the concierges Roy and Edgar who provide exceptional service and very good reccomendations.

Room Tip: While a free shuttle is provided from th ferry to the hotel, there is no special board visible so pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If somebody is looking for a nice location in Macau, then Grand Lapa is good option for stay. Staff is also very nice and moreover the Thai restaurant provides a quality meal option. The hotel is very much close to ferry terminal too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff has made our stay a memorable one. The concierge dept has been really helpful in guiding us on places to visit.
Rooms are clean and beds are really comfortable.
Only set back is that the furniture is a little bit old.
But overall, we are very happy with it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineCHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My usual place to stay since I've first visited Macau many years ago. Location is superb as extremely close to HK/Macau Ferry terminal. Staff and hotel was previously Oriental Hotel so be prepared for a more Asian styled room rather then modern rooms. Everything about the hotel is great and 2mins walk to Sands which has a good chill out bar at lv2.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank SteveSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We came to Macau with a Ferry from Hong Kong. Took the shuttle to the hotel (The shuttle does not have a named stop so you have to look for it and wait a while).

Very nice hotel, very spacious and clean. The only draw back was the long line up to check out - it just doesn't make sense to wait 20-30 minutes to check out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

An old hotel in need of a refurbishment, charming staff, good pool, easy reach of the ferry terminal, perfect location for the grand prix. Reasonable price use the Sands buses next door to get around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#43 of 94 in Macau
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lapa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lapa Macau

Address: No.956-1110 Avenida da Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#20 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#21 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £87 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lapa Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 18-story waterfront hotel with elegantly decorated interior, situated near the Outer Harbour seawall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Lapa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lapa, Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Macau Peninsula
Mandarin Oriental Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing