We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lapa Macau

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Lapa Macau
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overall good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed in the hotel for 1 nigh, in a,twin room. we were upgraded to a higher floor room, with very nice view. the hotel overall is great, good location, good buffet breakfast. the strongest point I consider the resort like feeling, very nice swimming pool and surrounding. nice experience for the money spent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 398annamariak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Annamaria K,

Thank you for your review and kind words! We're glad you had a relaxing stay with us, and found good value in our services and facilities. We hope to welcome you again here in Macau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    284
    83
    26
    10
See reviews for
162
176
64
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Whenever I come to Macao I stay in the grand Lapa.
This hotel has come in the years but anyway it is clean and it has a very nice pool and gym and a very good thai restaurant in the resort ( Nam-Thai )
You probably find better places to stay in kotai but I prefer the Macao peninsula. You can pick a taxi to kotai it is cheap (5 US). You can walk to all destinations from the grand lapa, the grand lisboa is a 10 minutes walk away, the ruins of st. Pauls 20 minutes. If you like running, there is a very nice running track around the great water reservoir. ( 200 metres away from the lapa ) You should run in the early morning, or late evening ( it is safe, many people run and walk there even after dark ) because during day it is too hot/humid.

Room Tip: You should upgrade to a room on 15th floor with resort view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szimmermann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello szimmermann28,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were even able to get in a run while you were here. Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Macau very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I only stayed one night in Macau and this was a place I would stay if I came back. We took the free shuttle bus from the Cotai Ferry Terminal to the Sands and just walked a few feet to lobby of the hotel. It was extremely close and easy to find. The hotel is on a lush grounds full of trees, flowers and ceramic tiles on the outdoor walkways.

Check in was a snap and was quick. The lobby is grand and elegant. There is a player piano which seemed to always be playing Saturday in the Park by Chicago every time I was in the lobby. The staircase is grand and great for taking pictures. There are also some very high end stores within the hotel such as LV, Bally and others like that.

The hotel offers a casino but I never checked it out as I don't really gamble. The rooms are kind of dated, the bed was large and comfortable but the furniture was like something out of my grandparents living room in the 70's. The TV was about 25 years old, the desk was roomy and large but again seemed very old and out of date. The room had a view of the pool which is quite nice. The grounds again very beautiful especially from above. Sadly it rained the day we were there but we still took advantage of the pool.

The pool area is really the best part of the hotel, it has a spa like feel to it and even when you walk in you feel like you are going to a spa. The pool is large and has a kiddie area with a slide. I went down the slide but there wasn't enough pressure so it is hard for adults to use. The hot tub is built into a rock wall with a waterfall. It really is a nice area and the waterfall is refreshing. It's a large hot tub so many guests can be accommodated.

The staff was very friendly (I joked with my girlfriend who is Filipino that it's because she spoke Tagalog to them as they are mostly Filipino) but they are approachable and knowledgeable. It's also close the Grand Prix Museum, Fisherman's Wharf and the Sands which offers a free bus to the Venetian (and ferry terminal). We took a cab to Segundo Square which was about 24 patacas. It's a classy hotel and while it is a little dated you don't get that gaudy tacky feel like you do in many places.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a pool view as it really is a beautiful area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIngston_Marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Kingston_Marley,

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Grand Lapa, Macau. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us; sorry to hear the weather wasn't the best. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel is at a very accessible spot, just a few minutes from the ferry pier. Although the decor and furnishing is pretty outdated, and the hallway had a musky, dusty smell, the facilities were all very clean, comfortable and presentable. The staff were all very friendly. The real pulling factor of this hotel was their swimming pool. Despite being in between lots of buildings, and next to the giant Sands, their pool area still reserves a 'natural' and relaxing ambience with a few palm trees scattered around. My partner and I stayed for one night and despite miserable cloudy weather we were able to enjoy a lovely warm hot tub/jacuzzi, and a refreshing swim in the pool. I would recommend this for a short getaway.

Room Tip: Our room was looking over the swimming pool, was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Fidela R,

Thank you so much for your kind words on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our swimming pool, with less than admirable weather. We hope to see you again soon here at The Grand Lapa!

- Grand Lapa Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanger, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel is 500m from jetty.check in quick and fast.room is lovely comfortable.the hotel facilities it's spa steam room sauna pool outside jacuzzi even shower room with soap and shampoo blades to have a shave.excellent.nice gym for training.
Hotel gt uperclass stores Louis vutton,tommy hilfer etc.

Room Tip: All rooms example 1101 1201 801etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Luqman789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Luqman789,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to use the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again soon at The Grand Lapa Macau.

- Grand Lapa Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Though Grand Lapa may not exactly be in downtown of Macau but it's a nice place and with excellent facilities, infact it is luxurious, the rooms are quite big and rich, the pool facilities are also good, the lobby pretty impressive, overall a good 5 star property

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We very much appreciate your kind words and comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel are easy to find beside Sand. Room are clean and spacious with a good view if facing sand and pool. The pool are cool and will be fun for kid which i personally enjoy myself too. They also provide free shuttle service to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylSG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello yISG89,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and our shuttle services. We hope to see you back again soon at the Grand Lapa Macau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
5.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lapa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lapa Macau

Property: Grand Lapa Macau
Address: No.956-1110 Avenida da Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#19 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#20 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lapa Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 18-story waterfront hotel with elegantly decorated interior, situated near the Outer Harbour seawall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Lapa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lapa, Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental Macau Peninsula
Mandarin Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing