We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.”
Review of Grand Lapa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Lapa Macau
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Most other reviews are pretty correct for this hotel. Rooms are not huge but well decked out. Good amenities in bathroom. Great bed if king sized. Great concierge who are excellent. Great pool with warm giant spa. Nice slide for kids. Mini golf. Good buffet breakfast but you must include in room cost or you pay by the day but lovely location if seated by the window. Shuttle to hotel and ferry or just catch shuttle to the sands and walk next door which is more often and easier. Casino sucks but I dont think this is owned by the
hotel. The in house spa looks nice but was very expensive so we didn't go.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michealbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello michealbryant,

Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the pool, breakfast and more. We appreciate the review and hope to be able to welcome you again soon back to Grand Lapa, Macau.

Warm regards,
Grand Lapa, Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at Grand Lapa last November, and I have to say that I had a rather disappointing experience there.
Like most hotels in Macau, this hotel provides shuttle service from ferry terminal to the hotel. When we arrived at the ferry terminal, we started to look for the hotel shuttle. Most hotels have a fixed spot at the shuttle parking area for their bus, and others are too poor to pay for that spot. Grand Lapa belongs to the latter. After waiting for about 30 minutes, we did not see the shuttle. Then we went for lunch. After lunch, we waited for another 30 minutes but still did not see the shuttle. I asked a staff from another hotel at the shuttle parking area and he said that we should wait for more time because the Grand Lapa bus may emerge at a random place at a random time. We waited for another ten minutes and then decided to take a taxi to the hotel. The hotel locates not far away from the port so the taxi drive takes about only 10 minutes. The main reason I choose to stay at this hotel is this hotel is very close to City University of Macau, and I had to take a test at that college the other day. After the stay I realized that the location might be the only positive thing to say about this hotel.
Upon arrival, there were no doorman at the front door, which was pretty odd for a "Mandarin Oriental" property. The check-in takes forever. We waited about 45 minutes to check in. There were not many people there but the staff is so inefficient. I observed a rather strange phenomenon that every staff at the front desk went to the room behind the check-in desk every 5 minutes. Odd. The staff at the hotel are friendly, but they may be too inexperienced. What makes it worse is that the hotel does not provide free wifi even in public areas.
The room is basically what you'll expect in a run-down, crappy four star hotel(maybe three star). The TV is not flat-screen, which reminded me of my childhood. The single beds were small and were so close to each other that seems to be one queen bed - a ridicoulous design.
The hotel has a courtyard but there were no signage whatsoever. We spent about 15 minutes wandering in the courtyard, looking for the back door of the hotel.
The check-out process takes about 5 minutes, which is 5 times longer than the average check-out time I experienced at other hotels.
In conclusion, the hotel is definitely not worth the money and I stongly suggest everyone (except for those who have to take a test at City University) not to come to this hotel.

Room Tip: Seriously, is there a good room in this hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank michael35432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Haomiao H,

Thank you very much for a review of your recent stay with us. We take all of our reviews very seriously and are very sad to hear that your recent stay with us was not a pleasant one. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Having said that, we are immediately passing this review to our management team for review and further response. Thank you again and we look forward to being in contact with you soon.

Warm regards,
Grand Lapa, Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

There are millions of hotels in Macau most with Casinos! The Grand Lapa is no exception but it is smaller by comparison with the large resorts yet close to everything. Most importantly their staff are brilliant, the welcome was perfect by the doorman and concierge. Front desk efficient, friendly.
Room delightful facing city this visit rather than the resort and harbour. Had included breakfast and a very fine buffet at that. Again lovely staff, chatty if you wanted and quiet is you didn't. This was a maderin hotel but how now changed hands. Staff seem to working hard at making a impression. We have stayed here before and we will be back when next in Macau.

Room Tip: Higher up facing the harbour are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear diggerdave,

Thank you so much for your kind words; we are delighted to have you back again with us! Our staff are also pleased to have been up to your level of satisfaction and we hope that staying in a room facing the city gave you a new perspective on Macau. We look forward to being at your service again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Grand Lapa, Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel I got to enjoy the refined atmosphere. The hotel's lobby the spirit of old-fashioned atmosphere. Not a modern ultra-modern design, but timeless and luxurious one. Elegant and friendly service. The receptionist overbook room for the same price. The room had a nice view overlooking the swimming pool. I think the hotel as a whole has been awarded a five star rating. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear seti55,

Thank you so much for your five star rating! We are so glad that you found Grand Lapa's atmosphere, decoration and service to be pleasant. Did you take a chance go swim in our pool as well? If not, be sure to try it out on your next visit to Macau!

Warm regards,
Grand Lapa, Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my home for 3 days in Macau! This is one of the best hotels i've seen in the 4 countries i've been. Just loved the ambiance of the hotel, friendly staff, good continental breakfast.

The pool area is just awesome, it feels like you are hundreds of kilometres away from the city.

If you are a shopaholic you can shop luxury fashions from the Armani, Versache etc.. (from the inside hotel stores)

Overall lovely experience! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekVicky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello VivekVicky2014,

Thank you so much for your warm words. We're really please to know our hotel is among your choice of the best hotels amongst the places you have visited! We hope to have the privilege of you staying with us again on your next trip to Macau.


- Grand Lapa Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.The hotel is very nice,the pool and spa are amazing.Hotel has a bus to take you to the ferry.Only think was the woman who checked us in was a bit snobby and rude but all other staff were really friendly and helpful.The buffet breakfast is so yummy.The Sands Casino/Hotel is right next door.A close walk to attractions.The rooms are big clean and so nice.Had a great stay but wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausguy1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Ausguy1605,

We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Grand Lapa, Macau. What did you like most about your time here in Macau? We hope to see you again next time when you get the chance to stay longer and explore more of what our city has to offer.


- Grand Lapa Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I originally chose the hotel because reviews said that it was within easy walking distance to the old town. I wouldn't agree with this assessment. It's an easy cab ride but a long walk. It is close to the Macao Museum of Art, which is definitely worth a visit. Fortunately cabs are very well priced.

The hotel rooms need refurbishing but mine was very well equipped and the turn down service was great. Very comfortable king size bed and good view. No free wifi, which was annoying because my Vodafone phone plan didn't include data roaming in Macao, only Hong Kong and China!

The spa and outside pool is very good. I was thrilled that my room rate included a free massage. The concierge staff were very helpful. They secured me a last minute ticket to the Dancing Water show at City of Dreams. Not to be missed! Also recommended a great restaurant.

The hotel has a casino, but it's not visible when you walk in the lobby, which I liked. Tucked away on the second floor. Definitely not a hotel for people wanting a flashy casino experience, but the ambience, I think, is a lot nicer. Also, you can use the Sands shuttle across the road from the Grand Lapa to visit the new casinos in Taipa.

Room Tip: High floor with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandLapaMacau, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lapa Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello NicolaSydney,

Thank you so much for your review of Grand Lapa, Macau. We're happy that you found our pool and spa to be a rewarding part of your experience here in Macau. We hope to welcome you again soon!


- Grand Lapa Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,341 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#36 of 94 in Macau
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lapa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lapa Macau

Address: No.956-1110 Avenida da Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#20 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#21 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £82 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lapa Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 18-story waterfront hotel with elegantly decorated interior, situated near the Outer Harbour seawall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Lapa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lapa, Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Macau Peninsula
Mandarin Oriental Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing