We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel”
Review of Grandview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grandview Hotel
Ranked #66 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Kunming, China
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nothing wrong with staying here and it provides a decent value for the dollar, but it lacks panache. In all fairness, the price was also lower than the sexy 5 star hotels; about 700 MOP instead of twice that.

My room was clean and well furnished. Service was OK. Helpful Filipino concierge. Was able to take a city bus to the Venetian or go in the other direction across the bridge to a major bus interchange near the Lisboa and BOC building (on the peninsula.)

My room had a view of the race track and I could watch the horses being exercised early in the morning about 7 or 7:30.

The best thing about this hotel was its Chinese Restaurant on the second floor. A very pleasant surprise. Imaginative menu, prompt service, friendly pricing. I ate there several times and was very happy each time. High quality cuisine. Could easily stand on its own merits as a dining destination.

I didn't buy the hotel breakfast package, instead opting to eat at various small neighborhood cafes. Usually paid 22 MOP for a bowl of noodle soup, one egg, and a cup of coffee around the corner. Several small "Mom and Pop" joints available.

There are a couple of foot massage shops and grocery stores within a block or two, walking in the direction of the strip. This area has an easygoing "neighborhood" feel, which is relaxing after life on the glitzy Cotai Strip.

I'd say this is a good mid-price lodging option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    131
    84
    29
    14
See reviews for
60
68
29
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked our stay at this hotel on the net and were pleasantly surprised to find the location opposite the horse racing track. Breakfast is not so good and for vegetarians they have no variety.View from the hotel room is very nice.The front desk staff is very cooperative, room service is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guruteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 week during fourth week of August . The hotel is old styled and is good for a person traveling on a low budget . The breakfast lacks variety and rooms are spacious but the decor inside the rooms appears old. the hotel is opposite the racing track and view from the hotel is good .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We just got the reservation in the net & they have free shuttle in the ferry terminal so its so easy to go to the hotel when we got there the check-in was easy no fuss they speak english -but bacause of our late check-in our requested room was given to the other traveller- but again i can really say that no fuss because they upgrade our room to much more nicer room with no extra charge :-) :-) :-) whata deal, the location was good near to all major hotel like Venetian, Galaxy, City of Dreams Hardrock & to our surprise when my husband woke-up in the morning whoa the view was sooo amazing & he mesmerized bacause he loves horse - the view was the wholeness of the race track from our window, we have check right away one of the list in our itinerary instantly hehehe, near 7-11, convenience store money changer, & to major hotel/casinos, free wifi in the lobby, very very polite hotel staff from the shuttle driver - doorman - to the nice front desk & specially to the concierge staff too they were all attentive to all your needs, they will guide you & give direction to what place you want to visit they even write in chinese character our itinerary so that the taxi driver could easily understand where we want to go.. The rooms are clean & have free use of electric kettle if you need to drink hot tea or coffee..my grandest thanks to all the filipino's & chinese staff of this hotel they were all respectfull & kind, gonna stay in this hotel again if we go back in Macau :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yinyang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It's location is good near by (walkble distance) Galaxy and sports stadium there is no Grand view from Room but it is worth full with service i appreciate this management to maintain a good library along with fitness center lobby not so spacious but Good lobby staff they always busy but they do service with patience and keep smile,Breakfast also Good we can't expect more from Chinese dishes we can manage with Fruits and Milk / Tea .In front of this Hotel we can find one 7 /11 store also one Thailand's 4 Faces temple later i knew that near by this many Thai people is living.

Room Tip: Higher floors for Good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPECIALDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked this hotel as it seems to be reasonable compared to others hotels, room prices in Macau are over hyped anyways. Me and my friends family booked two Premier Deluxe Room for 1 night. Our Check-in was handled by a lady, she was good in her English and with smiles all the time, told that we will be upgraded to Executive rooms. The process took no more than 10 mins. I was initially thinking that this upgrade is a gimmick and probably we will still be put into similar rooms i booked. I was wrong since we stayed on 18th floor which is executive floor. Felt nice for the gesture. We had a infant daughter and so i requested the baby cot which was made available to us. The baby cot was beautiful, white in color with soft pillow and small quilt.

Our rooms had views of local apartment complex only, the bed was amazing big and soft. The complimentary water bottles, safe lock, refrigerator, toiletries were all good. There is a big shelf with hangers to keep the cloths. Rooms and carpets were clean and beautiful. I checked the TV which has good number of English channels.

Later on went around the hotel to check the gym, Swimming pool but found no people using it. I tried the Sauna which was free for guests. Didn't bother about checking Wi-Fi.
Bus stop is close by and Taipa Village is walk-able. Indian Restaurant is around the hotel.

For the sightseeing i conversed with the bell boy, he was kind enough to hand me the Map of Macau and lot of small cards with tourist attractions picture & address. He helped me with the bus numbers to reach different destinations and suggested me to take taxi for few of them. This was very useful for me.

On the other side of the lobby was a Casino but didn't bother to enter it. On the day of check-out, we left the baggage until evening.

Overall i was happy to stay here and i could reach most of the attractions of Macau without much trouble using public transport from this hotel. For the way back to Ferry terminal i used the free shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dashing_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is offers slightly less that what I would expect from this budget range. Its a casino hotel. There are a lot of mainland tourists here who are only here to gamble.

Its a short drive from the Ferry terminal and hotel offers free shuttle. I just found it easier to catch the 28A bus from the ferry terminal and stop of the Tapia square stop. About 2min walk to the hotel.

The reason I booked this hotel, was it offered free WiFi. Heads up only free WiFi is in the lobby. Very limited number of seats and always packed. Hard to Skype back home.
You can buy 3hr or 24hr WiFi pass from hotel for $50/100 but catch is its continious use. Once you start using thats it. The staff couldn't explain the 24hr service if I leave for dinner and come back, can I continue using it. They didn't understand the service themselves.

Very comfy bed. Cleanliness is the best. Its good but not 4star good.

Taxi service is alright here. They don't like short trips though

Room Tip: Free WiFi only in lobby. Research 28A buss line in Macau. Good way to get to hotel from Ferry Termi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taipa Square
Hotel Taipa Square
#50 of 95 in Macau
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#51 of 95 in Macau
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regency Art Hotel
Regency Art Hotel
#55 of 95 in Macau
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Pousada Marina Infante Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Hotel

Property: Grandview Hotel
Address: No.142 Estrada Governador Albano De Oliveir, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandview Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grandview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing