We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulance on a Grand Scale in Macau”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The old Lisboa Hotel is still one of the great attractions of Macau and any stay there is sumptuousness in the extreme. The lavish rooms with jacuzzi bath are a stage set from a movie. The luxurious rooms with every conceivable extra make any stay here a grand occasion. The hotel has everything you need, excellent wi-fi and is in the center of Macau should you want sight seeing. The rate for this luxury is surprisingly cheap if you visit mid week. Get a room on the upper floors for a quiet stay and bring your own soap if you want to take the bathroom Hermes products home for giveaways to friends. They also have an indoor and outdoor pool should you have to move out of the room for cleaning before going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the upper floors are quieter. Stay Sunday to Thursday for value and the luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbuckell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We paid a short visit to Macau recently, on the way to Hong Kong. Having never been there, I thought it would be nice to stop over and take a look. I chose the Lisboa mainly because of the location.

It is difficult to describe this hotel in just a few words. It is certainly unique and I have never come across such a unique hotel of this size before.

The first thing that strikes you is the BLING. I thought this might have been exacerbated by the Christmas decorations, but take a closer look and you realise these might actually be detracting from the shininess of the crystal, lacquer and gold leaf underneath. Macau invites comparison with Las Vegas, but it is more compact and far more Chinese. It is more like Hong Kong, but without the building regulations.

We stayed at the older wing in a tower room. The room itself was great. A little over the top with the décor and slightly dated, but well maintained and all the furniture and fittings were of a high quality.

However, to give you some idea of how "outrageous" this hotel is, the newer wing opposite, is an architecturally implausible fan shape and covered with flashing neon and is about 40 stories high. Apart from the bling, there was a fossilized DONOSAUR SKELETON outside the elevator on our floor. Not as large as my picture provided here might suggest (only a metre tall), but totally unexpected.

There are some nice features, such as the toilet on the ground floor common area, where everything is automatic, meaning you don't have to touch anything (well almost anything) including the entrance door.

Location is great, with the older town and shopping areas within walking distance. It is about a 5 minute cab ride from the ferry terminal. Macau itself isn't very big and even though this is one of the further destinations, the airport is only 15 minutes by taxi from here.

The rating was nearly 5 points, but only slightly let down by the fact that being a Friday night, the rate is hiked by about 100% from week day rates and the fact that the older wing could do with a bit of renovation. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Smoking or non smoking, dinosaur or non dinosaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The plus points:
Firstly, it is extremely spacious and clean. The exteriors betrays its true age, but the interior of the rooms are really modern. The rooms were rather luxurious. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was rather generous in providing complimentary beverages when others will charge (think of beer and all kinds of soft drinks).
Secondly, the staff were also extremely helpful. They speak English, Chinese and Cantonese, with Cantonese being the preferred language. But they do speak English and Chinese well enough. They helped me and my family with our luggage and all.
There is also a free shuttle bus to the ferry terminal. Take the one from the entrance of the hotel and NOT the one to and from the casino because that will send you to another entrance.
Finally, it is well-placed for lots of sightseeing and gambling. It is within walking distance from the Senado Square. The bus interchange opposite the hotel has plenty of buses going almost everywhere in Macau, including the Cotai Strip where the Venetian is.
Now, the minus points:
First, it is old. Do not expect a spanking cool new hotel, because it is not. It pales in comparison with younger brother across the street.
Secondly, the building is also rather confusing because there are two wings and they are not well connected. The corridors are not very well labelled as well. This is probably because the casino is integrated into the hotel somewhat oddly. So, my advice is to find your wing and always use that relevant exit, never ever be adventurous or you might be hopelessly lost, like I was.
Thirdly, it felt sleazy because you can see social escorts (to put it rather nicely) everywhere in the corridors below the rooms. I mean, at least they were not upstairs and generally out of sight from the lobby but it is not exactly the best visual material for young children, no?

Room Tip: Request and demand for a non-smoking LEVEL, not room. You will need it, if you do not want to choke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wesley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Upon reaching Macau Ferry terminal, found a staff of the hotel there. Free transport to the hotel..good service. After reading a few reviews on the transport was abit worried to end up in the wrong entrance of the big building. But this free service brought us to the hotel lobby with staff helping with our luggages. Notice that there r 2 different free transport from the ferry terminal to the hotel make sure u take the red van and not the green Bus. Green bus will drop u at another entrance. The room is "Woa"! Good the bath tub is "super"!! But do note that some of the function of the bath tub has retired as well...a good hotel to stay if u are able to get a reasonable price.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

They don't have 24 hour shuttle and the location isn't safe for travelers. The building is so confusing took us 15 mins to find our room. Hookers everywhere, i mean hot girls everywhere. lol Room was really nice, the bathroom is awesome and they have some freebies, i like their free umbrella lol. But the bed was hard as rock, i didn't sleep good that night. Far from the senado square and st. Paul pf ruins. staffs are nice and they speak english.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We try and stay at hotels that are in really good locations and The Lisboa did not disappoint. Caught the hotel shuttle bus from the ferry terminal and reached the Lisboa within 5-10 mins. Hotel is huge so you can get lost very easily and we got lost straight up as the bus dropped us at the back of the hotel and we had to search for reception. To make it even more difficult, there are 2 receptions because there are 2 wings. Check out is at 12 noon and check in is at 3pm so be mindful of this when planning your arrival. You can leave your bags with the hotel and go off exploring while you await check in.

We were upgraded to a Royal Suite which was great. We were on the 10th floor and overlooked the water and each night we sat and watched beautiful sunsets from our room while at the same time watching dragon boats practising and mad bungy jumpers jumping off the Macau Tower. The Royal Suite is a very good size with a seating area next to the picture window. Yes the furnishing are gold and red and glitzy but the whole of Macau is gold and glitzy so nothing new here.

Wifi in the room was reliable and fast, housekeeping very good and lovely extras in the room. Beautiful Hermes toiletries and complimentary drinks in the bar fridge which was refilled each day. Good flat screen tv and in room safety box. Very complicated shower that does everything and more to entertain you while you are showering but we never bothered working it all out and just used it as a normal shower.

Husband had to do some unexpected work and the Business Centre at the hotel were very accommodating so big thumbs up to the staff in the Business Centre. Several restaurants in the hotel and a couple of bakeries and of course the shopping arcade and the casinos. There are also several fairly priced currency exchanges in the shopping arcade.

There is a small indoor pool which is just long enough to do laps. Swimmers are well looked after by the pool attendant and lockers and toiletries are provided.

The location of this hotel is perfect. You can explore the historic part of Macau which is just a few minutes walk away. You can marvel at the opulence of the Grand Lisboa which is right next door - make sure to take the time and check out the wonderful creations on view in the Lobby. For the women, there is a 218 carat diamond on display.

If you are into Casinos there are quite a few of the older casinos in this part of town but if you want to check out the newer, glitzier ones, take a walk to the Sintra Hotel (2 mins away) and hop on the free City of Dreams shuttle bus and this will take you out to Taipa where you can visit City of Dreams, The Venetian, The Galaxy etc . After your visit return to The City of Dreams and take the free shuttle bus back to The Sintra - very easy.

We were going to visit the Wynn Casino to watch the nightly water show but decided to try and find a bar that looked out over it so we could watch the display and have a drink at the same time. Through sheer luck we find a great little bar which offers happy hour half price drinks from 5 - 7 pm and we sat there, had a wine and watched 3 great water shows at the Wynn. Bar is called the Kam Pek Paradise Bar - 3rd Floor Kam Pek Paradise Casino - just across the road from the Lisboa Hotel and looking out onto the Wynn.

In choosing a hotel in Macau, those who want to spend their time in Casinos will probably like the Cotai area where all the new, spanky Casinos are but for those who want to explore a wonderful historic town and have access to some casinos, then staying in town at the Lisboa is an excellent option. Yes the Lisboa is not as new or sparkly as the Grand Lisboa but it does offer the same location at a lesser price and it does have a good feel to the Hotel.

And one last thing; others have commented about the working girls who are on the Ground level of the Lisboa - please note that the Ground level is not reception level . I did see these girls and all I can say is that they do not loiter(I think they are not allowed) and they dress very well .

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up in the East Wing overlooking the water so you can watch the beautiful sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Quite a crazy place the Lisboa hotel.
Huge complex and several floors including huge casinos on the ground floor, many eateries, and rooms on the upper floor.
Very affordable place and centrally located in this small city

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa
#37 of 94 in Macau
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#13 of 94 in Macau
484 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Macau

Address: 2-4 Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China (Formerly Lisboa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#12 Casino Hotel in Macau
#14 Family Hotel in Macau
#15 Spa Hotel in Macau
#19 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#20 Business Hotel in Macau
#22 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £75 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lisboa Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 927
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1970, Hotel Lisboa is a fixture in the Macau skyline and has the longest and richest presence in Macau's hospitality history. The hotel features a lavish mix of Portuguese and Chinese interior décors, and also houses Dr. Stanley Ho's extensive private collection of priceless art pieces. Hotel Lisboa offers approximately 1,000 luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet dining experiences with an extensive wine collection of over 16,700 labels, share between 13 restaurants and lounges in Lisboa Hotels Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing