We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Average Room”
Review of Hotel Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sintra
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Location, Average Room”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed there in July'2011 with my girlfriend. First of all it is good with the free shuttle bus service from the Macau ferry terminal (I think 90% hotels provide free shuttle). I got a room with twin single bed. Room at 3rd floor, clean & tidy, however the carpet on the corridor with a strong smell. There is only 2 lifts and quite slow. The cupboard is the old style wooden 1, looks bit old and scary. A bit damage on the TV remote control, but it still working.

Location of the hotel is just nice for us. Walking distance to the Senato Square (St. Paul's Ruin) and Casino Lisboa & Wynn Hotel. Bus stations are also just few minutes away. Overall it's a good place to stay and worth the money I paid. Just all the things are a bit old.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    455
    122
    13
    6
See reviews for
181
141
78
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Clean, comfortable, good location, reasonable room rate and good English speaking staff at the Reception. It's just opposite Grand Emperor Hotel and a shopping mall with a food court upstairs. Food here is good and delicious. Walking distance to Margaret's Cafe for her egg tarts. 5 mins away is the McDonalds outlet. Also near to Senado Square where you can tour around and shop for local biscuits there. Small pharmacy shop, local food and a Citibank are nearby too.

Room Tip: Go for rooms facing Grand Emperor Hotel or Lisboa Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is probably my 7th time in Macau. I always stay in Sintra hotel because of the price and location. It's right in downtown of Macau. Approximately about 15 mins on taxi from the airport. 10 mins walk to Senado Square. 5 Mins walk to Grand Lisbua and 10 mins walk to Wynns Casino. The staff are very friendly at Sintra. They always help us get a taxi when we need one.

Room Tip: I think it's up to the availability of rooms on the day you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Location: From the airport we take the bus to Macau Square, and walk across to Grand Lisboa hotel, walk around 5 mins to get to Hotel Sintra. Right in the middle of the city. Lots of shops around the area, we even walked with our luggage the next day to Beverly hotel in 10 mins to catch bus to GZ.

Lobby and Reception: Small lobby, smell nice, a few people around, from security -with smiles- and 2 (two) bellboy standby all day. All the staff are amazingly friendly, the bell boy happily took my luggage and wait for me to check in -briefly in 10 mins with hardly spoken english,but very eager to serve- and guide me to my room. Good first impression. But, the lobby could get fully pack once a group guests arrived with only 2 (two) small lift will make you waits a while.

Room : We booked a deluxe double room. The bed are nice and comfy, and big enough for even 2 person. The deluxe also provide a sofa bed. so the deluxe fits us (3 adults, with 1 big child) perfectly. Plasma TV, DVD Player are in good condition. Carpeted floor room make the room feels cozy. Bathroom with bathtub+shower, the toilet amazingly provided water spray that we Indonesian used everyday and couldn't found it in Spore,China and HK. Bathroom clean with free toileteries and clean towels. The view is next door hotel with giant TV, luckily our floor is not the one directly next to it, so the lights didnt bother us that much at night.

Overall: A good hotel with a cheap price in a perfect location. Go to city of dreams just a few steps away, you'll find free shuttle bus the the casino. -Remember to be back before 11.00 pm to get on the last free bus-. Would we go back here? Definetely! We are tempted to go to Old Lisboa hotel at first, as they offer free mini bar, but a choice to Sintra is waaay much better for a family trip

Room Tip: Get the double deluxe for a bigger room and sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakartaSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Checked in on 01/Mar & 04/Mar this year with family and group of friends...

Great locations with walking distance to Senado Square and all the popular restaurant. Margaret Egg Tart is just opossite of the hotel.

I would really like to give my highest compliments to their Housekeeping & Duty Manager. On 02/Mar we have checkout & leave our baggage at hotel for our breakfast before leaving to Hong Kong. Upon return to the hotel to took the free shuttle bus to Macau Ferry terminal, the Duty Manager approached my friend & return a camera to them. My friends have left the camera without realize & its found out by the housekeeping.... The best part is, the duty manager even can reconize my friends.

Definitely will retun & recommend this hotel to my friends~

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WingsHeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Checking-in and out was a breeze and the rooms are alright with good and prompt housekeeping service. Having 2 Filipino guards in the lobby was an added bonus since it was easier to communicate with them and ask for directions. I would say their presence would be my main consideration next time I go back because of their excellent service! I'm not saying that they partial to Filipinos only since they also speak English quite well and they treat all nationalities equally.
The buffet breakfast is quite good though I would suggest that they offer more varieties in their choices. I loved the fried pigeon in their restaurant plus the dimsum. YUM
Location is very critical here coz it's in the center of all of the action in Macau. There are also a lot of great restaurants in its vicinity and all within walking distance. Very convenient!
I will definitely stay in this place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My family includes my hubby, 2 girls aged 14 and 9 and I checked inbto this Hotel on 3 -5 June 2011.
1. Staff and Service
1.1 Generaly they were polite and helpful.
1.2 They were helpful in providing information of whereablouts as well as giving nice suggestions where to go.
1.3 The only drawback is that they do not do currency exchange for singapore dollars.
2. Room
2.1 We booked a double bed deluxe.
2.2 The room is clean and decent.
2.3 The TV channels were great.
2.4 We broke a drinking glaass in the bathroom. The staff was very prompt in responding to our request to clear the mess. He did an excellent job and even took pains to explain how the glass fragments flew, the effort to pick up the pieces when the vacuum cleaner failed.
3. Transport
3.1 Finding the free shuttle from ferry to hotel is a challenge but you can ask around. the people are friendly at the ferry point.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geogroxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#39 of 95 in Macau
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#20 of 95 in Macau
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra

Property: Hotel Sintra
Address: Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sintra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel with spectacular view of Praia Grande Bay, within walking distance of Casino & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing