We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location. value for money. and this is a 3 star hotel!”
Review of Hotel Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sintra
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent location. value for money. and this is a 3 star hotel!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

free shuttle just outside that will take you to city of dreams. walking distance to lisboa, senado square, ruins of st paul, etc. best part, we got a free upgrade to grand deluxe! buffet breakfast would have been better had there been more choices

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view. ours was grand emperor hotel and a glimpse of lisboa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmc201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    457
    122
    13
    7
See reviews for
182
140
78
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for only 1 night. It was a pleasant hotel with friendly staff and a very very convenient location. Walking distance between the Grand Lisboa and Senado Square. Opposite of New Yaohan.

What we also like, Hotel Sintra is a pick up point for City of Dreams free shuttle buses to the hotel itself. Every 15-20 minutes wait there will be buses to pick up passengers. Hence, the entrance of Hotel Sintra is always crowded.

The only drawback about this hotel - The hotel and the rooms are very old. I guess, its around 35 years old hotel that has never been renovated. Judging from the age of the hotel, surprisingly it was very clean. Very well maintain and well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yippy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very good quality & large rooms, modern, clean and for a very reasonable price. Breakfast were a delight every morning. In a very central position. No traffic noise and has its own bus service so travel was easy.Just take the bus to the ferry terminal & then catch the bus to whatever part of macau you wish to go to. All busses are free. Located close to the old portugese areas which are in very close walking distance. Also close to main shopping area. Staff very polite and efficient

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights mid of Aug .
Got there by free hotel shuttle bus from Macau harbour,
When you exit out from the ferry terminal you need to cross to opposite side of road (via underpass) towards where you see many buses. (hotel minibus is white in color with hotel name printed) located near Grand Emperor hotel bus booth.

Excellent location walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and casino. City of Dream bus stop right outside hotel. Free bus to Zhuhai at the left corner of Grand Emperor hotel.

Check in was smooth and fast, staffs were professional and helpful, especially the bellboy.
When the hotel bus arrived at the hotel, the bellboy quickly get to the bus to assist guests carry the luggage to the check in counter. And on my departure the attendant without asking carried my luggage on board the bus. Thumbs up to all the staff.

Clean room, linen and towel were clean as well. Norm: coffee/tea bags, 2 small bottles of drinking water provided. Only one dissatisfaction, room carpet need a thorough shampoo it look musty, I was bitten bugs on my lower leg, it left with few little red marks.

Overall – enjoyed my stay, will stay here again in my next visit to Macau.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremySIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I only spent 1 night here, but the hotel served it's purpose perfectly.

It's located in a great place near the Old Town and is just a few minutes walk to Senado Square and then up to the ruins and castle. Walking the other way, you can easily stroll down to the harbour and look towards the tower.

There are many casinos in the vicinity of the Sintra, and the complimentary shuttle bus to 'City Of Dreams' stops right outside.

The hotel itself is somewhat dated, but is kept immaculately clean and in good nick. The room was large with a massive comfy bed and good en-suite.

The only problem I had was finding the correct shuttle bus from the harbour to the hotel. I'm glad I'm not the only person to have had this issue, but perhaps the hotel should provide a map of exactly where the bus goes departs from at the depot.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelutong, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and myself spend 2 nights in this hotel. The customer services was excellent, room was tidy and clean. When we checking out, there was huge crowd, the manager personally came to assist.

The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable to direct tourist to their destination spots. Even there is a machine of location finder.

Good strategic location to major tourist spots and famous casinos, all are within walking distance.

One disadvantages is no shuttle bus to and from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusaders06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Trying to find a cheap hotel in Macau is not an easy task given how expensive most of the big name hotels are.

But Hotel Sintra served its purpose, as it was cheap and yet still located smack in the middle of all the action.

The good: Room was functional and clean. Nothing more, nothing less. It was very convenient to walk from the Hotel to Senado Square, major casinos especially Lisboa and the famous eateries like the Portugese tart place.

The bad: The hotel provided a shuttle from the ferry terminal, but among all the shuttle buses from the many hotels, it was virtually impossible to know which one was the Sintra shuttle as it didnt not have its own bus berth. Even when you ask the staff there (the ones holding placards for the other hotels), no one knew anything, until one kind soul finally pointed out the bus to us when it arrived. We were so frustrated we had wanted to hop on the Lisboa shuttle. The hotel staff was also standoffish when we tried to ask for directions and refused to answer my friend who asked in English, until I stepped in to ask in Cantonese.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applemyhday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 96 in Macau
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 96 in Macau
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#16 of 96 in Macau
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 96 in Macau
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#39 of 96 in Macau
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#40 of 96 in Macau
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra

Property: Hotel Sintra
Address: Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sintra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel with spectacular view of Praia Grande Bay, within walking distance of Casino & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing