We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for Sightseeing and Food Indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Macau
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Sightseeing and Food Indulgence”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Metropole is located on the Macau Peninsula Island. It is within walking distance to the infamous St Paul's Ruins and Senado Square. When you walk out of the hotel, turn left and walk straight on. Then turn left again. Across the street is Senado Square. From thereon, the are many small streets selling food and souvenir. You should try all the food and you can get full from tasting the food when walking around. If you take the ferry from Hong Kong like we did, there is a FREE shuttle bus waiting at the ferry terminal. Lookout for a white/pink mini bus, which Metropole Hotel share with 3 other sister hotel.The names are written on the bus and the service is provided until 10.30pm. You can hop on the same bus to the ferry terminal if you want to visit the casinos without having to pay for taxis. The hotel room is spacious with all the basic amenities provided by most hotels. The hotel staff react to your request almost immediately with efficiency. For the price you pay in an excellent location, coupled with good services, I will definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is conscious about budget or a first timer in Macau, as you probobably want to visit all the sights with ease at your own time. Besides that, the staff (a guy) that we correspond with speaks good English. So it will not be a problem for the non-Chinese speaking traveller like me to Macau :).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LOLA_BLISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    314
    154
    27
    7
See reviews for
55
51
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Price affordable & reasonable. When request for extra towel & pillow come immediately. Front desk staff quite helpful. Cleanliness is so so but still acceptable. Room with double bed is smaller than room with twin bed. The bed is hard but sleep-able. Location is good, just few steps away from Senado Square & walking distance to Lisboa. Upon arrival at Macau, you can take Grand Emperor Hotel free shuttle from airport & ferry terminal then walk over to Metropole Hotel (no need ask the driver permission, just get onboard). Have to book the room in advance as they are always full due to the good location. They don't have non-smoking room. Have plasma TV with alot of channel. Conclusion, not a fancy hotel but recommended if traveling in budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CindyOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My husband and I stayed last Nov.14-17 in this hotel. From the airport,there is no free shuttle to and from metropole. What we did is hop on the free shuttle bus of Grand Emperor hotel (they will not ask you). From their hotel,you can walk 2 minutes to metropole. Just walk through the side door of the hotel when you enter the entrance door and new yaohan mall will be on your left. Just cross the street and you will see metropole hotel.

However,there is a free shuttle bus going to the hkg-macau ferry terminal where you can board the free shuttle buses of Venetian or City of Dreams for a free ride going to Taipa.

The room we stayed was on the 9th floor,room 902. From the window,you will see the view of Grand emperor,the park and the mall.

Senado square is just 2 minutes from the hotel. Upon exit from the hotel,just turn left and left again on the 1st street then walk straight,on your right will be the senado square.

The room we stayed was clean and the staff immediately responds to your every need. However, the buffet breakfast that was included in our room rate was just average and the menu is the same throughout our stay.

Overall,we had a pleasant stay in this hotel and will recommend it to those who wish to stay in macau.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank addictedtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night only. My experience in this hotel was satisfactory, though I really didn’t expect much from it. Location of the hotel is good as it is right next to Senoda square. There is a McDonald and Pizza Hut near the hotel. The room looked dated and they really need to refurnish. Overall the location was good. The staff here was not very helpful and did not even understand English.

The hotel is a part of chain of hotels which don’t have their own shuttle service and they run a common shuttle which is used to ferry their customers from the ferry terminal.

One can basically get on that bus and reach the ferry terminal; from there you can take the shuttle to the hotel you want to see.

Overall I don’t mind staying again the hotel only if I visit for a day or else I will definitely stay in some other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank newdelhitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This hotel has nothing to show but it is located within walking distance to major major historical sites

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaexlaagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

the location is fantastic, 5 mts walking time from senado square 9 the historical centre in macau) and walking distance from the macau casinos. the hotel is however very basic and kinda run down - funny musty, fishy smell in the rooms. if you are looking for clean place to sleep ,with no frills, it fits the bill.
also most taxi drivers did not know the hotel by the english name - do get the chinese name of the hotel if you are trying to get there the first time. would not recommend for families with children....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunitam_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

If u r looking for a reasonably priced 3-star hotel that's decent,cozy,comfortable n easily accessible to tourist sites, casinos and convenient stores,this is it! We r middle-aged and we had 2 really good night's sleep on the slightly more solid bed which we think is doing a whole lot of good for our backs! Its much more comfortable than our Dunlopillow at home,ha,ha.
They have their non-smoking floor on the 6th.floor.So please request for your rooms in advance when making your booking.They have English speaking staff at the reception and your request is prompty attended to.And special thanks to Mr.Leong the Manager
for his attentiveness and prompt assistance at the reception counter.

Pls don't miss the City of Dreams casino where we had the wonderful experience of seeing a lovely,enchanting mermaid swimming ever so graciously on a huge gigantic
water-flowing wall which is very lifelike.It really looks like she is swimming under the water .She will disappear and reappear again on another section of the wall.

You can go there directly from the airport by their free shuttle bus.BUT YOU HAVE TO LOOK OUT FOR ONE OF THEIR STAFF WEARING A LIGHT BLUE COLOURED JACKET WITH "CITY OF DREAMS" WRITTEN ON THEIR BACKS & CARRYING A "CITY OF DREAMS " card.Cos only then they will arrange for their bus to pick you up from the upper level of the airport.Otherwise their bus will go straight to the casino from the lower level after picking up ppl from the ferry terminal.From there within walking distance is "The Venetian" casino.Its just opposite.

Otherwise you can jump on the numerous free shuttle from the Venetian and remember to go and visit the mermaid! Another casino worth visiting is the MGM.Its really grand inside out.The Grand Lisboa is magnificent outside but only so-so inside.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yangho55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#38 of 95 in Macau
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 95 in Macau
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#32 of 95 in Macau
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Hotel Beverly Plaza
#56 of 95 in Macau
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Macau

Property: Metropole Hotel Macau
Address: 493-501 Avenida Da Praia Grande, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Macau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropole Hotel Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing