We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Macau
Nearby Hotels
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Coloane Resort Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$483
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveller rating
367
819
161
36
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
819
161
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssenado squareferry terminalvasco da gamafado restaurantfree shuttleguia hilllight housewalking distancedeluxe roomminute walksmall casinohistorical sitesshuttle serviceevery half hourquiet locationhotel is locatedtourist spots
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We went for this hotel on our honeymoon and were more than surprised to find the rooms spacious and very comfortable and big beds! The TV even had ChannelnewsAsia, so we could catch up on news at home (Singapore).

The shuttle bus was a little harder to locate, since they don't have a dedicated parking spot. Got to ask the tourism booth for more information before we located the bus. The reception was very warm and hospitable, staff from Philippines spoke good English and could understand us clearly. They were very helpful to offer us directions and where to walk to get to the various attractions.

Would love to come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Evidently unlike a lot of markets, hotel rooms in Macau get more expensive at the last minute. The Royal Macau looked like the best option among many clustered around $300 and now, having just returned, it remains a solid choice that I'll definitely consider next time around. The premier rooms are a bit more expensive but include complimentary breakfast buffet and evening happy hour. The food and beverages served in the lobby are not very impressive but will do the trick for weary travelers. We mostly chose the Royal Macau for the location and were not let down in this regard. It's central, whereas most large hotels are along the water or down in Taipa/Cotai. We were more interested in the historical sites and day-in-the-life stuff, so being able to walk to Guia fortress, Sao Paulo, Senado Square and the Red Market was great. There's a 7-11 right across from the hotel, which comes in handy for picking up snacks and water -- get plenty as Macau is hot and the hotel only supplies two small bottles per stay. Note that they do run a shuttle to the ferry terminal, but it's not very well marked and only runs every 30 minutes. We tried to walk to the hotel from the ferry terminal and I do not recommend this, even as an intrepid urban walker, because you have to deal with a few expressways and flyovers. Parts of Macau are downright unfriendly to pedestrians. Otherwise it's a great place and Royal Macau is a 3.5* aspiring to be a 4* with a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Visited Macau for the first time with my wife. We stayed at this hotel because of the good reviews here at Trip Advisor and because of the rates. We booked thru otel.com and were able to get a deluxe room at US$124 per night net from October 29 to November 1. It was the best deal I could find among equivalent hotels available.
The hotel is located at the residential area of old Macau. Considering that we are not gamblers, this suited us fine as we more interested in touring the city and experiencing the daily routine of the locals. Breakfast was not included in our package and the rate being offered by the hotel front desk was not attractive; so we ate at the restaurants nearby. It was a good decision on our part, as we discovered a Chinese restaurant which catered mainly to the residents in the area. They served good dimsum and I especially liked the congee. From the entrance of the hall, you just walk downhill then turn left at the first corner.
The room size is around 27sqm so we did not feel cramped. The bathroom also was of regular size with a tub and shower combination. Both were relatively clean; although I could still smell cigarette smoke; probably residue from the carpet. The floor was supposed to be non smoking; but in Macau, this was not at all surprising. Smoking is not generally frowned upon so I don't think anti smoking regulations are strictly enforced. In fact, when we arrived, I first noticed an antiseptic smell in the lobby. I thought this was unique to the hotel but everywhere, the smell was the same.
Since hotel is in a residential area, guests have to be aware of the schedule of the shuttle and it's route to and from the ferry terminal (every thirty minutes) if they don't want to spend. Otherwise, you can take a taxi (which is relatively affordable) or understand the public bus routes. My suggestion if to take the shuttle bus from the hotel and going back, take either Bus Nos. 6, 27, and H. These buses have stops located just one block before and the next, one block after the hotel.
In summary, the hotel provides above average accommodation at standard rates. If you are not a gambler and do not mind walking to the tourist area (15-20 minutes), then this hotel will suit you fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloRago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We arrived late evening in the Hotel. Check-in was done quickly and the rooms were ready. Room was clean and had ample space for triple sharing. The buffet breakfast was great - the variety of selections was plentiful and the food was good. The location of the hotel is good as the Senado Square and Ruins of St. Paul were withing walking distance. The staff is, for me,the best asset of the hotel as they were very helpful, efficient and doing things with a smile. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andynan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My wife and I booked Hotel Royal for a 3D2N stay in Macau, as part of our week-long trip to both Macau as well as Hong Kong. I actually considered the Royal mainly due to the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and looks like my hunch was correct!

The hotel looks quite dated from the outside but when we entered the place, the lobby was like a breath of fresh air. While it is of a boutique hotel size (i.e. way smaller than those nearby mega-casinos), the lobby was cozy and spacious enough to handle the large groups of Chinese visitors thronging the area. The front desk staff also took care of our check-in well, and within less than 20 minutes after making the deposit payment etc., we were already in the room.

The room was also quite recently renovated and was quite large, compared to rooms in similar 5-star hotels in Hong Kong. There was a nice 32" LCD TV, together with king-sized bed and enough space for a one-person sofa by the window, as well as free Broadband Internet. Of course sacrifices have to be made and while the room itself was spacious, the toilet was of the "standard" size, i.e. with the usual sink and just a bathtub, without a separate shower stand.

A minor disappointment was of the view; somehow, we were placed in a room facing the rear of the building, which overlooked a massive eyesore, i.e. abandoned condominium block. One thing we didn't know when checking-in was that the even-numbered rooms faced the back and in future, we need to ask for odd-numbered ones, which face the Vasco Da Gama Square, as these provide unobstructed views of the Macau skyline.

While the Royal was located in a quieter area in Downtown Macau, it was only 10-15 minutes walk to the casinos (Grand Lisboa, Hotel Lisboa, Wynn, MGM, etc.) and around 20-30 minutes to reach the Historic Center of Macau (Senado Square, Ruins of St. Paul's, local delicacy spots), also by foot. Of course there are taxis available to take us around but sometimes, it pays to save the fee and go for a nice walking exercise once in a while!

However, what really separates the Royal from its 5-star peers in Macau is the impeccable service (not forgetting the super good-value rates as well!). In addition to the staff at the reception counter, we also had a great experience with the Concierge people, who went all out of their way to help us with ticket-booking for the ZAIA show at the Venetian. To sweeten things up, we also mentioned that we planned to visit the Macau Tower and the Concierge booked the tickets for us, and at a discount off the regular price!

We would like to express our thanks to the great personnel of the Royal, as well as their ever-smiling bellboy, Mr. Rafael (helped to tell the taxi driver where we wanted to go, many times), who went all out and ensured that our stay in their Hotel would be a memorable one. We'll be back, for sure!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms facing the Vasco Da Gama Square, they offer better views!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews