We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Macau”
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Royal Macau for 3 nights last Feb 2012. I've decided to stay in this hotel mainly because of the positive reviews. Before deciding which hotel I would choose, I read both positive and negative comments so that I am on the look out. What I really love about the hotel is the front office and restaurant staff (Vasco Da Gama). Most of them are Chinese and Filipinos. I have to give credit to the Filipino staff who never failed to assist us and always giving us their warm friendly smiles.

We stayed at a Deluxe room up in 17th floor. The room was nice and just enough for me and my husband for a quick city break. I also love their buffet breakfast that they served everyday. There have a variety of choices and it was really good (for us at least). The only thing that I was surprised to learn is that the free WIFI is available only for guest staying at 15-16th floor (I think those are premier rooms), the restaurants and at the lobby.
My only negative comment is about the HOUSEKEEPING. They need to level up a bit. When they cleaned the room, I was expecting them to clean the cups and spoons that we've used for our coffee. Since those are provided by the hotel and they should've cleaned it when used which in our case, I was surprised they didn't.
They've been a bit reckless too when they unplugged our mobile charger from the socket. When we returned to our room, I found out that our charger was already broken. A piece of it was still stuck inside the socket.
There was also a time that we still have our jet lag and was trying to catch up on sleep during the afternoon when the housekeeper used to the doorbell so many times and it just woke me up. As I was still tired from our trip, I couldn't stand up to open the door and tell them to just comeback later that day. But it didn't stop there. They used the doorbell repeatedly which is I think unnecessary and disrespectful. They can use the phone like most other hotels would do. This is a first with my experiences with 4-5 star hotels.


The location was great and near to the city center. There are free shuttle bus to tour the city and it stops at certain tourist spots but since Macau is really small you can explore many places just by walking. St. Paul Ruins, Senado Square, Grand Lisboa, Wynn, MGM and even the Fisherman's Wharf can be reached by foot.

Overall, our stay in Hotel Royal Macau was really nice and we enjoyed it. I was not expecting 5 star treatment as I didn't pay for it. Macau is expensive and finding a really nice hotel was difficult for me, but in any case that I would be returning, I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors facing the Vasco Da Gama Park would give you a view. WIFI is not free for Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahrah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our room was upgraded and we were on the 16th floor and it was very nice. Air conditioning was quiet and sleep quality fine. Breakfast was fine. Orange juice not bad, cooked breakfast fine and choice of bread and croissants. Staff were very helpful and smiley. Hotel is in a good central location for exploring Macau and has a free shuttle bus which takes you to the ferry terminal and the various casinos. It is also very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanordavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Everything started from a poorly managed check in when the FO agent was extremely loose and light in his explanation about the rate applied from HKD to MOP. Asked for for duy manager but ended up talking to Front Office manager. Got an upgrade to executive floor, which did not propose any extra services but free Wifi. The keys weren't right though, so had to get down for a new set. The next day, went to Lange after check out and asked for a coffee. The server told to get it myself at counter as it was take away. When I expressed my discontent, he eventually told me to calm down. Ask for the manager on duty and the PR manager came to hear my complaint after 15 minutes although I asked different staff for a manager. At some point, one of them told me "we know about the case..."'. Overall, this is an overrated hotel with pathetic service. Not recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel location is very good. Near to city for shopping and gambling. Nearby,
lots of nice restaurants to have good food.

Room Tip: Good sizeable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

It is a 5-star hotel - comfort, service are well in place. The hotel is obviously older than other later 5-stars in Macau, such as The Venetian and Galaxy, so there's no point in comparing them. You'll have to expect what you may see - older building, older fashion of hotel rooms, etc. I've read a lot of reviews about the impoliteness of staff, but I met at least 5 male and 3 female staff during my stay, and they were all helpful and friendly. I am guessing those travellers that wrote the reviews had a harder luck than me. Do not expect the bed to be very soft, actually do not expect soft bed when u travel to china. The bed is comfortable enough, unless you have a really soft backbone. Shuttle bus schedule is good, you can travel to the ferry terminal, The Venetian, Casino Lisboa, etc. for free, but do check with the concierge in the lobby about the timing. Shame that I didn't get to use the swimming pool because it's under renovation.

Room Tip: Get higher levels room for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The staff is always helpful and proactive. The hotel is 15 minutes walk to city's main square and has a shuttle bus getting the main attractions. The room and bathroom are comfortable, but don't expect a nice view from your window. The breakfast is poor. Must improve the quality of cheese, ham and breads.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmcsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked this hotel, because it was one of the lowest rates in the caregory. Worth every penny, it was... Excellent location, very close to everything in Macau. The casino is amazing ( i won here :). Very nice rooms, comfortable with all facilities aand a very helpful staff. The internet wasn't working in my laptop when I reached, and in a few minutes an IT guy of the hotel came and fixed the problem. Its not too noisy, so you can enjoy your stay and relax.
Loved the swimming pool, since it was cold when we went and it was indoors with warm water. They have pick ups and drops from the ferry port also. Had a wonderful time staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namitbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
1,152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.3 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#15 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#25 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £71 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing