We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Except for the poor (almost non-existent and slow) wifi, there is nothing bad with the hotel, but it certainly does not excell either. According to international standards, and certainly for Asia, it is very overpriced (125USD room only), but that counts for all Macau hotels in the weekend. We found much better value for money in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    746
    150
    34
    25
See reviews for
255
327
112
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My repeated visit to this hotel saw a slightly downgraded rating because of the rather disappointed wi-fi connectivity. I was repeatedly kicked out of connection probably due to too many group-tour guests, namely from Mainland China, competing if not using up the shared bandwidth. After three days of my stay and lost connection, I decided to raise the issue with counter staff, and fortunate enough was given a daily free CTM broadband (valid for 24 hours) as an alternative to free wi-fi. That improved the connectivity and brought the level of Internet service same as six months ago. Otherwise, I was considering changing hotel in my next visit. Notwithstanding this, it is still a reactive move from the hotel management - instead of upgrading and strengthening the signal, its response was to wait for complaints, sometimes that a customer service oriented management should bear in mind.

This hotel seems to continue attract far too many tour groups, and become more "noisy" when they check in. Nothing against the Mainland Chinese, but their social practices are indeed far from being civilised. So in this connection, it is advisable for independent to avoid them esp using the lifts.

Rooms further up the floor - 10th level are naturally safer and quieter.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is using electronic lock and not key, it may be necessary to check the clocking befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PKWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Its an hotel based in the mid city area, overlooking an old building but below there is garden area for kids and elders, around the hotel, some important useful shops are there for travelers and visitors.

Though its old style, however try the Premier category of rooms which is on higher floors, they are comfortable and cozy. F&B can be more better. Over all service is good and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for Premium category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Took the free shuttle from airport to hotel. Quite ok just that it is a relatively small bus but it's free so I do not have any complaints.

Front desk was not so good.
Reached hotel at 11am and tried to check in but I was put on hold for approximately for 10 mins after the front desk staff do not seem to know what he is doing and he was standing there waiting for his team leader to assist him. Just continuing to look around his fellow colleagues and avoiding my eye gaze, occasionally trying to smile at me or provide me information about shuttle bus and providing me a map. His team leader finally assisted me to register my check in but told me the room can only be ready at 3pm... I said fine... At 3,30pm when I return from a trip outdoor, our rooms are still not ready and I waited till 3.45pm before I can finally rest at my room before rushing for the shuttle.

Experience with Concierge - Fantastic
Their concierge staff are relatively knowledgeable, look for one of them called Andy. He provided really good local information and even help suggested how our itinerary should run. It saves lot of time and cost by taking the various free shuttle. I highly commended his service. We even asked for suggestion for Zhu Hai travel and he provided them with pin point details. Excellent staff you have there, Hotel Royal Macau.

Surrounding of Hotel - Many little alley to find good food.
OMG... I went to Macau to eat their traditional food like congee, noodles, toasted bread, dim sum and I got them near the hotel which is really where the locals will eat. From hotel turn left and you will see a 7-11 store. At the 7-11 store, turn right and you will see a minor-major road, turn left and keep walking straight, look for small alleys, there is one alley where it is near a wet market. There are 3 stores there you will need to get your food. One - Noodle store serving wan ton noodles / beef noodles, Two - a congee store which serves traditional congee like Ting Zai congee which is a mix of seafood, peanut and some meat and innards and finally a Roasted meat store which is quite near the congee (on the left of the congee). Get their roast duck drumstick and roast pork, the fats melt in your mouth which is relatively sinful

Room Tip: Just take the normal room and don't bother taking the breakfast, outside food taste better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennyTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is rather old and requires some renovation. I understand that it was one of the popular hotels a long time back but the management did not do proper upkeeping of this place and hence the decor is old and dated.

It is situated about 10 mins away from Senado Square - which is a tourist attraction.
There's alot frequent bus schedules which sends you to various hot tourist spots in Macau.
As we chose to drive around in Macau via car hire, it was quite a nightmare as the roads there are narrow. Missing a turn will lead you to somewhere else in Macau. It is advisable to take their cab to go to other places or just take the hotel bus.

Regardless of the above flaws, I will like to applaud the front line staff for their service. We were rather lost on the directions and their hotel staff confirmed 3 times and even brought in their bell boy to explained in english the directions of a place that we were enquiring. Thumbs Up for your service!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger in size generally (for room and bath). There's not much view to see, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriennehoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had two quick nights here on our way home from Hong Kong . Thought we would try our luck at the casinos . I found it a little hard to find our way around Macau. Our hotel was central enough but not close to many restaurants. So options for dinner or lunch near by were scarce . Staff were friendly and help full. They have a free shuttle bus that runs every half and hour this is fabulous . We had the pool to our selfs . Our room was clean and spacious. And the King bed was huge and comfortable.there is just not much around this area that was my only disappointment .
But I do suggest taking in the house of dancing water show. A great change from the casino scene

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delishldish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is of class. It is located in the heart of everything. Cheap food, shopping and nice places to see. The hotel staff is very accommodating. For a first timer, its a good place to stay. You will never get lost. Value for MONEY!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fogset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#24 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing