We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The facilities, accommodation were fantastic & the staff could n have been more helpful. Family friendly, The Westin is an oasis in busy Asia. The Westin is a short drive to Macau city & is blissfully quiet. We visited Singapore & Hong Kong as well as Macau on this trip, & Macau was the winner!

Room Tip: All the rooms had great views, despite the type. We stayed on the top floor, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAV1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Kav1956,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Resort Macau and sharing your review with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed with our helpful associates and tranquil environment.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Stay Well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    304
    107
    41
    22
See reviews for
211
225
33
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight with my son who was visiting ; as I live in Hong Kong. We came to see the House of Dancing Water and wanted somewhere calm and peaceful to stay; somewhere away form the noise of "golden week" and the casinos. Westin resort was just perfect. Although the hotel is a little tired and in need of a makeover, it is clean and spacious. Asif Bajwa, the Director of F&B, was a stand out as he made time to speak to us and make sure all was well. We wish we had been there for the Indian Curry Buffet, but alas it was not on that particular night. I certainly recommend staying here with an Ocean view room of course!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leonied53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Leonie,

I am pleased to learn that we have become your hotel of choice in this area. It is truly encouraging to read your comment.

We appreciate your recognition and complimentary comment to Mr. Asif Bajwa who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience. It’s indeed an ideal choice to revitalize and quietly recharge at The Westin Resort Macau. Only 5 minutes away from those dazzling casino complex, you won’t miss a chance to embrace the exciting Macau.

You’re definitely welcome to come back any Thursday and enjoy our Indian Tandoori Buffet. Please do bring your friends and family to enjoy Buy 3 Get 1 Free or free flow of drinks.

I believe you have already read about our guest room renovation project, please stay tuned for our updates. We hope you will witness our improvements firsthand and experience a refreshing stay.

Trust that we will see you again in the very near future.

Stay energized.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

This times we stayed at westin resort with golf course 18 holes
The rooms a bit old but very good condition and pretty big
The bteakfast is very good i love it
Chinese restaurant on the 3rd floor also very nice
The swimming pool is huge with nice garden, gym, sauna
9th floor is to the golf course
The only problem is some of the taxi dont want to take us from taipa area back to the hotel even some charge grazy price, make sure the taxi willing to use the argo meter and give hkd 5 for the surcharge
There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to venetian hotel, make sure to prebook early, but for the return from city dream hotels to westin is always full, so take the taxi
No casino in the hotel, this is the best part for me and my children

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Antonthedy,

We are thankful to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel facilities and restaurants. Truly appreciate you took the time to share your experience.

The changes you’ve all been waiting for are here. Our guest rooms are undergoing a renewal program starting this month. We are delighted in unveiling a completely refreshed look in December 2013.

The true effortless Westin Living Experience awaits you.

Be rejuvenated.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin for a romantic weekend and we made the right choice. The resort is not located in the center of Macau around 20 min from the city center but the location is really nice. We had a spacious room with ocean view, and as it is very quiet, the only sound we heard from our individual 15 SM terrace was the sound of the waves hitting the sand beach.

The quality of the food and service was very good in all the restaurant the hotel offers. The rooms were clean and tidy. In general the quality of the hotel is very good and we heard that they will start next month some major refurbishment so they are really keeping the hotel at a high standard.

Working in the hotel industry myself, it has been a very long time since I have seen a Food & Beverge director working on the floor to help his staff for the breakfast service. Therefore I would like to congragulate and thanks Mr. Asif Bajwa for making us feel special and for once we felt like we were realy taken care of. We would also thank Kevin from room service who helps us after a little hectic room service order.

To sum up we warmly recommand the Westin resort if you want to have a nice and relaxing retreat in Macau. The only suggestion we could have is to offer a bit more produts in the bathroom such as : sanitary set (which they forgot on the first night), no bath soap, no bath loofer, no hairbrush, no shaving kit etc. Besides that, everything was up to standard for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Macau. We are delighted to read about your insights and your encouraging words of praise which have been conveyed to the team respectively.

We are proud that our empathetic, personalized and distinctive service extended by Mr. Asif Bajwa exceeded your expectation. Trust your feedback will inspire others to venture into a trip to Macau and The Westin Resort Macau.

We hope you left us feeling better than when you arrived and would look forward to welcome you back for another uplifting experience with us.

For a better you.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We've been staying at the Westin for most of its life. I have a feeling that the carpets are the same ones that we first set foot on! Yes, it's urgently in need of sprucing up, the paintwork is scratched, the carpets are grubby BUT..... there's a comfortable calm about the Westin that makes it still our choice over the slick shiny plastic temples to Mammon on the Cotai Strip.Yes, I had to phone at three in the afternoon to ask for the room to be made up, bell boys don't leap out to carry your bags but somehow it feels so real. We went this time with two grandchildren, four and six years old. They loved the pool, they loved the kids' club, the loved the buffet breakfast. And here's something you won't find in the twinkling towers on the Cotai Strip.... an F&B manager who is so hands on that he clears plates and tries to make contact with every guest. Asif listened, assured us of the hotel's up coming refurbishment and did everything he could to make us feel welcome. The buffet quality has gone up tremendously since he started by the way;.

Of course we'll come back, as we always do. We go to Macau for calm (yes, we like some of the shows too). Don't rely on taxis; hire a car! But beware, the Macanese Government is in the habit of closing roads and not removing the signs which previously directed you to the Westin!

So... don't look for perfection but just enjoy the old fashioned laid back atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Ustaza,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your insights with your friends here. We are glad to hear that the little ones loved our food and kids facilities and that you noticed the improvements made by Mr. Asif Bajwa.

At the same time, we would like to apologize for the shortfalls you encountered. We will definitely be reminding all our associates about using more initiative when it comes to service delivery.

Our Hotel is undergoing a guest rooms renewal program commencing this month and all rooms will be refurnished with brand new carpets and wallpapers, Armoires and 40” LED smart TV’s by December 2013.

Please do come back and explore the new features of our renovated guestrooms where you can discover a pure relaxed, comfortable and revitalizing stay here at The Westin Resort Macau.

Live Well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Westin Macau…… I am not sure where to start on my journey of describing my dissapointment with my stay at this property. Problems in order following detailed description:
-Keys did not work three times
-Front desk forgot wake-up call
-Left by bus at Hong Kong Station after notifying the front desk I would be a couple of minutes late
-Interior and Exterior outdated and ran down
-15% Service charge for EVERYTHING including purchasing Ferry tickets from front desk
-Charge for internet
-Television is still in "tube" format

Upon my arrival, I was greeted by Gi Gi who was kind enough to allow me to check in 2.5 hours early. Upon arriving to my room, my key did not allow me access. The bellman went back downstairs to retrieve a new set of cards to only find that set did not allow us access as well. We ended up changing rooms to another room where the doors lock actually worked. Upon entering my room, I noticed very quickly that the paint on the door was dirty with age, carpet was not clean, and the overall feel of the room was old and outdated. Later I was informed by the staff that the rooms had not been renovated in 20 years hence the reasoning for the "tube-style" old fashioned television that resembled a strobe light when it was turned on. I had inquired about purchasing tickets at the front desk for a trip to Hong Kong and they were going to charge me a service fee of 15% both ways for myself and my partner. I felt this was quite outrageous considering this was my last leg of my trip and all of the other 5 start hotels I stayed in provided this service for free. Later that evening I had requested a wake-up call for 6:30a.m. and this did not occur. Luckily I had set my phone to awake me. After a wonderful day in Hong Kong, we got a little turned around and was not able to board our boat until 10:30p.m. which was going to put us back in Macau at 11:30p.m., the last shuttle was scheduled to leave this terminal at 11:30. I called the front desk before leaving Hong Kong and let the operator know to have the bus driver wait for my party for a couple of minutes and she acknowledged. After debarking the boat and running to the bus stop, at approximately 11:32p.m. the Westin shuttle was not to be found. Every other hotel was bus was there but not the Westin. I called the front desk and asked them to have the bus driver return to pick us up and was told that it left promptly at 11:30p.m.. We were forced to take a taxi. Upon arriving back to the hotel I asked the front desk to provide me the email addresses of the General Manager, District Manager, and Regional Manager as I wanted to inform them up my unpleasant stay at the hotel and I wanted this by 8:00a.m. After arriving to my room the key did not work again and I had to return to the front desk and was told that it was my fault due to the key being next to my cell phone. I informed the lady at the front desk that was not the case and they had issues with their keys from the start. Needless to say by 9:00 a.m. I still had not received the information I had requested. I went to the front desk and asked for the information and was denied this information and told that they could only provide me with the General Manager's information. Gi Gi, who checked me in was kind enough to come out and talk to me about my experience which just kept getting worse. From wrong orders poolside, to overpriced cans of soda water at $5.00 USD per can…… Let's put it this way, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. I believe this Westin was rated 4.5 stars on Hotels.com. I would give it no more than 2.5 or 3. Stay at the Venetian or the Galaxy. This Westin is outdated both externally and internally, overpriced food and drinks, and they could clearly care less about their guests and are too consumed with outrageous service charges to meet their bottom line.

Room Tip: Stay at the Venetian or the Galaxy. Ocean view not worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear John,

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our hotel, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We have noted your comments regarding the malfunctioning of the room lock and we apologize for the disappointing experience. Shortly afterwards, our engineer managed to identify the issue and have the lock fixed.

We have to agree with you that our property does deserve an overhaul. The good news is that our guest room renewal program is going to commence this month. All rooms will be refurnished with brand new carpets, Armoires and 40" LED smart TV's in two months time.

Regarding the 10% service charge and 5% tourism tax, we regret to inform you that tourism tax is imposed by government at the rate of 5% on the bill of the services rendered in Macau by establishments such as hotels, guest houses, restaurants, etc. 10% service charge is applied for any ticketing service handled by Hotel. However, in case you are not aware of it, you may book the ferry tickets directly online as well.

Please accept our sincere apology for missing out your morning call due to carelessness of our associate. That is not the usual service our guests are accustomed to and I find it unacceptable. We shall also look into areas of concern with further training and strive to improve the service level of our associates.

Further to your comment of our shuttle bus, we are deeply sorry that you were not able to catch it on time. Our Duty Manager did tried to contact the bus driver right after you called us. However, our driver was already halfway to Hotel and he wouldn't be able to drive the last shuttle from Hotel to Ferry Terminal at 12 mid-night if he went back to pick you up. Your understanding is most appreciated.

Last but not least, I was concerned to hear of your disappointment with our F&B. We do get a lot of positive comments on food quality and service. We do believe that our pricing is quite competitive amongst hotels in Macau. However, I have advised our Director of Food and Beverage to follow up on the issue. Rest assured we continuously perform price comparison with other hotels to make sure that we stay competitive.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to reconnect with you. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice.macau@westin.com should you wish to discuss further.

Stay Well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I came to the Westin for a business meeting and i got the chance to experience the Indian Buffet that they serve every thursday.

This is one of the Best indian Buffet, i got in Asia. You have a large choice of meat, rice and also traditional indian dishes...
The garlic bread they made is still hot and fresh when they serve it ! this is good!
And you also have a choice of different lassi juice which is good idea!

The Food and Beverage Director Asif Bajwa and his colleague Bruno were very professional and provide an excellent service!
I highly recommend this Buffet in Macao, and I will definitely come back!

Patricia

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for staying with us and I am very proud to read that our genial service and Indian buffet were the highlights of your experience at The Westin Resort Macau. Your warm compliments definitely prompt us to maintain the highest service quality.

On your next visit, please also try out our Chinese restaurant Kwun Hoi Heen which offers the exotic tastes of dim sum and other Cantonese specialties. I am sure you will enjoy it as much as the Indian Buffet.

It is always an honor for us to be of your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Be Well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Property: Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#28 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing