We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have been planning on going to Macau for a while, but was always looking to avoid the Casino side of it. Thankfully we found the Grand Coloane Resort.

Upon arrival we were promptly escorted to our room, which was very spacious and the terrace was an extra bonus! However the rooms were a bit dated and could have done with a bit more of a clean, and the terrace lights didn't work, which was a shame in the evening. Also saw some cobwebs on plants near the bar on the 2nd floor which I was a bit worried about in the beginning. As well, while walking around the resort and enjoying the view, we almost slipped multiple times on the tiles, possibly due to some moss and a lot of moisture, but was still a bit dangerous

However, after getting over all of that, we were greeted warmly by Asif Bajwa who made the trip worthwhile with his Food & Beverage team! He introduced the hotel and raved about the curry buffet on Thursdays (which we were unable to try as we were only there for the weekend). However, we were able to get a sample with the Chicken Tikka Masala which was to die for! Since we were feeling a bit adventurous we also ordered the Octopus Salad. Could have done without that, since it was extremely rubbery (as if overcooked in advance, then just placed on top) and quite tasteless and tasted a bit like a buffet salad. Service more than made up for this with the presence of Heidi and Rita who were very attentive throughout.

I understand that the hotel is going through some rebranding, so I will still give it top marks as I am sure with some excellent staff members everything will only get better! Look forward to coming back and seeing more changes in the future

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean View to get a room with a terrace overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMGS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello GMGS88,

Thank you so much for your review of our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the specific things you mentioned that were below your expectations - we will be bringing these details up to the attention of our management team. With regards to the staff comments, thank you so much! We will be sure to pass these on to the staff directly. We hope to welcome you again soon to the Grand Coloane Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    317
    107
    43
    22
See reviews for
219
234
35
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Under new mgt just a few weeks and actually performing good. Staff is friendly. Actually All staff is friendly and helpful. The location is a bit off the main casinos but thats the whole point of having a nice quiet weekend. the food is actually not bad too, and you could see the effort made in the details. great for families and kids. but also for romantic getaways. Price wise its much more better than the expensive casino hotels. Rooms are large with balcony overlooking the entire sea. The mgr actually came down and made an effort to greet guests; as a crm professional who constantly consults for luxury brands on client loyalty, the hotel is doing this right. Damn...I forgot to take photos...tell taxi this is previously westin hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello ddmarshall,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and resort. We are glad you were able to experience everything that we have to offer and are happy that you enjoyed your time in one of Macau's more quaint locations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon.

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel does NOT have a casino. It is frequented largely by Europeans and at weekends expatriates on a break from Hong Kong.

It is a great place to relax (I used it as a transit stop rather than the crowded and frantic Hong Kong).

Rooms are good - and large, plenty of space. Plus a large balcony for sitting etc. Breakfast is excellent, lots of choice and they actually have fresh fruit (not tinned).

The beach offers a good view - but is probably not a place to sit or bathe. But the 2 pools (outdoor and indoor) are large and excellent. And the bar does large screen sporting events (mainly ex Europe and Australia).

I went in low season and it was not full. So everything was immediately available including the free half hourly shuttle bus that goes to the ferry terminal (so you can link up to the other hotel/casino buses and get around town). It also drops off/picks up at the strip (Venetian, House of Dreams). I suspect (from the "please book" notices) that the bus gets full quickly if the hotel is full.

So, a quality hotel for relaxation, large room, good service and great swimming. And whilst it is away from town centre and the casinos there is an ability to get to these places (and back) easily.

Two things to note.

1) the outside could do with a coat of paint (especially looking up at the rooms from the pool)
2) given the price of the place the charge for internet in the rooms (when the public areas are free) is ridiculous..

But would definitely break my longer trips at this hotel in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Management Consultant at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear suriChristchurch,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback which was much appreciated. It’s very important for us to hear what our guests have to say and we’re grad that you enjoyed the hotel services and facilities.

You’ll be happy to note that we are commencing an exterior and swimming pool repainting program once the rainy season ends.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm McLauchlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked the room at mid June 2014 when the hotel name was still Westin Resort and I stayed there in early July. However, I received no message from the Resort that the name has been changed. Hence, I waited for over half hour for the shuttle bus. I saw the shuttle bus of Grand Coloane left since I did not aware that this was the shuttle bus to Westin. When the next bus came, I tried to make an enquiry and knew that this was the right shuttle to the Resort. Even the hotel did not inform me of the changes through email or other means, they can put a notice on the shuttle so as to alert the customer. This frustrated experience reflected the poor management of the Resort and their failure to put the customers' need as their concern. For the room, it was spacious with a big balcony. Very comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden view since you can also have the beach view. In my opinion, it is more be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YBL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Management Consultant at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear YBL 333,

Thank you for your comments from your last stay with us, although I am sorry you were not left with a more positive experience due to the issues you had with our shuttle service.

In the build up to the hotels change of name, we did our best to communicate this to all in hand reservations but obviously failed in your case and I apologize for that most sincerely. I trust though that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon so that we can make amends.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm McLauchlan
Management Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel might be the only hotel in this part of Macau that’s not casino oriented. In fact this is more like a resort with a nice pool, a kids club, gym, restaurants… in front of the sea. The hotel is a bit old and needs some new paint. Apparently all the rooms have been recently renovated… but renovated to a 70s kind of look…
The rooms are big and have a huge balcony. Breakfast is nice and can be taken outside and all the facilities were great.
The staff however is in need of some training, they are really really nice but just not professional… we had to wait for 45 minutes and 3 phone calls to get an extra blanket and about the same to get a baby bed...
Overall it’s a nice and convenient escape out of Hong Kong, I think we will be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Management Consultant at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear voyagistablog,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us and I was very happy to read that, in general, you enjoyed your experience. The areas of shortfall in your expectations are well noted and serve as a reminder for us to continue to improve where needed (including the repainting of the building, which is in planning), and, we appreciate your bringing these to our attention.

Please do give us another opportunity to be of service to you, and, in the meantime, we send you our best regards.

Malcolm McLauchlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have stayed here in this month. This time was better than last time we stayed( we very satisfied with last time stay). We found the front desk very efficiency when processed registration as we have special require and they can truly fulfill what we needed. We have visited the restaurant as well. We were all excited while acknowledge the special cuisine buffet -Indian curry buffet. Fantastic cooking skills, well-trained staff, many varieties and delicious food and sauces. Mostly importantly, the food was beyond our expectation as generally in other hotel restaurant don't serve such amazing food with vegan choice (my aunts are vegetarians)

We met the EAM Asif Bajwa. He definitely is one of the food and beverage professional we have ever met. He was very hardworking and we seen him go to every table to interact with the guests and know them better (including us of course) my aunties are both very demanding on the food but the EAM did what they have special request for. Wow Bravo this professional has made our morning breakfast!

The atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely. Glad the weather was very good no rainy only big sunshine. We also visited the pool to had sunbathing and get tanned with the fresh and juicy drinks from the bar.

The room was really great see the new change of the tv, carpets and beds. We all have had a nice night staying in this hotel.

Definitely will come back to this hotel again no matter you are westin or grand coloane. The location is far away from the city which best fit for us to relax the life and we don't like gamble too. We only want to have peaceful and delightful experience and this hotel and the EAM had increase our stay experience! Thank you guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetiesparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello M M,

Thank you so much for your review of our resort. We are glad you found it a true escape while visiting Macau. We'll be sure to pass your comments to our management team and hope to welcome you again soon to the Grand Coloane Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was such a let down. This was a birthday gift for my partner and I wish I had spent the $5,000HK on something else!! We visit Macau a lot and normally stay more central. But we have seen this Hotel a lot (as we dine in Fernandos) and wanted to try a bit of 5* Macau....this was very very far from 5*

We booked a Grand King Room with Ocean View - No Ocean View (unless you stood at the edge of the balcony and looked left!!) - Balcony was filthy - Peeling Paint - Poor Service - Keys constantly breaking (numerous trips to reception).

Service was very poor....not anywhere near 5*!! Such a let down!! Also, be aware they have a policy of charging $500 deposit to each room per night of stay....make sure you have enough cash!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Management Consultant at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Francis O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback on your recent stay with us as, although everyone’s experience is different, we take each person’s issues seriously.

We have just finished the room renovation project for the whole hotel and plan to continue work throughout the property this year with exterior painting, new corridor carpets, pool renovation and tennis center just to name a few.

I apologize for your experience and would welcome the opportunity to hear exactly what your issues where so that I may directly locate the problem areas and change whatever is necessary in our training to ensure no one else has a similar experience. May I ask you to send these details through to my personal assistant on sylvia.chui@grandcoloane.com so we can commence immediately?

I do hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Malcolm McLauchlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
676 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Property: Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#28 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing