We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Likely to be the first of many visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Likely to be the first of many visits”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a short story about two soft toys. Small, chewed, beaten up, faded and worth nothing to anyone but by two year old (and therefore by proxy: his parents). They went missing after a bed sheet change... Surely no hope of them being recued from the back room logistics of a large busy hotel? I asked the housekeeper just in case.

Dropping from the sheets as they were being bundled into the back of a lorry, an unknown Grand Coloane staff member must have seen them. They must have thought to put them aside, and let their colleagues know. They must have realised, is the middle of their hot busy day that they would have been important to a guest. To a small child.

An hour after my call to the housekeeper, both teddies were back in our room.

Ok, so its a rubbish story. But if you're a parent, you know what kind of difference a that can make. Whether it is Quilt, Teddy, Blanket, Bunny, or Elsa.

And its a good metaphor for this resort. Great staff, with training to know what good service means. A relaxed child-friendly hotel, great pool(s) and small kids club. I can imagine our family coming back for long weekends a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Keith R,

Thank you so much for sharing your story here with us. We're glad it had a happy ending, and sincerely hope to see you again soon. If you don't mind, we may share this on our social media channels (as well as with our colleagues). We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again very soon.

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    315
    107
    41
    22
See reviews for
217
231
34
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel at least once or twice a year for the past six years (as an easy to reach escape from Hong Kong) and still recommend it. After reading many of the other reviews on this site, I think it is important to understand what you are getting and what you are not when you stay here.

This hotel is located in the southern part of Macau on Coloane away from the Casinos. This is one its great advantages in my opinion. If you want the Casino/everything covered in fake gold, tacky experience - stay somewhere else. If you want peace and quiet and some time out, this is the place for you.

This hotel has recently finished up its contract with Starwood and is no longer The Westin but I still recognised many of the staff. In terms of service etc, it is not suffering from leaving Starwood. (some google searching reveals that it is still under the same ownership etc). There are plenty of comments saying that it needs painting on the outside etc (which is true) but that is missing the point in my view. (Apparently the new paint is coming in the next few months anyway.)

The hotel architecture is unique for Macau. It is a rambling, European colonial style building with impressive grounds and a great pool. It is "underneath" the Macau country club (if golf is your thing) and a nice walk-along-the-beach away from Fernando's Portuguese Restaurant at Hac Sa.

The service is professional whilst being laid-back as well as personal. The stand out member of staff is the Exec F&B manager, Mr Asif Bajwa. Two of my family of 5 are coeliacs (intolerance to gluten) and on our last two stays, Asif has made all the difference. Gluten free bread is a regular menu item, the staff are trained and know what each ingredient in the food is and if they do not, they will find someone who does.

Since his arrival, there has been a major uptick in the quality of the food and the service generally. The breakfast is as good as any hotel I have stayed in. For dinner, the Indian buffet was outstanding with the charcoal fired tandoori chicken a particular highlight.

The value proposition is also very good. I was able to secure two, interconnecting rooms including breakfast for a price less than the cost of one room at the Venetian with no breakfast.

I highly recommend this hotel, however you need to understand what you are getting. If the Cotai Strip is your idea of heaven, give this one a miss. If you are looking for a peaceful escape where you can actually unwind and relax, the Grand Coloane is a great choice.

Room Tip: I prefer the Ocean View rooms to the Beach View rooms, but there is little in it. It comes down to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Liam M,

Thank you so much for leaving a detailed review of your experience with us. We are glad you were able to enjoy some quiet time while in Macau here in Coloane. We will also be sure to pass your comments about Mr. Bajwa on to him and his team. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will spend your next weekend getaway at our resort.

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Read mixed reviews and decided to test my luck and it turns out to be a great place!

The good -
Chuck at the reception is extremely efficient and professional
Almost all staff I encountered with are very friendly
Great ocean and beach view
Room's big and nice

Improvements
Exterior looks aged
No shuttle pickup from Taipa ferry port nor the city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vile10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Zoey H,

Thank you so much for your review of our resort! We're so glad that you enjoyed the stay and will be sure to pass the comments about our staff on to the team. We will also be sure to review your improvement requests with our management staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon here at the Grand Coloane Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have been planning on going to Macau for a while, but was always looking to avoid the Casino side of it. Thankfully we found the Grand Coloane Resort.

Upon arrival we were promptly escorted to our room, which was very spacious and the terrace was an extra bonus! However the rooms were a bit dated and could have done with a bit more of a clean, and the terrace lights didn't work, which was a shame in the evening. Also saw some cobwebs on plants near the bar on the 2nd floor which I was a bit worried about in the beginning. As well, while walking around the resort and enjoying the view, we almost slipped multiple times on the tiles, possibly due to some moss and a lot of moisture, but was still a bit dangerous

However, after getting over all of that, we were greeted warmly by Asif Bajwa who made the trip worthwhile with his Food & Beverage team! He introduced the hotel and raved about the curry buffet on Thursdays (which we were unable to try as we were only there for the weekend). However, we were able to get a sample with the Chicken Tikka Masala which was to die for! Since we were feeling a bit adventurous we also ordered the Octopus Salad. Could have done without that, since it was extremely rubbery (as if overcooked in advance, then just placed on top) and quite tasteless and tasted a bit like a buffet salad. Service more than made up for this with the presence of Heidi and Rita who were very attentive throughout.

I understand that the hotel is going through some rebranding, so I will still give it top marks as I am sure with some excellent staff members everything will only get better! Look forward to coming back and seeing more changes in the future

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean View to get a room with a terrace overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMGS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello GMGS88,

Thank you so much for your review of our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the specific things you mentioned that were below your expectations - we will be bringing these details up to the attention of our management team. With regards to the staff comments, thank you so much! We will be sure to pass these on to the staff directly. We hope to welcome you again soon to the Grand Coloane Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Under new mgt just a few weeks and actually performing good. Staff is friendly. Actually All staff is friendly and helpful. The location is a bit off the main casinos but thats the whole point of having a nice quiet weekend. the food is actually not bad too, and you could see the effort made in the details. great for families and kids. but also for romantic getaways. Price wise its much more better than the expensive casino hotels. Rooms are large with balcony overlooking the entire sea. The mgr actually came down and made an effort to greet guests; as a crm professional who constantly consults for luxury brands on client loyalty, the hotel is doing this right. Damn...I forgot to take photos...tell taxi this is previously westin hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Public Relations Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello ddmarshall,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and resort. We are glad you were able to experience everything that we have to offer and are happy that you enjoyed your time in one of Macau's more quaint locations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon.

Warm regards,
Grand Coloane Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel does NOT have a casino. It is frequented largely by Europeans and at weekends expatriates on a break from Hong Kong.

It is a great place to relax (I used it as a transit stop rather than the crowded and frantic Hong Kong).

Rooms are good - and large, plenty of space. Plus a large balcony for sitting etc. Breakfast is excellent, lots of choice and they actually have fresh fruit (not tinned).

The beach offers a good view - but is probably not a place to sit or bathe. But the 2 pools (outdoor and indoor) are large and excellent. And the bar does large screen sporting events (mainly ex Europe and Australia).

I went in low season and it was not full. So everything was immediately available including the free half hourly shuttle bus that goes to the ferry terminal (so you can link up to the other hotel/casino buses and get around town). It also drops off/picks up at the strip (Venetian, House of Dreams). I suspect (from the "please book" notices) that the bus gets full quickly if the hotel is full.

So, a quality hotel for relaxation, large room, good service and great swimming. And whilst it is away from town centre and the casinos there is an ability to get to these places (and back) easily.

Two things to note.

1) the outside could do with a coat of paint (especially looking up at the rooms from the pool)
2) given the price of the place the charge for internet in the rooms (when the public areas are free) is ridiculous..

But would definitely break my longer trips at this hotel in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Management Consultant at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear suriChristchurch,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback which was much appreciated. It’s very important for us to hear what our guests have to say and we’re grad that you enjoyed the hotel services and facilities.

You’ll be happy to note that we are commencing an exterior and swimming pool repainting program once the rainy season ends.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm McLauchlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked the room at mid June 2014 when the hotel name was still Westin Resort and I stayed there in early July. However, I received no message from the Resort that the name has been changed. Hence, I waited for over half hour for the shuttle bus. I saw the shuttle bus of Grand Coloane left since I did not aware that this was the shuttle bus to Westin. When the next bus came, I tried to make an enquiry and knew that this was the right shuttle to the Resort. Even the hotel did not inform me of the changes through email or other means, they can put a notice on the shuttle so as to alert the customer. This frustrated experience reflected the poor management of the Resort and their failure to put the customers' need as their concern. For the room, it was spacious with a big balcony. Very comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden view since you can also have the beach view. In my opinion, it is more be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YBL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Coloane, Management Consultant at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear YBL 333,

Thank you for your comments from your last stay with us, although I am sorry you were not left with a more positive experience due to the issues you had with our shuttle service.

In the build up to the hotels change of name, we did our best to communicate this to all in hand reservations but obviously failed in your case and I apologize for that most sincerely. I trust though that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon so that we can make amends.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm McLauchlan
Management Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Property: Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#27 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing