We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i dont really eat chocolate ice cream”

McPherson's Sweet Shoppe
Ranked #12 of 33 Dessert in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: McPherson's Sweet's Shoppe offers the best durian king ice cream and desserts along with all handmade unique ice creams like black garlic and cheesecake, etc. We also offer new style pork burger, Japanese Pizza, bunch of delicious yummy snacks, macau's must visit shop if you are here.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

i love their chocolate ice cream because of the taste was so different from usual chocolate ice cream that you buy in supermarket.especially the japanese seafood pizza super love it...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cecelyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I am glad you like our chocolate lovers ice cream, it is one of my favorite also.
I like using dark chocolate from Swiss and also I bake delicious flourless chocolate cake and mix into this ice cream.... Yummy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for McPherson's Sweet Shoppe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

The collection of cookies is very good and are cooked in front of you and taste really good.We purchased packs of cookies and were liked by everyone at home.The packing was very good could be carried easily in the air.

Thank ash0kah00ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

McPherson's Sweets Shoppe offers Japanese style ice-cream and other foods you can try while visiting the Historic Center of Macau. This tiny little place is located on a narrow side street just off Rua Da Palha in between Senado Square and the Ruins of St. Paul. It can be a bit tricky to find (see pictures and tip below for help) and is one of several dessert options in this area of the World Heritage area.

McPherson's offers a few indoor seats to enjoy their products or you can order take-away if you prefer to keep walking around in this area.

We recently visited and tried their signature homemade Durian ice-cream (MOP35), which offered a strong and very recognisable durian flavour that left a nice, lingering after taste. The texture of the ice-cream is quite nice. For those who enjoy durian, this will be worth trying. For those who have never tried, try with caution as durian is a bit of an acquired taste that is not always agreeable for western visitors.

We also tried the Cheesecake (MOP30) and found this to be well prepared, with a layer of crust on the bottom. The taste was good but not as nice as the durian flavoured ice-cream in our view.

Overall, we found McPherson Sweets Shoppe to be a nice addition to the street food scene in this area of city, which is teeming with food to try. After sampling a lot of savoury, braised meats and dry almond cookies it is nice to have a bit of ice-cream. In the end, for those tempted to try some Japanese inspired ice-cream, this is a good option for you.

Tip: The shop is a bit tricky to find. While walking on Rua da Palha, facing the direction towards the Ruins of St. Paul, you will find a small square area. The side street which leads your to McPherson's is directly to your left. If you are walking away from the Ruins the street will be to your right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for very helpful review!!!
We are glad you liked our Durian King Ice Cream, next time you have chance please try Durian Queen Parfait.

Sayaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I had the yakisoba Burger. It was warm and tasty with contrast of textures , a light snack to keep you going during your visit at the ruins. The black garlic ice cream was forgettable. It was like a mocha ice cream with one small back garlic at the center, nothing really spectacular or new in the taste. Plus the ice cream had ice crystals from freezer burn. This place should improve on their ice cream, though I haven't tried the rest of the selection. The only really great thing about this place is its friendly owner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank acromion22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for visiting McPherson's Sweet's Shoppe.
Yes, we are getting new freezer to make our ice cream improved.
Thanks for your helpful review.
We will try to improve best ice cream in Macau and your opinion really helps!

Sayaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The choice of food is very limited. It's expensive. The shop is crowded. It can only serve around 6 people. It's close to the centre of attraction. I taste durian pudding. It's only durian mixed with cream. It doesn't involve any culinary skill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

We are sorry you are disappointed about food selection and place been crowded all the time.
Since we are "Sweet's Shoppe" not a restaurant we do not offer many foods but few food we offer is very popular snack in Japan that you can't find it anywhere else in Macau.

"Durian Queen Parfait" (Not Pudding) we make here is using homemade Durian Cream with layer of fresh Durian and we believe simple is the best way to taste ingredients like Durian.

McPherson's Sweet's Shoppe is not a Gourmet Restaurant but we offer handmade sweet's and casual Japanese Snacks with Love.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McPherson's Sweet Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to McPherson's Sweet Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing