We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Durian Shoppe”

McPherson's Sweet Shoppe
Ranked #9 of 32 Dessert in Macau
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Fast food, Contemporary, Fusion, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: McPherson's Sweet's Shoppe offers the best durian king ice cream and desserts along with all handmade unique ice creams like black garlic and cheesecake, etc. We also offer new style pork burger, Japanese Pizza, bunch of delicious yummy snacks, macau's must visit shop if you are here.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Durian Shoppe”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm not a big fan of durian but this shop, amaze me a lot! I went with my friends as she follow the travel guidance. I laugh at her coz I really didn't believe those thing but when the durian ice cream melt in my mouth, I fall in love with it! The ice cream is full of durian meat, and so fresh and smooth that you feel like eating durian cream!
Except the ice-cream, there is a lot of special food that you can not find in another shop such as chocolate bacon, black garlic....The shop is fixed with American and Japanese style as I finally find out the shop is run by a lovely couple from US and JP!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wai Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for great review and I am glad to know you tried Durian and liked it.
Many western people and Japanese People has bad image for Durian and I feel bad for them.
Because Durian is delicious and I am happy you tried in our shop now you like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Yummy~~~!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The durian queen & king are brilliant ! The seafood Japanese pizza is great! Sayaka the chef is very creative with her cooking but also is quite entertaining during the eating experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pp1cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for leaving great review and hope we can keep making our customer happy by making good treats and food! Please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“i dont really eat chocolate ice cream”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

i love their chocolate ice cream because of the taste was so different from usual chocolate ice cream that you buy in supermarket.especially the japanese seafood pizza super love it...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecelyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am glad you like our chocolate lovers ice cream, it is one of my favorite also.
I like using dark chocolate from Swiss and also I bake delicious flourless chocolate cake and mix into this ice cream.... Yummy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“cookies galore”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The collection of cookies is very good and are cooked in front of you and taste really good.We purchased packs of cookies and were liked by everyone at home.The packing was very good could be carried easily in the air.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ash0kah00ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,494 reviews
1,750 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,894 helpful votes
“Japanese ice-cream made in Macau”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

McPherson's Sweets Shoppe offers Japanese style ice-cream and other foods you can try while visiting the Historic Center of Macau. This tiny little place is located on a narrow side street just off Rua Da Palha in between Senado Square and the Ruins of St. Paul. It can be a bit tricky to find (see pictures and tip below for help) and is one of several dessert options in this area of the World Heritage area.

McPherson's offers a few indoor seats to enjoy their products or you can order take-away if you prefer to keep walking around in this area.

We recently visited and tried their signature homemade Durian ice-cream (MOP35), which offered a strong and very recognisable durian flavour that left a nice, lingering after taste. The texture of the ice-cream is quite nice. For those who enjoy durian, this will be worth trying. For those who have never tried, try with caution as durian is a bit of an acquired taste that is not always agreeable for western visitors.

We also tried the Cheesecake (MOP30) and found this to be well prepared, with a layer of crust on the bottom. The taste was good but not as nice as the durian flavoured ice-cream in our view.

Overall, we found McPherson Sweets Shoppe to be a nice addition to the street food scene in this area of city, which is teeming with food to try. After sampling a lot of savoury, braised meats and dry almond cookies it is nice to have a bit of ice-cream. In the end, for those tempted to try some Japanese inspired ice-cream, this is a good option for you.

Tip: The shop is a bit tricky to find. While walking on Rua da Palha, facing the direction towards the Ruins of St. Paul, you will find a small square area. The side street which leads your to McPherson's is directly to your left. If you are walking away from the Ruins the street will be to your right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayaka M, Owner at McPherson's Sweet Shoppe, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for very helpful review!!!
We are glad you liked our Durian King Ice Cream, next time you have chance please try Durian Queen Parfait.

Sayaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McPherson's Sweet Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to McPherson's Sweet Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing