We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to Try”

Lord Stow's Bakery at Venetian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Dessert in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Englishman, Andrew Stow opened Lord Stow's Bakery, Macau in 1989. Andrew created his own recipe Egg Tart which became an edible icon for Macau, becoming famous throughout the world. His delicious Egg Tarts are freshly baked
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Have to Try”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you're staying in the Contai side of Macau, going to Lord Stow's Bakery is just one of those things you have to try. It's definitely hard to find but it's on Mask Street area and store number 850. Quick service...try to catch one of the fresh and hot ones!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flab19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    253
    74
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Hard to find- but worth the search”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

WE had a map, we had it marked, it still took us 10 minutes to find it once we were in the area.
When you find shop 870 go around the back of it!!!
The tarts are $9MOP each. I love them. If I had time, I would rather have gone to the original bakery.
Eat in or take away.
Yum.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildflowerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth to the trip.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We travelled to Macau through a ferry in HongKong. One of the must haves is the Egg Tart. At first it doesn't look that much... one close look and its just an ordinary egg tart. But once you have a bite, Wow!!
You definitely should not miss Macau's egg Tarts especially from Lord Stow's. Too bad we came a day early before we are scheduled to fly back so I was not able to bring it back home...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liciavalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a fan of egg tarts in general but...”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I took the day long trip to Macau with Lord Stow's egg tarts in mind. Surprisingly, I failed to acquire them near the Senado square area (the lines here are quite long, I was told). I finally got my hands on these babies inside the Venetian hotel, Macau. You will see it towards the end of the canal ride. The que was moderately long, but fast moving. The batch I received, however good, were on the cold side. I don't know if that was intentional or not, but the tarts should taste better if they were slightly warmer I reckon. For the price, I would expect them to be nice, warm, and perfect. Although, overall it did not disappoint.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best egg tart”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I went egg tart hunting in my china trip. This was the best in my opinion. Flakey, creamy, and big in flavour. Just right.

Helpful?
Thank butterflyexistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Stow's Bakery at Venetian Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Lord Stow's Bakery at Venetian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing