We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a Park than a Historic Site”

Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$158.29*
and up
Macau Day Tour with 2-Way Ferry Transfer from Shenzhen
Ranked #14 of 241 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 16th century by the Jesuits and later used as a military base, this fort today features a public park, an observatory and the Macau Museum.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“More of a Park than a Historic Site”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The place gives you good views of Macau (smog permitting) and you can even glimpse over to mainland China. Can even get a good from above view of the cathedral ruins. While there are some historic things to see of the fort, the place acts more like a park for the locals. Go at the right time of day and you can see (and participate) groups doing Tai Chi. Even at night there are plenty of people walking around just to be out and about.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    296
    109
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guri, South Korea
Level Contributor
1,587 reviews
490 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Hot place, but good view..”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

C1 ( 2013.06.19 )
I didn't know easy way, so I went up round forte. At that time, weather temperature was over 35 degrees. I was tired in the heat. Anyway forte was not charming but cityview of Macau was very good. and there was a small museum where has some exhibitions. There was not attraction but observatory, I think.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
470 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I missed this on a previous visit to Macau . For us , it was worth it just for the view . You get a different view of the Ruins of St Paul , looking down and from the side .
Macau is an interesting place to walk around and the fort gives a good perspective of the layout of the territory . Right beside St Paul's and not far from Senado Square . The site offers the chance to absorb the uniqueness that is Macau , a strange mix of Chinese and old Portuguese .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place for photo's and bit of history”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Across from the remnants of St Pauls Cathedral, the old city fortress is located up a series of steep steps, and has relics from it's past including, canons and the Macau museum( closed mondays). It offers great vistas of the surrounding area and wonderful scenic photo opportunities.
There is a small refreshments shop to get a cold soft drink after the climb up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
1,977 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,269 helpful votes
“Nice view from this city's piece of history.”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Portuguese fortress I visited it during my tour in the historic center of Macau, very easy to reach being located at the top of a hill just a few meters from the ruins of St. Paul's to reach the top there are two ways or use the simple and convenient staircases or following the path made of steps that according to my point of view is more tiring but undoubtedly much more exciting.
More climbs and the closer you get to the fortress, I must admit that is kept very well, along the wall one can see the guns which once inside the fortress you can admire up close perfectly aligned and well preserved.
The views from up here is awesome, you see much of the city and the entire Skyline of the major Casinos of the city.
It was very pleasant to walk through this piece of history of the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte) also viewed

 

Been to Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing